We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great view of the centre of town!”

Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus)
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.44*
and up
Private Tour: Munich Sightseeing Including Andechs Monastery
Ranked #39 of 314 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The former seat of Munich's municipal government, this landmark on the Marienplatz has the city's various coats of arms imprinted on its facade.
Doncaster England
Level Contributor
268 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A great view of the centre of town!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I visited here earlier this month, well worth 45 minutes of your time. Excellent views as far as The Alps on a clear day. Finish your visit 5 minutes before the hour then go and watch the musical clock display in the square, busy but lovely.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseasandtequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    224
    85
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
241 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This was fun”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

ok, I don't really care for heights or tight spaces but I was with a small group and we decided this was something we would do. The cost was inexpensive (think it was 1.50 euro). We started when there wasn't a line so got right in. When we came out, there were maybe 50+ people in line waiting.

The first set of steps is really only wide enough for one "regular" size person. Get through it and then it opens up to wooden steps which are a little wider and has stopping points.

The platform around the outside at the top is very narrow. It takes a bit to get around it while waiting for people to take pictures, etc. The views are great. Get there at the right time an you can get a great view of the new town hall activities.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiberjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very interesting architecture”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I really liked this building's architecture, located on Marienplatz as the new Town Hall, but so different in style.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
218 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We thought that this building was the Neues Rathaus at first because it is so modern.
But then we read the history of the Altes Rathaus and soon realised that this poor building has had to be rebuilt a few times.
You can't miss it in Marienplatz.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank frenchi700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of the city”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

You can't miss Old Town Hall since it is located to the right of New Town Hall. It is a very remarkable and detailed building. It also has a very interesting history since it was destroyed during WWII and has since been rebuilt. You don't need to spend much time, however make sure you don't miss it when in Munich!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus) also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing