We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveler rating
557
302
44
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
302
44
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar centrale great location cortina hotel annex building design hotel building next door heated floors nespresso machine the main hotel marienplatz station food market central location sitting area louis hotel main sights front desk staff quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 936 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Cortiina for two nights in September. The hotel is in a great location with the famous Hofbrauhaus just a block away, and a wonderful outdoor market as close. Our room was very roomy and comfortable with a nice little sitting area. Staff was great. Our room was on the fourth floor and we still had very bad street noise. If we had stayed another night, I would have had my room changed. Of course, this was a couple of days before the beginning of Oktoberfest, so there were thousands of people in town. They offered a nice breakfast, but with the market so close, I chose not to pay the pricey amount.

Room tip: If quiet is important, don't get a room facing the street.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is located in central munich within walking distance from the city's best sites. The hotel rooms are renovated and the bathrooms have heated tile floors. The hotel's bar has fabulous cocktails. The hotel had a large fitness facility.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana_diav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A weekend on a leisure trip. Check-in desk clerks were extremely servicing. Room on the third floor was comfortable, clean and silent, even though the lounge in the main floor was busy until late. Bathroom fully equiped, loved that heating on the floor when out of the bath tub. All central Munich within a stroll, and the S-bahn and U-bahn Marienplatz station just 50m away, from where it is so easy to reach the airport or any distant spot. Good value for the price we paid. Would come back.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dgasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here during the opening week of the Oktoberfest 2012 (which actually starts last week in September) The Cortiina is right in the middle of the main beer hall precinct only a 2 minute walk from the Marienplatz U and S Bahn station, and a short walk to various tram lines.

The Oktoberfest ground (Thereisenweiss) has its own U Bahn station and tram stops nearby which are only a few minutes away from the hotel.

The hotel is very clean, refurbished and the staff are very friendly. Just a tip, as the hotel is near the beer halls and night clubs, many patrons leave these establishments a little bit over-refreshed and make a bit of noise, asking for a room on the top floors is a good idea if you are a light sleeper as many TA reports have stated.
We would suggest that you have breakfast in the hotel, even though it is a bit expensive, as the bakery/cafe out the front and to the left of the hotel is a bit limited, and the Viktualien Market nearby doesn't really get into full swing until well after 10am, you will always get a morning feed in or near a train station sausage stand (Wurstlstand)
Two issues we had with the hotel were the one and only lift/elevator was very slow during peak times and in our room the bath/shower combination was a bit ungainly and lent itself to splashing and flooding of the bathroom floor, so watch your step when you get out.
The room had a small mini bar fridge and a safe.

You can call reception for an iron and ironing board free of charge, and if you find the laundry service a bit expensive, we found an excellent cheap laundry in Klenze Stasse (yes not joking) 5 minute walk away called Cafe and Wash. It is a combination Laundry, cafe and bar where you can have a snack or drink while you wait, or if you pay only a couple of Euro extra they will take your washing from the washer to the dryer, then fold it so you can collect a few hours later.
There is a large supermarket just behind the hotel on Tal Street.

The Cortiina is an oasis of friendly faces and good service in Munich which during the busy Oktoberfest season becomes the city of grumpy and rude waiters who will do anything to avoid eye contact and complain bitterly if you don't tip them enough for their slow and rude service. Having said that you are only a few paces from the Hofbrauhaus, Augustiner, Hacker Psorr, Haxnbraterai, Wirsthaus and Schneider Weisse beer halls and you need to try them all.
The best beer, food and friendliest service by far in our opinion was the Schneider Weisse beer hall on the corner of Tal and Brauhaus Strasse just around the corner from the hotel.
Also the Lowenbrau beer hall a few tram stops away has excellent beer, service and a great outdoor beer garden.

As for the Oktoberfest, watch the opening street parades on the first Saturday and Sunday, but don't even attempt to try and get into a beer hall if you have not pre-booked. The best way is to go on a weekday (we went the first Monday) find unreserved seats prior to 10 am and start the celebrations early. We chose the Lowenbrau tent which was sensational, we got there before 10 am and by 11 am it was full. Had a sensational day.

If you are going to use Munich's fantastic public transport for multi-day passes or day trips to outer suburbs, don't use the ticket vending machines at train stations as they will always charge maximum prices. Instead go to the M V V office (Munich Public Transport) in Marienplatz station and get a sales clerk to book specific trips suited to your needs, we saved heaps this way. Also the DB (German Railways) office at the main Munich Hauptbahnhof station can be used the same way.

If you are in Munich as part of a beer nerd pilgrimage (as we were) you need to do a half day trip on the train to Freising home to the Weihenstephaner brewery which is the oldest in the world at over 1,000 years old. Great restaurant, beer and beer garden.

Also a short trip away is the Isar Brau micro brewery which is in the old station master's house next to the Grossheselloe train station, this is in a lovely leafy suburban part of Munich.
If you still haven't had your fill there is a brewery at Munich Airport called Airbrau, OK but not great, with a typical rude Munich waiter.

Room tip: Pick a top floor room if you sleep lightly
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days during Oktoberfest. I would highly recommend this hotel. I selected it based on other tripadvisor reviews, and can say they nailed it. The location was ideal - a short (5 minute) walk from Marienplatz, a block from the Hofbrahaus and a short cab ride to the beer tents. The surrounding streets are relatively quiet, yet there are plenty of food and shopping options. Even a strip club, if you're so inclined. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, yet unintrusive. In the craze that is Oktoberfest, room prices can be quite high. We booked a Superior Room at under 300 euro/night, which was a good value for the location and quality of the room by comparison.

The room was spacious by European standards and well appointed and comfortable. (As an aside, the king sized bed is made with two single-sized comforters so each person gets their own - a little peculiar but fine). The room came with free wi-fi and a great single serving coffee maker that whipped up pretty good cappuccinos. Our room had a fuly equipped kitchenette and a really great bathroom. A cute little restaurant called Zum Durnbrau at the end of the block offered good German comfort food and friendly service after a very long night of too many liters of beer. I don't see myself going back to Munich - Oktoberfest was a perfect, albeit once in a lifetime, experience - but if I did, I'd stay here again. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling to the area.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews