We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian food in Munich”
Review of Osteria Veneta

Osteria Veneta
Ranked #657 of 3,747 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food in Munich”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

In our last night in Munich, we decided we would switch from German to Italian food. We found Osteria Veneta just off Virtualienmarkt and had a fantastic dinner. Dinner is civilised and leisurely in a relaxed cosy environment, and the service is warm and friendly. We enjoyed everything we ordered and it was a very nice ending to our Munich holiday. The nearest train station would be Marienplatz, it's a short walk from there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EveningGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A fantastic place”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We found the place as we stayed in the hotel next door. The restaurant is small, about ten tables, including four outside on the street. We secured one of those, and moved later indoors to one next to the large open windows. The owner is cooking, his wife is serving, and there is only one more kitchen aid. What those three people produce is outstanding: fine Italian food of high quality, from the daily menu on a large chalk board. We had some of the best lamb we ever ate, and a burata with mushrooms that was just exceptional. Their wine list is small but exclusive, and very fairly priced. We spent 72 Euros for a Barolo that is in the shops for 50 Euros, something I consider a very fair deal.

The service was very hospitable and friendly, we loved the cozy atmosphere right in downtown Munich. Overall, we spend around 200 Euros, quite expensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valløby, Roskilde, Denmark
2 reviews
“Cozy place , good food , great evening.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visit this restaurant 2 years ago , it was a evening to remember ,,,so authentic good Italian food and so nice service, so we have booked table again for our next visit this week in beautiful Munich....we are looking forward for another great experience first Friday in May. 2013.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleven, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a piece of Italy in the heart of Munchen”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The atmosphere is so pleasant, unique... People are so kind and of course - very delicious food! Unforgettable!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_sea_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Make sure you don't arrive hungry”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A small Italian restaurant, intimate atmosphere. We had to wait 1,5 hours for the first course...two bottles of wine later (we were 4 people ) the food arrived Food good and beautifully presented. Then we waited again ... We are still waiting ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boereklonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Veneta also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Osteria Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing