We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus Tour of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castles”
Review of Gray Line Munich

Gray Line Munich
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.54*
and up
Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich
More Info
$60.95*
and up
Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich
More Info
$60.95*
and up
Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich
Ranked #26 of 125 Tours in Munich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open top Hop On Hop Off bus tour in Munich and day tours to Neuschwanstein Castle, Rothenburg, Salzburg, Berchtesgaden and many sights in Bavaria by luxury bus. City Tour mit Hop-On Hop-Off Moglichkeit im Cbario Doppeldecker fur Ihre Stadtrundfahrt in Munchen. Tagesausfluge zum Schloss Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, nach Salzburg, Rothenburg und Berchtsgaden im Reisebus.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bus Tour of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castles”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our guide, Anna, was excellent. She narrated at appropriate points along the way to keep us interested in what we were about to see. It really added to the experience and brought the story of King Ludwig alive for us. In winter, the Linderhof grounds are covered. We knew this in advance, so be prepared for only an inside tour - which is awesome - but no photos are allowed. The stop in Oberammergau is a tease. The place is quaint and charming. I wished for more time there but understood why we had to move along. Neuschwanstein is really a sight to behold. We are in our 50's and walked up to the bridge for the castle view, then to the castle for the tour (no photos inside this one, either). The walk is steep - as advertised- but not impossible. Crowded shuttles or horse wagon rides are available. Pack a lunch and eat on the bus. Don't waste time there eating. (As an aside, Grayline reserves restaurant seating for the group. Those who took advantage of this said it was quick. I took no chances.) I really wanted to see Neuschwanstein, so this was a highlight for me. We had excellent weather which added to the pleasant experience. The bus was neat and comfortable. Drinks are offered for a fee. Bring euro for the castle admission fees. Be (at least) 15 minutes early as they ask you to be as they are seriously prompt about departure. This trip is a whirlwind. We would have wanted more time, but our trip to Bavaria was limited, so this bus tour was ideal for us. A final note: The unsung hero is always the driver. We had no issues and arrived in complete comfort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellenlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    185
    88
    81
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Get Out of Munich and Enjoy the Bavarian Countryside”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a full-day tour to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castles. It is a great way to get out of the city of Munich and see some of Bavaria which, in itself, makes for an interesting tour. While being of no great historical significance, the castles are striking pieces of architecture and art set as they are in the mountainous and beautiful Bavarian countryside. They tell the story of a troubled and ultimately unsuccessful king. Ironically, because of his castles, Ludvig is probably the only Bavarian king those of us not from Bavaria have ever heard of. Our tour-guide (Uta) was excellent. She was knowledgeable, experienced, well organized, friendly, and provided a great deal of interesting information. If you are doing this tour ensure you arrive early at the starting point opposite the Haupbahnhof - at least 0800 for an 0830 departure. If you are not early you will still get on the bus but may not be able to sit with your traveling companion(s).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salzburg day tour”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Enjoyable tour. The bus was comfortable and the guide was pleasant. Would definitely book with them again.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dont know what the tour guide doing she seems to be talking to herself or only taking care of her selected guests.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Grayline generally v professional but not in Munich. Reykjavik & Melbourneˊs both great! Would not recommend it to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yf l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray_Line_Munich, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line Munich, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Although we regret you apparently were not satisfied with your experience, in the few words you chose to post, you did not even inform us as to which tour you took. All our tours in Munich and Bavaria are top of the line and consistently set standards for the industry. The vast majority of our guests are extremely pleased with our professional performance. The very fact that we offer city tours with specially trained live guides sets us apart from our competitors and is highly appreciated by our customers. All of our guides are experienced professionals who are fluent in English and German and this is greatly valued by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A disappointing Hop On Hop Off in Munich”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Munich and decided we needed an overview of the City. There are a number of ways to do that but in recent time we have taken to doing the "Hop On - Hop off" buses. They offer and excellent way to get an overview of a City and help you decide what is most worth spending time seeing.
We went to the local beginning point and found not only the hop on, Hop off people but also the Grey Line people who were doing the same or a similar thing. Now, we have done Grey Line tours in the past and have always thought they were first rate. So, we decided to give them a try in Munich
Grey Line sells their top of the line Grand Circle 24 hour tour for 20 Euro per person. We bought that tour and got on the double decker bus. We found out quickly that the live guide they had on board spoke English and German and would be doing the tour naration for us. Other languages got to use the headsets and the machine guide for the tour.
This system did not turn out well for us, We were on the upper level and the guides translation and movement between the German and English versions was hard to figure out when the language changed ( both of course she spoke with a German accent , normally not a problem but when she switched languages I was slow to pick up on that fact).
The tour guide asked if we could understand her and we said that we really could not and could we have ear pieces to listen to the machine version? This was not possible! A bit into the trip we attempted to Hop off at a stop but we couldn't exactly catch that we had arrived there and that we would be able to make the switch to get off the bus. This is bad on a couple of levels ... we needed to know that we were actually at the stop ( on the second floor it is hard to decern where you are). We needed time to be allowed to get off, we needed to not have people coming up the stairs we were trying to get down so we could get off of the bus. We felt that they needed to be very clear when they arrive at the stopping point for a Hop Off versus if we are just stopping because of traffic in the area. If you are on the top of the bus you can't see the doors open.
So, they eventually gave us headsets, they didn't seem to be synched to our route and were then completing for our attention between the machine and the guide. Not a good system at all.
We got off the bus after experiencing no stops, not understanding half of what the guide said and feeling very dissatisfied with our Grey Line experience We thought we pretty much wasted $60
I would suggest to Grey Line that they make their communications by Guide and Brouchure very clear about what attractions are at each drop off site and what you need to see during your time off the bus. Just saying we are at blah, blah stop isn't really enought information in my opinion.

Back to the trusted "Hop on , Hop Off" Busses for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray_Line_Munich, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line Munich, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear your city tour in Munich did not live up to your expectations, but we would like to clear up a misunderstanding - our headphone system does not include English at all. English is spoken by our live guides. The headset system is only for our guests who need languages other than English or German (i.e. French, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, Italian etc.) This is the reason you were not provided with headphones.

We are also sorry you felt unable to get off the bus. If you have mobility issues and need more time getting down the stairs to get off, it is always good to inform the guide and driver and let them know beforehand what stops you might wish to get off at. Our guides and drivers always make every effort to ensure that our guests who have difficulty walking have enough time to board and leave the bus. None of our guests are forced to stay on the bus for a full round without getting off. In fact, we encourage our guests to take advantage of our hop on hop off system.

Our designated stops are clearly marked, amply described in all our brochures and announced by the guides as well. We regret you felt you were not adequately notified about the stops.

We cannot agree that our tour is a waste of money. You actually get great value for your money with our ticket prices - unlike public transport, you can ride the sightseeing buses for 24 hours as many times as you´d like. Compared with other European cities, our prices are very competitive. There is only one other Hop On Hop Off city tour provider in Munich, and they do not offer a live guide. We are the only company with live guides.

We regret that you had trouble understanding our guide and did not enjoy the live commentary. Our guides are all highly trained experts with many years of experience who speak fluent English and German. The vast majority of our guests are overwhelmingly satisfied with our Hop On, Hop Off city tour and rate the commentary of our live guides as being the best part of their experience.

Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Munich also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gray Line Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing