We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plesent surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shane's Restaurant

Shane's Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 3,680 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $109
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An gemütlichen Holztischen probiert man immer neuen Kreationen von Shane McMahon in seinem Restaurant. Beispiele für seine euorpäisch und asiatisch geprägte Küche sind mit Langustinos gefüllte Dim Sum Ravioli in Krustentier-Curry-Schaum, Zweierlei vom Kalb auf geschmortem Apfel-Sellerie-Gemüse in Jus von schwarzem Kardamom oder Lagavulin-Jus Sweet Couscous mit marinierten Himbeeren und Rucola Ginger Beer-Sorbet.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A plesent surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I had a one day business trip which if u tried it is quite an unpleasant thing, I did not book and it was a Sunday night so the only thing they had was a seat at the lounge. The service was very friendly but they did not know the dishes in English quite well. The surprise menue consept is new to me and I would have never ate half the food the gave me if it was left to me (like a pumpkin soup with banana icecream) the food was great and I injoyed every bit of it, saw the chief a very plesent person and for the food I got it was value for mony. It was the best thing in that trip

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amoharram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    58
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were somewhat sceptical about our reservation at Shane's having read some of the mixed reviews on TA. However, we really couldn't fault the service, quality of the good and excellent wine pairing. Our only disappointment was to only have one German wine with our meal but the wine choices were absolutely right for the menu on the night we dined. Straight forward - choose the number of courses you want between 4 and 9 and they take all the angst away by simply providing, explaining each course and selecting the appropriate wine. Generous servings on both. The staff were excellent and knowledgeable so somewhat confused by other reviewers who thought that by not speaking German they weren't treated as well. Would definitely go back if ever in Munich again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We very much enjoyed our meal at Shane's - having the surprise menu with matching wines to celebrate our anniversary was something a bit different! The food was excellent (fresh, tasty and well presented) and the wines complemented the food very nicely. The only slight criticism we would have is that we had expected the food to be a bit more "exciting" i.e. offering more adventurous flavour combinations.

We were surprised that the bar and restaurant were both rather quiet on the Friday evening that we visited. This obviously wasn't a problem for us; it just meant there wasn't much of an atmosphere, which was a bit of a shame. The waiting staff were all very friendly and provided a decent level of service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We noticed this on trip advisor before we went and as my boyfriend is called Shane as well, we thought itd be a good restraunt to go to.

It was a bit tricky to find as we got the U-bahn there instead of taxi. But we eventually found it by the river side. As we went in there were staff to take coats and welcome us into the restraunt. The interior was lovely and cosy. We were welcomed with cocktails which were tastey and then was shown to our seats after a few minutes sat in the lounge.

All the waitors were very friendly, and all spoke english, although some couldnt pronounce the ingredients, they were fine :) There wasnt a set menu, as it is classed as a surprize menu where you chose how many courses you like and say anything you wouldnt like to eat e.g. fish / certain meats.

We chose the 5 course meal, which was 3 starters, 1 main and 1 desert. We also chose to have the recommended wines on the side. I dont want to spoil what we had for the courses, but the food was outstanding. Definitly worth the money we spent.

The prices are shown on the Shanes restraunt website, which i suggest you note down. As we are only a young couple, we were almost out of pocket by the end of the night, but i would definitly go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food but wish I was German.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food here is really incredible. The wine was nice and the atmosphere was great. We became fast friends with our neighbors but not so our staff. We don't speak German and while we live in Europe and try not to be obnoxious Americans we felt like we were treated that way. We were not thoroughly looked after. It was way longer between our courses than other guests courses. Four course took about four hours. We asked to speak to the sommelier to get some advice on German or Austrian wine and he did not come over for 45 minutes and then seemed less than interested in helping the American guests. Thankfully the food was almost worth the wait and our German table neighbors were so nice. It's a shame really.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanibol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shane's Restaurant also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Shane's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing