We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 68 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms with a shared bathroom. While we would not do that again, you can't beat the prices to stay here. Christoph was very helpful, even getting us a reservation for a beautiful dinner on New Years Eve when our reservation fell through. For 2 nights in Munich, it was very adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Pension am Jakobsplatz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like the big chain hotels with all the frills, this is not the place for you. However, if you like smaller places with lots of character and great hosts, this is the place to stay.

The Pension is located right off Marien Platz and also near the Viktualienmarkt. You really won't find a more central location. The four rooms are nice sized for Munich, are spotlessly clean, and have comfortable beds. Rooms 1 and 4 have their own shower and toilet. Rooms 2 and 3 share a toilet.

Christoph and his son, Marco, are perfect hosts and are great at communicating via email with any questions you have about the Pension or things to do in the Munich area.

Breakfast was simple (breads, meats, cheeses, jams, etc.), but quite nice. All 5 of us found plenty to eat - kids included. If there's something you really want, just ask and I'm sure Christoph will get it (he even found Vegimite for some Australians).

If you're planning a stay in the near future, there is some road construction that starts up around 7am on the side of the building from room 1. If you close the window, it won't bother you. Room 4 was perfectly quiet.

I've stayed at several hotels in Munich over the past years, but this is by far the best.

Room Tip: Room 4 was the best in my opinion. Attached, walk-in bathroom with shower facing a quiet alley.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2Trvl2Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked this place due to the trip advisor info and were not disappointed, Christoph and his son were most accomodating and helpful, thankyou.. The rooms were certainly adequate for what you need and we shared a toilet with 1 other room, bit deal for the money it was certainly worth the effort and we will do it again. The positioning of this place is amazing, 100 ms from the Marienplatz, the subway and the shopping etc etc, the food places close were great and you can bring food back to your room also there is a fridge if you want and room to sit and eat it. Well worth their reviews and would love to stay again and for the price magic!! keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: maybe still some noise from construction works be warned but good windows
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlcartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Took two rooms for three days as part of a two week trip. Rooms were comfortable. Staff was great in arranging our tours and recommending stops.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank GBS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Pension am Jakobsplatz is an absolute gem. We stayed for two nights and were satisfied with every aspect of our stay. Christoph, the owner, was the consummate host both before our arrival and once we were in Munich. He helped us to make reservations at the BMW Factory Tour because we could not phone from Canada. The Pension itself is lovely. The room was compact but well laid out and did not feel small. The windows open and there is lots of light. The beds are comfy and the linens are crisp and oh-so-very-clean. The breakfast in the morning was very, very good. Nothing fancy or hot, but typical German fuelling up for the day: yogurt, muesli, dried nuts and fruit, fresh buns and bread, various cold meats and cheeses (high quality), and tea or coffee made to order by Christoph. His booming voice was a welcome sound every time we heard it -- always helpful, friendly, and genuine. We recommend Pension am Jakobsplatz without any hestitation whatsoever. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kenojuak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here in early June. Christoph's son was terrific and very knowledgeable. He told us about some great pubs that were not in tour books but a lot of fun. The room was small but adequate. Breakfast was standard fare but fresh. The location cannot be beat. We were right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winnilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and loved it. Christoph is a great host with plenty of tips on getting around town. The Pension is only a few blocks from the main square and is surrounded by several excellent local cafes for lunch or dinner. There was quite a lot of construction work being down in front of the Pension so early morning noise was a small issue easily taken care of by closing the window. Breakfast was always fresh and plentiful, great coffee! Loved the whole arrangement and would not hesitate in returning. Thanks for a wonderful stay Christoph!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $106 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing