We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Ranked #116 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When you arrive in Goethestrasse attempting to find Hotel Andra, you’ll wonder what on earth made you book a hotel here! This really scruffy, untidy and narrow street is perpetually crowded with people of arabic descent, idling about, eating, smoking and buying produce from several street-side markets. (We never felt unsafe at any time of day or night, walking to or from the hotel.) This small hotel, occupies the floors above a very good Turkish supermarket. Our small room was very clean & tidy and it was nicely appointed with modern conveniences. It did not have a bar fridge. One of the staff happily put our bottle of wine in the fridge in the hotel kitchen, with the comment that we might not see it again!! We did! The fact that there was no air conditioning in our room, did not present as a problem at the time we were there. We did however have double opening windows which overlooked a spacious and very tidy roof-top courtyard. The variety & quality of food provided in the small but delightfully decorated breakfast room was excellent. The breakfast room opened onto the rooftop courtyard which was equipped with canopy, tables & chairs. Most attractions are within easy walking distance from the hotel.
What really made our stay at Hotel Andra so enjoyable, were the staff. They were just so friendly, so helpful and so humorous. They made us feel like lifelong friends. We were sad to bid farewell. Our experience was 5 star, but given the hotel’s location and amenities and to be fair, we can only give it a 4 star.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night at this friendly hotel. We had a clean spacious room (parents + 2 teenagers). clean bathroom, very nice breakfast, friendly staff, great location 10 min. walk from the old town, from the train station and from the Oktoberfest park. quiet street, a supermarket just below.
The only minus is that the room was on second floor with no elevator, and that the entrance is a bit shabby,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnnggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice littel hotell near the Railvaystation, not in the nices neibourhood but ok. Good service, good brekfast, nice pepole.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Vidar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed there with my family. Does not look nearly as nice as on the website pictures. Hair found on sheets. No washing soap. Breakfast not good. Internet terrible.

Room Tip: I will not stay in this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The staff of Hotel Andra were nothing short of attentive and super helpful! They have 24 hr support in the lobby for any need guests have whether in English or German. The breakfasts were incredible and the patio wa a great spot to sit in late May during the morning.

The only drawback to this hotel is its location when walking from the Hauptbanhof. You have to walk through Munich's small Red Light District to get there. I never really felt in danger walking through it, even late at night, but it isn't exactly a clean area to pass through after 10 pm.

For the price, staff, and bfast, I'd recommend this place unless you don't like the thought of being 2 blocks from the craziness that comes with sex shops, casinos, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alovorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The location of the hotel was perfect for the hauptbahnhof. Goethestasse was not quite what we had expected but for a young couple it was fine. Really easily accessible. The staff at the
hotel were extremely friendly calling us a cab when the weather wasn't so good. Room was lovely and adequately catered for although no tea/coffee kettle. Continetenal breakfast was good. Although dining room slightly small for the size of the hotel. Would stay here again. Wifi worked well and was not at all like other reviews have stated however we were on the second floor. Staffed 24 hours a day meant any questions/queries were dealt with immediately.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saa0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We took the S8 train from the airport direct to Munich hauptbahnhof - which was super efficent and cost 10 euros (one way) and took 40 mins. The hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk from the station, which was such a relief. Like other people have said - the road isn't the nicest road but it actually has lots of character and we found some gems there. Hotel Andra is towards the end and it stands out as it is yellow and looks very well looked after.

We had booked through expedia at a very reasonable price of £70 per night including breakfast and we were really very very impressed. The chap who was at reception spoke perfect english, checked us in really quickly and we then trotted off to our room. We had booked a double but it was actually a twin. When I went to ask about this we were immediately (and without extra cost) upgraded to a king size room - which was lovely. Really big, super clean (as was every part of the hotel), flat screen tv, good size wardrobe. Plugs and mirrors in all the right places and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom (although it did overheat quite quickly). It is a no frills hotel but we knew that and that didn't affect our views on it at all. It was really modern and functional and as I have mentioned, so clean. It really ticked all of our requirements.

The breakfast is fine, usual sort of continental breakfast, cereals, ham, cheese, eggs, fruit, yoghurt and so on. There isn't any croissants or other pastries but you did get plently of rolls and we were really able to fill up for the day. The fact that it was included in the price was so impressive.

We got the wi-fi - cost of 3.50 euros per day - and only had one period when we couldn't pick up - other than that there were no problems.

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of town (Marienplatz), but we decided to hire bikes as soon as we got there to make getting around the whole of Munich easier. We hired bikes from Radius tours (recommended by the hotel) which are based at the station.

This hotel is a real gem - excellent value for money. One night we went to the very cool pub next door - the Gap - which is really worth a visit and we followed that with an excellent "kebap" at the turkish restaurant about half-way down the road - which is always busy - day and night! Again recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#150 of 389 in Munich
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#344 of 389 in Munich
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#135 of 389 in Munich
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#55 of 389 in Munich
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#192 of 389 in Munich
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andra Muenchen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andra Muenchen Hotel

Address: Goethestr. 38, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $91 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andra Muenchen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andra Muenchen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing