We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Centrally Located”
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lux
Ranked #176 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel smaller in size. It has a great location near Marionplatz. It's only a block from the Hofbrauhaus so you can easily find your way back after a liter or so of bier. The rooms were a bit small, but if you don't have lots of luggage, there's plenty of room. The bathrooms were also small, but not the smallest I've ever seen. Their a la carte breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I've had in Europe. It's a little different than typical European buffets, but was excellent nonetheless. The staff was great and very helpful. It was interesting that hotel reception was in the bar, but it worked. The only slight downside is there is no elevator, so carrying a heavy suitcase up to the 4th floor was no easy task.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This perfect located small hotel is perfect for a weekend stay in München. Clean and simple! A la carte breakfast included in the price an for people like me who are fed up with bad buffets - this is really nice.

The best thing - the bar. Nice staff and good drinks.

The only thing that could be bad is that there are no elevator. That is not a problem for me, but if you are older or have small kids it could have been problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peos74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel and there should be a separate listing for the restaurant there. It was the finest dinner we had in Munich. It was fairly small and intimate. We decided on their four course "Surprise Menu" which was an excellent choice. All were perfectly prepared, were presented beautifully presented and very flavourful. Service was smooth and friendly. I would call the food International rather than German. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very centrally located Hotel in Munich, just around the corner of the Hofbräuhaus. Instead of a reception, it has a bar which is very cosy, but open all night. However, it also means that the music, the noise, the party NEVER stops! As there is no air condition, we would have liked to keep the windows open, but the bar was just too loud; thus the night was a nightmare (there are no telephones in the rooms to call the reception, but the bar would have picked up anyway...). The sink was so small that washing one's face was impossible. Breakfast in the bar was nice again, but it didn't help to reconcile after a night without sleep.

Room Tip: Only to back yard...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viennaB0Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved staying at the Hotel Lux. It was very convenient to all of the sights that we wanted to visit in Munich. Great personal service and wonderful breakfast. Only drawback was lack of air conditioning and the need to keep the windows open. Lots of partying on the streets below kept us up until very early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel Lux was a great, modern retreat. Offering free wifi, soft comfy beds & directly in the middle of the Historic City Center, this is a fantastic base for your touristy travels

No elevators so beware if traveling w/ heavy bags or people who have limited mobility. My parents cannot handle too many stairs so we called ahead of time & they were nice enough to make sure we were placed on the first floor (that's the 2nd floor to us Americans)

Even though we were right above the bar, we couldn't hear a peep from below however the noise from the hallway was very loud - voices & door slams echoed throughout

Parking is not free but there is a nearby garage that is happy to drain your wallet. Also, you'll want to beware of traffic! The hotel is on a 1-way street but cars are going all over the place & my Dad was almost hit by some guy trying to park

Happy to discover there was no buffet-style breakfast but real off the menu made-to-order! We enjoyed eggs cooked a variety of ways & bircher muesli (there were other kinds of muesli as well) & let's not forget the espresso drinks.

Lattes were pretty creamy but had to order an extra shot of espresso to get a better coffee to milk ratio but even so, still delish

Would recommend Hotel Lux to anyone looking to make a centralized base in Munich

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

hotel is very clean, excellent hot breakfast and very close to center of the city. Very convenient location with very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was a decent size but lack of elevator makes carry your luggage to your room a bit of an issue. Room was quiet and bathroom was a bit small but typical for European accomodations

Room Tip: hotel does not have an elevator so ask for a room on the first floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.0 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#164 of 385 in Munich
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Falkenturm
Hotel Falkenturm
#297 of 385 in Munich
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Markt
Hotel Am Markt
#193 of 385 in Munich
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Address: Ledererstr. 13, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $183 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small boutique hotel, with charm and family atmosphere. The LUX is a small hotel with an excellent bar, as well as an popular a la carté restaurant in the heart of Munich. It is located directly between Marienplatz and Hofbräuhaus. With 17 rooms you can reach from our historic spiral staircase, the Hotel LUX is the center of your trip to Munich. We would like to offer our guests a relaxing and rounded stay. Your LUX team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing