We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and attentive hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 67 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location and attentive hosts”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pension am Jakobplatz is within easy walking distance to all of oldtown Munich. You cannot beat the combination of perfect location and friendly hosts. Our hosts were very prompt with replys to emails and reservation requests. Someone (English speaking) was there at breakfast each day to answer any questions we had and to give suggestions for our visit as needed. We had Room 4, which has it's own bathroom. As others have mentioned, the rooms are European size, so small by US standards, but very comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure (these are two things that can make or break a room for us). We will stay here on our future visits to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goathill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    86
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
238
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a business trip, I wanted to spend a couple of days in Munich. As this was Octoberfest-time, all accommodation prices were more or less doubled, thus also this pension. 150 Eur/night for a single person is steep, the regular price reasonable.
The common area is cosy and everything is spotlessly clean. Cristoph and his son are pleasant, nice hosts, all communication was prompt and informative, on location advice what/where/when is freely given and valuable.
The room (n:o 2) was on the small side, and fortunately the other guests were quiet, as the noise isolation between rooms is not very good.
The core asset of this pension is its location, walking distance to Marienplatz, where you have access to everywhere. It gets no more central in Munich!
I can also recommend the afghan restaurant in the same house.
This would be ideal to a group, which would require all or most of the rooms, then you could really feel like home.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4 have their own facilities, 2 and 3 share the toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EeroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found the location to be excellent, Christoph (and Peter) to be a great hosts, and the room very comfortable. The shared bath was no problem whatsoever, especially since the room itself has a shower and a sink. Christoph was helpful from the very first moment, giving us an orientation to the city map, things to do and places to eat. He was very flexible with us during check in (where he let us use our room to change clothes after a long flight, even though it was not ready with our early arrival) He was willing to let us store our bags on our departure day as we had more sightseeing to do before leaving Munich. Peter gave us the best advice ever and spared us a several hour wait in the rain for opening day of Oktoberfest. We walked right into the tents on a beautiful Sunday instead and it was the highlight of our stay! Would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our family of three booked the two rooms with the shared bath for 4 nights and were very comfortable during our entire stay. The room layout is efficient, and the rooms were both clean and bright. As others have mentioned, Christoph is a friendly, helpful host. He gave us great suggestions for activities and good restaurant recommendations. He also let us use the refrigerator to store our drinks. However it's the convenient location of the Pension that we especially appreciated. It is a 5 minute walk to the Marienplatz, where you can also catch the U-Bahn. In addition, you can easily walk to the Viktualienmarkt, where there are dozens of local food stands, or go across the street to St. Jakobs-Platz, where there are wonderful cafes and restaurants. When back in Munich, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomerang09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went for this place on the strength of its Trip Advisor reviews and were impressed - the place lives up to what was described. When booking Christoph the owner replied promptly and had availability at a fair rate given that there was a massive medical congress happening in the city that week and most other places were either booked or massively putting up prices.

The location of the Pension is just excellent. It is totally central and made it really easy to get around and see places during a relatively short trip to Munich - which by the way - is a great city and totally worth a weekend visit. We loved the sights, great hospitality, food market, Olympic Park, BMW Welt etc..

The Pension is small - 4 rooms plus the little eating area. I felt that with the photos on Trip Advisor and the website that they've done a great job in portraying exactly what to expect. The rooms are cosy, but smart, functional, very clean and with a couple of accents to add colour. The bedlinen is good quality. We had three people sharing room 3 which was tight, but - as I say - the room layout and size was exactly as I had expected from the pictures. For a couple of nights this was definitely manageable. It's obviously unusual to have the shower directly in the room, so make sure you're friends with the people you travel with!

The place feels very safe and secure with the front door, entrance to the Pension, another door to the room corridors and then the bedroom door itself. We had a shared bathroom which was spotlessly clean, fitted to a very high standard and always available - no problem at all with sharing.

Breakfast was really nicely done. Considering there are only four rooms here the choice was excellent and a nice way to start the day. Really really nice coffee from their new coffee machine!

There was road works going on outside the room - which was a shame - but I don't imagine this will be going on too much longer.

Christoph was away whilst we were in Munich so his son Marcus was the host. He was great in providing excellent advice, hints and tips. We enjoyed talking with him each morning and it gave a real sense of having a local host to help guide you through the city. We even ended up sending him a text one day to confirm a restaurant reservation.

Munich is not particularly cheap, and this place wasn't a 'bargain' but it was good value for the city and everything was of great quality. Nice touches like a bowl of fruit to help yourself from, tea and coffee in the little lounge, free wifi, excellent breakfast and all the advice and hints and tips made it feel very good value.

Room Tip: Only four to choose from - check the pictures and see what works for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conferenceprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

When you book a city break location is everything. You can waste time with the public transport system and get hot and bothered in the process.

First impressions for this place are deceiving. If you imagine that you are going to stop in a flat in the middle of the town it may help. The flat is up some stairs from a small shopping street just 5 minutes from Marienplatz. The location is perfect for a few days - close enough to walk for all the attractions - 25 mins to the Deutches Museum, the English Park and 15 minutes to the main museum area. There are lots of restaurants close by and the famous Hofbrauhaus is just ten minutes away.

Once you get to the apartment up some stairs and ring the bell the door opens into a small dining area. We were greeted by Peter who made us welcome and showed us our rooms. The owner doesnt live on the premises but makes staff available when needed. If you are looking for an English style B&B or a hotel this is not for you. This is like a home from home with excellent service and advice thrown in. The rooms are resonably large. There are two with en suite facilities (one with an entrance from the landing as welll as into the apartment), and two with a shared toilet in the main apartment. They each have an excellent shower and hand basin in the room. Overall the rooms are comfortable, clean and basic. There are no tea and coffee facilities in them but thats where the service begins.

The apartment is really well equipped. there is tea and coffee making facilities as well as fruit juice. you can choose from a range of teas and there is fresh milk available. there is also a choice of fresh fruit and a water cooler. If you want bottled water or a beer just get one from the fridge and sign for it. If you have forgotten any toiletries there is a wide range available to use. if you need an umbrella there are a couple to use. There is also a well-stocked library with spare copies of guidebooks as well as English books to borrow. Most importantly there are the staff. We met Peter and Marco. They both have excellent English and make you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and they offer great advice on where to eat, how to get places etc

Breakfast was cereal with an excellent choice of muesli with dried fruits and seeds with either milk or yoghurt. there were some good breads and a choice of cheese and ham. importantly for me there is good coffee and hot water for anyone wanting one of the many teas.

Personally, when I visit a city i want to put my head down and then experience the place to the full. This place lets you do it. On the down side the rooms can be a little warm (but a fan is provided) and noisy - the street outside was closed when we were there for work and the workmen started early and were noisy. Once the window was closed it wasnt so bad. It was also quite expensive - everything is during Oktoberfest but we hit on a week when there was a major conference so all prices everywhere go up accordingly.

On the plus side this is a great base to explore the excellent city of Munich and your hosts couldnt be more friendlly. we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you dont want to share a toilet (the route is through the public part of the flat) you need rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justaukcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport, ct
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms with a shared bathroom. While we would not do that again, you can't beat the prices to stay here. Christoph was very helpful, even getting us a reservation for a beautiful dinner on New Years Eve when our reservation fell through. For 2 nights in Munich, it was very adequate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olliebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,625 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Property: Pension am Jakobsplatz
Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing