We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #11 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We just had a terrific stay at the Cortiina. We booked both a two bedroom suite for our family (two adults and two toddlers) and a single room for our babysitter who travelled with us. Both rooms were in the new Annex building of the Cortiina. The rooms were very modern, comfortable, clean, and perfect for our stay. It wasn't the Ritz or Four Season's resort, if that's what you're looking for, but a really great, fairly priced, boutique hotel in the heart of Munich.

In my opinion, the staff was extrememly friendly and helpful. They helped us with dinner reservations, flight on-line check in, taxi service, and taking our luggage to and from our room. Plus the bar staff was great and friendly. They were also easy to communicate with before our stay for room requests, parking questions, etc.

We would easily stay at this hotel again on another visit to Munich. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    247
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
315
58
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Given the buzz I've heard about this hotel from very reputable sources, I was shocked when I arrived. The first room I was shown to was simply appalling. It was like a very bad cruise ship state room: miniscule, dark, dungeon-like, horrid. Disgraceful for a cheap motel and really unforgiveable for a hotel such as the Cortiina was supposed to be. I thought I might be on some hidden camera show and they were going to pop out and laugh and say, "you couldn't possibly have thought we really have these kinds of rooms here!"
Just to add insult to injury we get the front desk staff. Cold, indifferent, uninterested, disdainful. Like they were doing you a huge favor to give you a prison cell from 1954, and were none too happy to have to hear anything back about it.
Had it ended there I would give the Cortiina negative ten stars and say don't go there if your life depended on it. However, afte much ado, I was moved to another room in the adjacent building which was open, airy, modern; night and day from the other one (though I did have to pay a little more). Still had the same staff for the first two days and they never remotely warmed up. On the third day a new young lady came on duty who was a breath of fresh air. Actually, she was just what one would expect from this class of hotel, helpful, kind, cheerful, decent. But given what came before her, she seemed like the star hotel employee of the year. So to average it all out, I would say the Cortiina is OK, depending on where they try to put you. Don't stay in the main building, tell them up front, or you will surely regret it. Even if you get a bigger room, the style is not what they advertise, that is apparently referring to the newer adjacent building. I might just pick another hotel though, for the price you could likely do far better. And look out for the hidden cameras.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I've stayed at the Hotel Cortiina twice now. Nice, friendly service, comfortable accommodations, good bar/food and centrally located in Munich.

Helpful?
Thank kallijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed in Cortiina for a few nights during July. It is sophisticated but not snobby. Perfect for me.

I did not eat at the hotel. Preferring to explore the city's eateries instead. Bar Central opposite the hotel is really cool and great for a lazy breakfast.

The bar is fantastic for a night cap, The bar staff are world-class. Each drink is made with care and knowledge. They've got a fantastic selection of Scotch which was much appreciated. Please try their 'London Sour' - it is to die for.

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jamneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Cortiina. The location is perfect--walking distance from the main square and many of Munich's top attractions. Staff was helpful and efficient. The room was nice, bright and functional. Plenty of room to store one's belongings. Bathroom was beautiful and several cuts above most European facilities. Our only minor complaint was that there were no towel racks and therefore no where to hang damp towels. Windows are double glazed so there was no noise even from the very nearby Hofbrauhaus. The desk was helpful in making dinner reservations, calling taxis and granting room extention on day of checkout. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — comfort and location
  • Disliked — expensive breakfast and no towel racks
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT/DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

Simply, this hotel is not as cool as it thinks it is. Yes, the materials in the rooms are beautiful, but some of the basics are missing. Example - there's Alvar Aalto glassware in the rooms, but no towel rail.

The staff, although friendly, were far from polished. They seemed almost clumsy, appearing everywhere and fumbling basics - checking out seemed to be an issue for the large number of us waiting to leave such a small property.

In short - this is a middle of the road hotel charging premium prices. Those familiar with the UK's Malmaison chain will not be seeing anything new, but this property is charging almost double the rates of the Malmaison.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The internet access rates - why would I pay mroe for in-room Wi-Fi than my phone charges fro international 3G roaming?
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is an excellent small hotel. I have stayed here three times during short visits to Munich. They deliver the same quality every time. The staff is very helpful and kind. The hotel have a simple and nice design, and even if small you have everything you need. The location is perfect on a cute old street behind all big shopping areas. The breakfast is very nice with the strong Italian coffee you need to start your day in beautiful Munich.

  • Liked — They have Etro and Khiels in the bathrooms ;)
  • Disliked — The slow elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lugageboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Property: CORTIINA Hotel
Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing