We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, host, and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 67 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Jakob was very friendly and the hotel was the best price of our trip. Nice, strong coffee and good light breakfast. Only two blocks from the Marienplatz.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank aktravelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 490 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

My 13-year-old son and I stayed five nights. Prime location and Christoph was a very helpful and gracious host. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Pension on Jakobsplatz, and enjoyed our stay very much. Right upon arrival, Christoph made us feel very welcome, giving us an orientation to the pension and pointing out things of interest on the map of München. Both of his dinner suggestions turned out to be excellent. Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable, although he said he would be making some renovation-type changes to it at some point. We had one of the rooms with shared WC, which was not any inconvenience. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and available until the civilized hour of 10am. The location so close to the city center can't be beat. Upon arrival in the city, we walked from the train station to the pension, which was a bit of a schlepp but OK if you don't have too much stuff. Christoph has city books and travel guides you can look at or borrow, and even a selection of shampoos, toothpaste, etc. left by other travelers, in case you forget yours. And the price is very very reasonable.
A note about the sleep quality. The bed was very comfortable indeed and if you have no problem sleeping with some noise, you'll be fine. Because the outside temperature was so nice, though, we slept with the window open, and that let in quite a lot of the outside noise as well as the fresh air. Although the rooms are up on what North Americans call the second floor, you can hear people walking on the street and some car noise. Also the workers on a nearby building site tended to start rather earlier than we wanted to wake up! But the windows are quite substantial and closing them would have been better for the noise level. Also, at least one of the rooms does not face the street, so you could ask Christoph about that when you get a reservation.
All in all, this is a great place to base yourself while enjoying München, and I can't recommend it highly enough. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamelaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed three nights and then an additional later two nights at Pension am Jakobsplatz in May. Perfect time of the year to visit Munich, the rest of Bavaria, and Austria. Christoph is a welcoming host and a ready source of information about the city. Easy three block walk from the Marienplatz S8 stop and easier to roll your own luggage down the pedestrian walk than to take the taxi three blocks.

Easy to find on-street parking near the door to the B&B if you wait a little bit or time it right.

Duane

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WatacheCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This B&B is an excellent choice for a Munich visit. It is located conveniently close to Marienplatz attractions and mass transit, and Christoph is a wonderful host. Will definitely stay here again next time I am in Munich.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlybra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Sadly, spent only 4 nights here 20-24 May 11 whilst returning from the Alps. Great central location near Marienplatz, on first floor (lift available), comfortable, clean rooms and excellent buffet breakfast. Cristoph the owner is a mine of useful information. Wifi is available. Would definitely return. Best kept secret in Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed in May and we were very pleased with our accomodations. our intent was to have something clean and centrally located near the metro and walking distance to everything in the town area. We were pleasantly surprised at how accomodating Christoph was at giving us the lay of the land and tips during our travel. He also reccomended some terrific places to eat that were out of the tourist area. Overall this place was exactly what we were looking for. The only downside that I could possibly see is if someone goes in with a 5star expectation. If that's you then this place probably isn't for you. it is clean, it is modern, but the rooms are a little tight and there isn't much space to "lounge" except the common area and that's purely used for "breakfast." at 9am.. which is a little late for me. The place is also not the whole building so make sure you map the place out real well before you arrive since it's just a small sign you'll be looking for.

Room Tip: Pick room #4 with it's own shower/bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veneziavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 390 in Munich
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,801 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $96 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing