We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shane's Restaurant

Shane's Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 3,514 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $67 - $112
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An gemütlichen Holztischen probiert man immer neuen Kreationen von Shane McMahon in seinem Restaurant. Beispiele für seine euorpäisch und asiatisch geprägte Küche sind mit Langustinos gefüllte Dim Sum Ravioli in Krustentier-Curry-Schaum, Zweierlei vom Kalb auf geschmortem Apfel-Sellerie-Gemüse in Jus von schwarzem Kardamom oder Lagavulin-Jus Sweet Couscous mit marinierten Himbeeren und Rucola Ginger Beer-Sorbet.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Short taxi ride from the hotel. The restaurant is very cosy and there is no menu. All you do is tell the waiter what type of food you like and or dislike. Shane and his team surprise the diners with six courses of food and wine for each course. It is truly a memorable experience. The team that supports Shane are also very attentive with the diners.
Definitely a must if I visit Munich again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    51
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Our favorite restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been regular visitors and big fans of Shane's Restaurant since it opened in 2009. The restaurant has a surprise menu, which changes each night and is based on what looks fresh and interesting at the food market where Shane shops for his ingredients each day. The results have never been less than amazing, from warming and hearty in winter to light and refreshing in summer, Shane manages to create dishes that taste fantastic, look amazing and leave one feeling very satisfied. The wines are first-rate, and the service hits exactly the right note of professionalism and friendliness that is often lacking in the best restaurants. The atmosphere is relaxed with just a hint of bustle from the kitchen to let you know that real work is going on behind the sliding glass door!
We love it, and would recommend it whole-heartedly,to any age-group and for any occasion. If you want to eat some of the best food in town for less money than the competition, get yourself to Shane's Restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Dined on Sat 29th Dec.There is no menu. You decide what you like and do not like.Shaun and his team surprise the diners with six courses of food and wine for each course. It is truly a memorable experience. The team that supports Shaun including his excellent Sommelier are amazing. Food, shared experience, his team, his lovely wife made this lovely day in Munich trulu memorable. I feel truly blessed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A plesent surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I had a one day business trip which if u tried it is quite an unpleasant thing, I did not book and it was a Sunday night so the only thing they had was a seat at the lounge. The service was very friendly but they did not know the dishes in English quite well. The surprise menue consept is new to me and I would have never ate half the food the gave me if it was left to me (like a pumpkin soup with banana icecream) the food was great and I injoyed every bit of it, saw the chief a very plesent person and for the food I got it was value for mony. It was the best thing in that trip

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amoharram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were somewhat sceptical about our reservation at Shane's having read some of the mixed reviews on TA. However, we really couldn't fault the service, quality of the good and excellent wine pairing. Our only disappointment was to only have one German wine with our meal but the wine choices were absolutely right for the menu on the night we dined. Straight forward - choose the number of courses you want between 4 and 9 and they take all the angst away by simply providing, explaining each course and selecting the appropriate wine. Generous servings on both. The staff were excellent and knowledgeable so somewhat confused by other reviewers who thought that by not speaking German they weren't treated as well. Would definitely go back if ever in Munich again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shane's Restaurant also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Shane's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing