We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lux - great stuff and staff :-)”
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lux
Ranked #176 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We (me and my husband) have just had a great stay for 8 nights during cold February at Hotel Lux in Munich. Super central location ...in the middle of everything and all kind of possibilities just around the corner.
The room was fine...roomy and clean and no problem with noise from the street ...and very important...their wifi worked absolutely perfect all over the hotel - incl. rooms - and is free !!!! :-)
You can have Hotel Lux arranging transfer from the airport as well...at a really fair price - easy going :-)
The staff were absolutely great as well....they were really helpful and service oriented in any way....all of them. They even went out and bought some special tea for me to help me sleep ....thanks a lot, Sven :-)
We can highly recommend Hotel Lux ...and their restaurant/bar (ground floor)....and we will be back for sure.
Many warm regards, Gitte and Michael Sehested Lund

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitteSehested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 214 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I wrote this entire review as a 3, then changed to a 4 at the last minute. Here's the break down.

Location is great. Rooms are clean (no worries about this one at all). Breakfast is included and tasty. Bathroom seems new. Price was not the cheepest, but reasonable.

Now, the only reason for my hesitstion on a 4 (3.7) is the overall feel of the hotel. There is no lobby. You have to go into the door to the left which is the entrance to the attached restaurant, then check in at the cash register at the bar. That also eliminates all the amminities that come with a lobby and front desk service.

There is no lift so be prepared to carry your bags to your room (3rd floor in our case). The decor of the stairwell is okay but just seems a bit dated. Rooms are similar, very clean with enough space but seem dated.

At the end of the day, we are here for 1 night, we have a clean room in the center of the city, and free breakfast in the morning. Can't get too picky.

3  Thank mmckillen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed there one night. It was difficult decision to stay there as this hotel has no ordinary reception... It's reception is in the bar on the ground floor.
It is not good for people with huge suitcases, as there is no elevator.
Rooms are big and well equiped. Breakfast is very-very tasty and various. Staff is friendly.
Hotel is two steps away from the Hofbräuhaus, there is no chance to lost your way when you are drunk. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AglayaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked our NYE 2012-2013 meal here while staying elsewhere in Munich and had their 7-course Silvester Menu. We had booked through the strength of online reviews saying how good the food was and it absolutely did not disappoint!

The Restaurant itself is pretty tiny, and on a quiet street just a couple of minutes' walk from the main touristy areas. In all there could only have been space for about 30-40 diners and, as it was understandably fully booked, the whole place had a really intimate atmosphere and was buzzing. The staff, despite our waitress not being very proficient in English, were extremely attentive and helpful and we were very well looked after all night.

The food was, in a word, beautiful. We had roughly translated the menu so knew sort of what to expect, but were really blown away by the inventiveness of the dishes and they chose some really interesting ways of both cooking and presenting the food. No matter what we thought was going to appear, it was inevitably completely different and thoroughly delicious.

It wasn't a cheap meal (89 Euro pp, or approx 125 Euro once wine and tip was added) but that was a fairly standard price looking at all the other Silvester Menus around, and I can say that as we had such a good night that it was totally worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzewearsshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stopped in here for some drinks at New Years Eve 2012, sat down at the bar. It's a really cool bar area with an upmarket atmospheare, good service and great central location, i would like to stay in the hotel next time we are in Munich as it looked quite good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012. Lux has the advantage of being right in the core of the action as far as older town munich. It is crawling distance (literally) from the Hofbrau haus. Unfortuately for me this made for a noisy night. The rooms are good, but small, and so not what I would call great value for the price I paid. Restaurant looked good, (and I see from other reviews perhaps I should have tried it) but I was with locals who took me around elsewhere and didn't have the chance.

Room Tip: No elevator - so if you have an issue climbing stairs be sure to tell them.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The food is to die for!!!! Great central location. We didn't find it noisy at all, our room was right on the front overlooking the street on the 2nd floor (which they call floor 1). The glazed windows kept out the noise. Room was good sized with comfortable beds. Unfortunately no phone. Management is new, open to suggestions and very accommodating. If they don't offer, just ask.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a bathroom in your room as some of the rooms have a bathroom in the hall.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.0 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#164 of 385 in Munich
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Falkenturm
Hotel Falkenturm
#297 of 385 in Munich
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Markt
Hotel Am Markt
#193 of 385 in Munich
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Address: Ledererstr. 13, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $183 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small boutique hotel, with charm and family atmosphere. The LUX is a small hotel with an excellent bar, as well as an popular a la carté restaurant in the heart of Munich. It is located directly between Marienplatz and Hofbräuhaus. With 17 rooms you can reach from our historic spiral staircase, the Hotel LUX is the center of your trip to Munich. We would like to offer our guests a relaxing and rounded stay. Your LUX team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing