We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful privately owned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #45 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a huge hotel, that is incredibly well run. The rooms have all been remodelled and are unique and tastefully done. The food is delicious, for both dinner and breakfast.

Room service is highly efficient. There is no tea or coffee making facilities, which is disappointing. Be warned its not cheap. It's in a relatively quiet location, slightly away from the main shopping areas. But a very short walk to get there.

Even though this hotel is huge, you will get lost in it, it manages to maintain a personal service level. I would definitely recommend, if you wish something large and efficient. The staff seem to take great pride in working there, and seem happy in their jobs. However it's not modern or trendy, and is aiming itself at the more old fashioned, luxury end of the market.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank froggyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel located in perfect location, but the rooms are disaster, We were four people booking four rooms for 5 night , but we only stay for one night, and left to Kempinski hotel , we were told that it is a good hotel , but what we all experience is very different, the room are old, I mean the furniture is too old, the bathroom is also old , nothing special about the hotel, even some staff told us that there are a new modern rooms !!, but I am not sure about that I only liked there breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdulaziz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is an old, traditional grand hotel. It has a great location next to the market square. Food is fine especially at the Traders Vick Polynesian restaurant.

We went there in December 2011 with another couple for a weekend of Christmas shopping and Christmas markets. Our stay was fine as the hotel offers a lot of attraction such as its own club with life music and own cinema.

It has great breakfasts, probably one of the best range of foods I saw for breakfast served at the roof top breakfast restaurant. There is very nice top floor pool that we unfortunately haven’t had time to use.

Unfortunately the drawback are the rooms. We newer choose the cheapest room type in a hotel as they often prove somehow damaged by view, size or condition even at the best hotels. This was also the case this time.

Although our room was of a rather large size its condition was terrible. It was form the 80’s or 70’s judging by the decor. Moreover it was below the breakfast restaurant kitchen on the top floor and the whole night there were noises. We were moved for the second night to a room that must have been renovated within the past 4 year and it was a much better option. Apparently it was the same room category. For our troubles on the first night we got a late check out.

I know that the hotel slowly refurbishes its rooms as I was told that, but in order not to lose customers I would not sell the old room category that we got in the first place.

I would not go back only for the reason of uncertainty how our room will look like. Will it be from the 70’s 80’s 90’ or modern.

Filip

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

On the other hand we beg your pardon, that the room which we allocated for you first did not meet your expectations at all. Unfortunately, we had no knowledge about a request for a specific type of room.
Every year, we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests towards our hotel. However, some rooms have not been refurbished already, but will be in the nearest future. We are very thankful for your constructive hint and will certainly follow up on your comment.
Also we are truly sorry for the noise which disturb you during the night. If you could tell us further details when you stayed at our hotel and in which room you were allocated, we will note in your personal file to have a quite and modern room allocate for your in the future.

We highly appreciate your comment regarding our breakfast and are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast room overviewing the city.

Dear Guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,




Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Corinna Péter
Quality & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel in in a fantastic central location and being a 5 star hotel is great. Staff very friendly and polite , our junior suite very spacious and e marble bathroom very elegant. The only complained is that 5 star hotel MUST stop to charge redicolous money for Internet acces , it should be free especially considering the rather expensive rom rate .
I like this classic hotel but I will not go back because their very expensive wifi charge .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We highly appreciate your comment and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your kind indication concerning the costs of our internet. Hereby we kindly inform you that the internet is distributed by an external company. Please be assured that our prices compares to the other five star properties one and are calculated with an appropriate approach.
We kindly would like to inform you that we are in negotiation with our provider to offer our guest a free basic package in the future.

Dear Guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

With kindest Regards,




Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Corinna Péter
Quality & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This could be my favourite in Munich, if the service was better. Although some of the individual staff are very friendly, there seems to be a common bad attitude among the staff, on all levels. Strange. Are they unhappy? Or is there a lack of training? Another problem is the openness of the spa/pool towards the public roof bar. I think the mix of people in bathrobes and streetwear is annoying to both sides. Still, the roof-top bar is my favourite day bar in Munich, when the weather is good. The Falk's bar has great design. The Trader Vic's gets a good crowd. There is even a small doggie bar with water and dog food. Only the breakfast room is a letdown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We beg your pardon, that the Breakfast room´s decor did not meet your expectations. Please be kindly informed that we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests toward us and our hotel.

We are also sorry that you perceived a bad unfriendly attitude amongst our team members. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet our Standards. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us and what you experienced. Thank you for your efforts!

We also appreciate your kind advise in regards of our Blue Spa Bar. Please be informed, that we offer beverages both at the pool and our bar. Unfortunately, we have no influence where our guests are consuming their drinks and how they are dressed. Herewith we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Dear Guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Corinna Péter
Quality & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here a couple nichts on an europe tour. Hotel is nice with good facilities. Room very clean. Service could be friendlier though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharif33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities. On the other hand we are sorry to hear that you perceived our service as unfriendly. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet our standards. To find out further details, we would highly appreciate if you can provide us with further details concerning your stay with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Dear Guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for your experience during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,




Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Corinna Péter
Quality & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My high expectations of this hotel were dashed soon after arriving in our 7th floor suite. This was reasonably spacious with a separate dressing room, ensuite bathroom and french windows to a tiny paris balcony. The decor was badly in need of an update especially the wonky bedside table lamps which were only standing by virtue of the walls they were leaning drunkenly against. The whole hotel was too hot and even with the French windows wide open all night and minus 20c outside, it was uncomfortable and I had a thirst like a camel all night. The hotel had placed a bottle of water on the desk which I presumed was a welcome gift. After drinking half of it I noticed the card next to it stating the charge of €8! The aircon had been switched off so we were unable to set a temperature condusive to our needs. The bed wasn't up to the standard one would expect in a hotel of this kind and the pillows were hard which left me with a crick in my neck. The concierge marched into our occupied room to deliver a gift after knocking very lightly at the door, despite my partner declaring "excuse me". I was slightly put off by this as we were taking a nap and had nothing on. Breakfast was adequate but I've had better in far less salubrious hostelries. We suffered one night only and moved to the much better and less expensive Westin Grand the following morning and were greeted in our room with 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water. Now that's what I call hospitality.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#19 of 385 in Munich
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $311 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing