We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #11 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Cortiina is a fairly good boutique hotel.
But in a town with Rocco Forte's The Charles, Mandarin Oriental, etc, it should be a lot better.

Room was small, but decor was nice.
Fairly clean, but could be cleaner.
Service is ok, competent, but not particularly friendly or polite.
Don't know why a single room had a queen bed with a single duvet.

Bathroom design was very nice, and I should be raving about the REN products, but the dispensers screwed to the wall just feel cheap and I find the idea of dispensers in hotels offensive. Towels are very old and worn out.

Breakfast was excellent. Very very good.

Dinner was ok. Very interesting, but not amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapis-philosophorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    247
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
315
58
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at the Cortiina two nights August 2012.
We arrived on an early flight in to Munich very tired and the Hotel looked after our bags while we wandered the streets to find breakfast. The room became available early thankfully. The Hotel AirCon requires attention as it could not keep up with the sun on the window heat load. We ended up opening the room windows, this provided a pleasant stay as the temps in Munich are a pleasant 14 to 21C.
Breakfast was excellant and the Desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
I had trouble with the WiFi internet connection. The staff helped me to trouble shoot my PC and in the end my PC Wi Fi switch was off. Staff surfed the net for a solution and provided me with ipad to use in the interum.
Ideal location in Old Munich close to all attractions. Room was excellent and I would stay at the Cortiina again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

There is a lot of good about this hotel - good, well designed room, excellent service and great breakfast. The negative for us was the very loud disco noise coming from Madame Cabaret, a lap dancing club, immediately opposite the hotel entrance. We initially drowned it out by playing our own music very loud on the IPod docking station usefully provided by the hotel. But going to sleep was difficult with the boom boom coming though the double glazed windows until early morning. I'm sure that a room the other side of the hotel would have been fine. And then of course I wouldn't normally want to stay in an area with not one but several lap dancing type clubs - seems very sleazy to me. And certainly not as a woman alone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Arrived late in the evening to Cortiina in Munich to find a very rude and not at all service minded young man in the lobby who claimed they were fully booked even though we had a payed reservation to show him (via Hotels.com). He did nothing to help us and we had to find another hotel (Hotel Platzl) just to have somewhere to sleep for the night.

However it all worked out the next day when the Cortiina apologized for their horrible behaviour and gave us our room for the next two nights. The room was excellent with the sleeping part somewhat divided from the living area. There was also a separate kitchen. Very convenient. Wonderful bathroom. Everything very clean.

Close to everything in the center of Munich but still calm and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Chic, boutique hotel with rooms in multiple, connected buildings and buzzy lobby with beautiful outdoor garden. Great location. Wonderful design. A bathroom so fabulous I took more pictures of it than I did my very well decorated room! Will absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyminasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Thank Cortiina Team for the great stay we had.
The whole team was very friendly & professional.
The rooms well equipped and well designed.
Strongly recommended is the Cortiina Bar - great cocktails & food.
Next stay in MUC will be for sure @ Cortina!!
Thanks
Dirk

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location cannot be beat. We were greeted on the street as we got out of our cab! Before going to our room, we inquired about a dinner place. When asked about what type of food, we chose German of course! The young man that greeted us, helped us to our room and then made a reservation for us. It was a great little place around the corner. He walked us to the corner and we were sat outside on the terrace. Wonderful meal, beer and service! The room was clean and we were really happy with everything but one! The pillows leave a lot to be desired! Replace the pillows with nice fluffy ones and then I could say it was a perfect stay! Before booking the hotel, we watched an episode of Samatha Brown's and saw the hotel. We booked it because of that episode, but we will retrun and I would recomment to anyone. The service was like the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Excellent area for food and coffee! I found Munich prices reasonable! Use your debit card at one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Property: CORTIINA Hotel
Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing