We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
Ranked #42 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel, bad location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Modern and clean hotel. Very good breakfast, nice rooms and bathrooms. Dinners possible in the restaurant till 11 pm or in the bar till midnight. Otherwise there is no other posibility in the vicinity.
The hotel is far from the city and any service you need. A few hundred meter from the final station of U3 underground line. The main problem is the price of the internet, more then 5 Euro for 1 hour or 11 for 24 hours for something that is free in many hotels around the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    364
    112
    28
    20
See reviews for
106
235
25
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was really pleasing! It really seemed like a top class hotel, with an excellent lobby and really welcoming rooms with plenty of space and always clean which was really important! What I did not like about the hotel is the fact that there is nothing around it except the underground station which takes you to the city centre in 10-15 minutes. However, if you are searching for water (in our case) the price to purchase a 0.75l bottle from the bar is 7euros!! My main issue with the hotel is that most of the staff were not comfortable with the English language and we struggled sometimes to communicate. However, overall it is a really comfortable hotel definitely worth its 4 stars but needs some improvement

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I usually stay here when I visit BMW. You can take a long walk up Moosacher (it turns into Frankfurter Ring) to FIZ. Rooms are a little small but very stylish. The bathrooms are very stylish and quite large. The hotel is quiet, you don't hear anything in your room. The restaurant is fantastic. I am less impressed with breakfast, it is very expensive, typical buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxcordar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst travelling around Central Europe and it was one of the best hotels we stayed in. The hotel was ideally located as it was a fifteen minute subway ride (stop located one minutes walk round the corner from entrance) from the centre. The centre itself is an Enviro free zone and a sticker is needed to drive into the centre hence why we stayed just outside. Less than two miles away from the hotel is the Olympic Park and the Bmw museum which is brilliant!
The hotel itself is very modern, very chic. The rooms are small but practical, a double bed, minibar and brilliant shower. The breakfast selection was vast with fresh food cooking available as part of the buffet as well. The staff spoke excellent English and were extremely friendly and helpful. Both my boyfriend and I were very impressed with the hotel and the city and will definitely return to both soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Leonardo Royal is a very good hotel for the price. Being close to the Olympia Park the hotel has lots of references to the Olympics and sports.
The rooms are not overly large, but adequate. Sleep comfort was very good.
What I noticed only after a while was that the shower also had a rainshower facility, very nice.
Mini-Bar prices were fair, Internet prices less so, even if the bandwidth was very good. But that's my only quibble.

As mentioned the location is a bit off the city center, however it is close to to a Metro station, and also close to the Autobahn.

Overall I think the Leonardo Royal is good for Business travellers as well as for tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoccoSiffredi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable clean hotel 10 minutes walk to Welt. 20 minutes U-Bahn to downtown plus 5 minute walk to stop. Nice room with great AC. Wonderful breakfast buffet with make to order omelets. When I stayed there was a bus load of MAC models staying there that added to the festivities

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolrockindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Some time ago I decided that I will no longer stay in hotels where wireless is a so-called "extra". The Leonardo is an exception - I ended up in this hotel since the place I had actually subscribed to had been overbooked. That alone is already not a good sign. Still, I give the maximum grade that I find reasonable for a hotel without wireless, that is, two points. The hotel is otherwise rather reasonable and acceptable, just somewhere in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoRoyal, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Karlkoreander,

first of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

For our hotel chain we decided to use an external provider for internet access and TV
in order to ensure the best and latest technology. This does not allow us to
offer internet access free of charge except for the computers at the business corner.

We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you in our house again and would
like to recommend our »business package« which is valid for all direct reservations
and includes breakfast as well as the use of wifi in your room.


Best regards

Jan Heringa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
4.8 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#24 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Access Munchen City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arthotel ANA im Olympiapark
2.6 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#50 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
5.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
Address: Moosacher Str. 90, 80809 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich welcomes you near the Olympia Park and is the perfect hotel for every stay in Munich. From here the city of Munich, the trade fair Messe Munchen and the airport are within easy reach. Modern architecture, tasteful interior and a harmonious colour concept are distinctive for the 424 rooms, the spacious restaurant>>Vitruv<< and the trendy lounge>>Leo90<<. Spread across a total area of 1.800 Sqm, seven light-flooded meeting rooms and the royal ballroom for up to 800 guests offer a lot of space for all kinds of meetings, events and corporate conventions. The hotel also offers sauna, fitness area and a Zino Cigar Lounge by Davidoff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing