We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, wonderful advice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 68 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here in early June. Christoph's son was terrific and very knowledgeable. He told us about some great pubs that were not in tour books but a lot of fun. The room was small but adequate. Breakfast was standard fare but fresh. The location cannot be beat. We were right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winnilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Pension am Jakobsplatz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 471 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and loved it. Christoph is a great host with plenty of tips on getting around town. The Pension is only a few blocks from the main square and is surrounded by several excellent local cafes for lunch or dinner. There was quite a lot of construction work being down in front of the Pension so early morning noise was a small issue easily taken care of by closing the window. Breakfast was always fresh and plentiful, great coffee! Loved the whole arrangement and would not hesitate in returning. Thanks for a wonderful stay Christoph!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

PAJ was everything we needed. My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Because it was a holiday weekend, the owner was away and it was a big confusing getting checked-in. However, his son was serving breakfast the next day and was excellent. Things that stood out:

1) Facility - The rooms appear to be newly renovated. They are simple and spotless. There are only 4 or 5 rooms and a dining room so not a big place. Breakfast is served as well as tea and coffee throughout the day. Everything that is done is top-notch.

2) Location - A block or two from Marienplatz.

3) Hosts - Very helpful and friendly.

Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights in room number 3. This is by far one of the best hostel/B&B/pension I've ever stayed in. In a superb location...less than 5 minutes walk from Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt and also a 15 minute walk from Hauptbahnhof. With 80 euros a night, you get a delicious free breakfast of breads, fruits, jams, cheeses, cold cuts, granola, yoghurt, coffee/tea, juices. The room was very clean, modern and sophisticated yet homey. Although you had a communal toilet, it was always clean and furnished with top of the line sink/faucet and you had your own shower/sink/tv in room. Christoph, the owner, is hospitable and friendly. The entire place is very well designed with modern, sleek touches and unique paintings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I truly can't praise this B&B too highly and it is a model that others could well emulate. It is spotlessly clean, has excellent rooms with comfortable beds and quality fittings and is well situated in the centre of Munich a short walk from the Marienplatz. Nothing at all was too much trouble to the very friendly multilingual proprietor, Christoph Zenker, who really went out of his way to make our stay perfect. The continental breakfast catered for all tastes with large quantities of various types of fresh bread and rolls, different varieties of jam, breakfast cereals, juices,cheese etc. Fresh coffee, lots of varieties of tea. All top quality. You name it, it was there! For Australian guests, he even had a tube of real Vegemite made in Melbourne! The whole experience was truly faultless and the next trip to Munich (there will be one!) will include the Pension. My praise is fulsome but well earned. A small tip: If taking a taxi, make sure that the driver knows that the Pension is actually in the Dultstraße (Dultstrasse) and not the Jakobsplatz.; ours didn't, but I fortunately spotted the sign as we sailed past the first time!

Room Tip: They're all good as far as I can tell.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rog1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This pension is clean, comfortable, in a good location, and an overall good value. The host is extremely accommodating and greeted our early arrival with tourist logistics and recommendations for affordable restaurants. There are four rooms; ours (#3) was bright and comfortable with a sink and shower – the shared toilet in the hallway was immaculate and modern. Breakfast was typical and consisted of breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruits, juices, jams, and tea. Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt are both five minutes by foot. The price was about right at 80€ per night, perhaps a little high but overall a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our group, consisting of two adults and teen son, rented two rooms for two nights. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Getting to the Pension from the airport was simple via the S-bahn and a short walk. As this was our first visit to Germany, Christoph (the owner and a native of Munich) spent quite a bit of time orienting us to the city and providing recommendations specific to our family. The excellent location allowed us to see a lot of the city in a short time. We will return to the Pension next time we are in Munich.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $106 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing