We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An overall good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Achterbahn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achterbahn Hotel
Ranked #332 of 382 Hotels in Munich
:London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An overall good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed in the Hotel Achterbahn for 3 nights at the tail-end of the Oktoberfest. The hotel is well located from the main attractions - about 8mins walk from Hauptbahnhof (tucked away behind Cafe Camera) and 15mins walk from the city centre. It's also about 2 mins from Theresienwiese station and very near the Oktoberfest celebrations.

My first encounter with the Hotel was a very late check-in; I arrived around about 12 midnight but had mentioned it in the trip notes when I first booked. I knew that it had no central reception but hoped that some arrangements had been made. Rocking up to the front door I called the after hours phone - the first number was engaged, the second had a very sleepy girl tell me there was nothing she could do for me. Brilliant. I finally got through the engaged number and the gent told me I should have rung them beforehand. Really? I mentioned it in the trip notes. I was then told no one reads the trip notes. Oh...good...glad you pay attention to guest's requests.

I finally made my way to the 3rd floor green coloured single room - nice enough, and at least the theme had a bit of effort in it. The room is a good size for a single and a step above a private hostel room, but there's certain things I think that could really elevate it. For example, only hand towels are given, and weirdly there's a towel hanging in the bathroom for decorative use only. There's no closet, and this may be a spatial thing, but even a clothes rack/bar would be handy. Also, the walls aren't the thickest in the world - you will hear your neighbours in the morning. The most annoying thing is the lack of internet - it's only available with in the Cafe Camera's premises, and doesn't reach the main building.

On a good note, the room was extremely clean, and had one of the cleanest bathrooms I've ever seen. Also, the chap running the Cafe was a very nice bloke, and let me leave my luggage there after I checked out after it had closed.

The above score should really say 3 1/2 stars,

Room Tip: Try to ge the top floor - at least the noise from the neighbours will only be below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraphial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
13
20
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed there during the Oktoberfest.
About a km from the Hauptbahnoff (main railway station) but was a 3-4 min walk from the Oktoberfest venue (so for our purpose the location was perfect for a post-beer stagger back to the hotel).
The hotel was a basic cafe which doubles up as a bar at night (with a dancing area)
The room we got (called 'Flash') was a bit cramped but very funky (yellow walls and beaded lighting)
There is free WiFi but it doesn't work in the rooms (can only be used at the cafe, about 50 m away).
Friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anuragc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Some friends and I booked three different rooms in 2011 for Oktoberfest. This place doesn't have all the amenities, but it's super cool. The price was much lower than other places, and it's really, really close to the Oktoberfest grounds. It's also quite close to the Munich central train station. Upon arriving, you have to check-in inside the Cafe Camera which is in front of the hotel. The staff were really friendly, and according to my friends the cafe makes the world's greatest hamburger.
The rooms are a bit small, but they are clean, cozy and colorful. There isn't much of a view as the hotel is tucked in behind the cafe off the street. The one weird thing is that the bathrooms each had a colored towel hanging on the wall with a little sign that said do not use, so I guess it's there more for decoration. Anyway, there are also a lot of shops and restaurants nearby to take your mind off that mysterious towel. If I'm ever back in Munich this is the hotel I'll be booking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoOr_man73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

While budget hotels tend to provide the key amenities but have no atmosphere, Hotel Achterbahn is all atmosphere and few amenities. I stayed at 6 budget hotels in German cities on this trip and this was the worst for price (at 40 EUR/night) vs. service, amenities, and location. It's clean and well heated, but it's not good for more than a 2-3 night stay because there's hardly any room to put things. There was no chair or writing table (though there were two drawers) and there was no wardrobe or bar to hang things on, just 4 hangers on pegs on the wall. There was no towel rack in the bathroom(!), just a small knob that the towel kept falling off of. NO bath towel is provided, only hand towels. (And an extra hand towel for decoration only, with a sign instructing you not to use it.) They do provide an extra blanket, which was nice in the middle of winter.

I was on the ground floor and the curtains could be seen through from outside. The lighting is very dim, I gave up before I had even read a page. Really thin walls, I could hear everything going on outside and some of the other guests came back one night at 1 AM shouting and banging on the furniture in the hallway. "Pet friendly" means that if you don't like pets, beware -- if there's a dog in the building you'll hear every bark it makes.

On one day of my stay I left the room at 11 AM and the cleaner never made up the room that day. Checkout is at 10 and at 9 they came to nag me to check out! But otherwise, the staff were friendly.

There is NO INTERNET in the rooms or even at the hotel itself. Free internet means you can use it at Cafe Camera next door, so it's limited to their business hours. They told me I might be able to pick up the signal in my room, but that never happened.

The neighborhood (around the Hauptbahnhof) has a lot of casinos, betting places, strip bars, etc. I don't mind these businesses per se, but in this area they attract a lot of men who stand around in groups on the street day and night. As a female solo traveler I felt uncomfortable walking around here, especially since the sidewalks around this block are otherwise deserted at night. On the other hand, it's a decent location for getting around the city. Marienplatz and the Kunstareal district are a 20-25 minute walk, and the university area and Deutsches Museum are also within walking distance if you're in good shape. The Theriesenwiese U-Bahn is just around the corner, closer than it looks on Google Maps. But note that there are MANY hotels in this area, including a lot that are closer to the center, so shop around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_instant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Excellent budget boutique hotel 10mins on foot from the central train station.
Clean, nice decoration, friendly staff.
We had booked a twin room and they gave us a 4-bed room without any additional charge!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Often finding a single room is sometimes costly. I chose this hotel based on the location, price, and reviews read here. I needed an inexpensive, clean, single room in Munich and I found it here. The check in is at the cafe out front and the rooms are in back. Although they are private rooms, it is more of a hostel/pension atmosphere rather than a hotel. My single room was good value, very clean, and comfortable. I only stayed two nights but unlike previous posts they did come in and clean up the room. It was a convenient walk to the train station and also not a far walk from downtown. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very original place. Location perfect to reach the city center in 10 minutes by foot. there is also a little parking inside. the rooms are very small: there is not place for two persons standing!!! the bathroom is ok but it was strange to find a towel and near it a cartel which says "only for decoration: please don't use it" ...but unfortunately it was too late...because we had only 2 towels, so we had alredy used it!! really nice the breakfast in the cofee near the hotel: eggs, fruits, sausiges, pancakes etc

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#345 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#123 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bayernland
Hotel Bayernland
#201 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#71 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krone Hotel
Krone Hotel
#334 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achterbahn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achterbahn Hotel

Property: Achterbahn Hotel
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 88, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Hotel Class:3 star — Achterbahn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Achterbahn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing