We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bit far from actual airport, lacks shuttle bus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Muenchen Airport
Ranked #58 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Jyväskylä, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“bit far from actual airport, lacks shuttle bus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

As all Novotel-branded hotels, this also is a good hotel. Clean, quiet and comfortable.

However, there is nothing special here. Location is not at the airport, but a 2 km drive away. There is no shuttle bus, but a local bus service (bus runs every 20 mins to airport). I did not use it but i got impression that it is free.

In my case the check-in was extremely slow, i was given a wrong room number and the parking space was full which made my short stay in the hotel unpleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMUCAirport, General Manager at Novotel Muenchen Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear eskobar,
thank you very much for your review and comments about your stay in our Novotel Munich Airport. I regret that you were not satisfied with the speed upon check-in and apologize that our receptionist gave a wrong room-number to you. Please be assured that this is not our common standard. Regarding transportation we do not run an own hotel-shuttle to the terminals as we were provided with our own public bus stop right at the hotel. This public line runs every twenty minutes and it takes only 5 - 10 minutes to reach Terminal 1 or 2. I hope you give us another chance to prove that we can do better and I look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards to Finland,
Mr. Udo Stuermer, General Manager at Novotel Munich Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    773
    234
    69
    38
See reviews for
414
409
232
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

One of the closest hotels to the airport, accessible by a bus every 20 minutes for €1.30. Taxis are prohibitive, but the bus can be very crowded with limited seating. It also serves the long term car parks and nearby Freising.

Very modern hotel with open plan reception and bar areas. Reception efficient. Rooms of excellent quality, very clean and well equipped.

Breakfast was OK, but would only suggest taking it if part of a room deal. The normal charge of €21 per person is extortionate for such average fayre.

Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Get a deal - available through most agents or hotel's own website
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The rooms are damn small, I guess that's what business hotels are like. The rooms are comfortable & clean. The breakfast buffet is good, not bad. Didn't find any thing suitable for me to order in room service. The hotel is located near the Munich International airport. A train station is located after a 10 minute walk from the hotel, but hectic for a traveler with more luggage. It takes around 30-40 minutes to reach city center by train. Their is no cellphone/mobile network reception available within the hotel building. You have to get out of the hotel to use your cellphone/mobile. The in room WiFi is awesome. WiFi is free of charge, only if you are a Le Club member. If you are just having a stop over to catch your next flight, this hotel may be suitable. If you want to explorer Munich city, get some other hotel within the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Try2StopME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to flying out of Munich. The hotel was not as close to the airport as expected but it was only a quick shuttle ride away. Nice enough hotel and fairly simple but nice and easy if you don't mind what is around the hotel. breakfast was included for us and it was quite nice, lots of options with a combination of german foods with English type breakfast. Would stay here again if flying in or out of Munich.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is quite a walk from the train station (~500yards on an overpass and through a tunnel) especially with luggage. It's not "in" the Airport as implied. They dont have a terminal shuttle but you can walk to the airport bus station just a few hudred yeards outside the hotel. For a traveller with more than a backpack, this can be tedious with kids. No breakfst included despite the cost. Rooms are good enough. Not staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaceflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#35 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#3 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Muenchen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Muenchen Airport

Property: Novotel Muenchen Airport
Address: Nordallee 29, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Munich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#43 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novotel Muenchen Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Muenchen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen Airport Hotel Schwaig b. Nuernberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing