We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Oktoberfest Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Premium Munchen-Sud
Ranked #170 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Oktoberfest Hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here during opening weekend of Oktoberfest. All hotels in Munich and the surrounding area are of course very busy and very expensive during this time, but this hotel still had rooms available for a reasonable price considering the season. As far as location, there did not seem to be a lot to do in the neighborhood around the hotel, but given the weekend we were there that was a good thing - things were relatively quiet. It is located very close to the Machtlfinger Straße station on the U3 line, so if you are going out into the more touristy areas of Munich, the trip to get there is very easy. The staff was very helpful, professional, and attentive. Breakfast was not included in our package, but it was worth every penny - very delicious! Parking was ample and convenient in the underground garage. Overall, a very nice stay located out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the city. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagonwheel1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    110
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
14
54
16
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

(++) I stayed at this hotel for one night. Rooms were clean, comfortable, newly decorated and quite nice. 3 drinks on the minibar were free. Location is 15 min with subway to the center (Marienplatz). The metro station is only 200 m from the hotel. There is also a supermarket very nearby if you need anything. Front desk was welcoming, warm, efficient and helpful.

(--) No free wi-fi in the rooms. We came back to the room late and had to buy water from the lobby which was overpriced (5€ for one bottle)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was one we stayed in for one night with our Cosmos Tour group. It was way way out of town and really not suitable for tourists wishing to enjoy the sights of Munich city at all.

The hotel was well presented but what really did irk me was the WiFi. It was only free if you sat at the reception foyer and used it. I truly feel in this day and age WiFi should be included in the room price. Sitting in reception was tiresome as there were many smokers that made the atmosphere unpleasant to a non smoker.

The hotel itself was clean and well presented. I really didn't like the bathroom situation. What genius thought it was ok to make the bathroom walls out of smoked glass?? This is really crazy. We had a twin share room and I was able to see through the glass when my friend was on the toilet and taking a shower. The toilet is quite close to the wall and quite frankly, was completely unsuitable for a twin share room. Maybe it would be ok for a couple if you were happy to see your partner using the toilet in the middle of the night. But seriously this was not ok at all. I am therefore rating the room as terrible because of this glass wall and I have attached a photo of part of it.

The rooms were a little on the small side but the furnishings were nice.

There is a large supermarket about 5 mins walk down the street but be aware it closes at 8pm, which no-one told us so we only just made it. There is nowhere to eat near the hotel at all.

Room Tip: Ask for one without a glass bathroom wall (if they even have them) unless you are happy to see your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetadventureguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Consider this review with a grain of salt. We travelled to Munich during the first week of Oktoberfest, and - naturally - all of the hotels were very expensive. So we weren't travelling for business (which this hotel obviously caters to), and would obviously have preferred to be closer to Munich's downtown as tourists. But we chose this hotel solely because of its price/quality balance.

It was still ridiculously expensive (Oktoberfest, of course), and the location wasn't the best for the type of visit we wanted, but the proximity to the U3 line (a 2-minute walk away) made it altogether a very convenient place, with easy access to both Oktoberfest and Munich proper. There's a grocery store very conveniently nearby for cheap food, but it serves a pretty crummy area and isn't the nicest shop.

All caveats noted, the hotel was incredibly well-kept, the concierge was friendly and helpful, and the room was huge. There's something a little disconcerting about a frosted glass partition separating the bathroom from the main bed area - where your silhouette can clearly be seen while using the facilities - but the room felt very well-appointed and new.

As a techno-geek who loves to have hotel downtime to catch up on happenings and uploading photos and experiences, the wifi here is unacceptable. I assume that the hotel's main demographic is business travellers. But any price (even 10 euro) for internet feels like a ripoff. And when that internet is neither fast nor reliable, that's a pain. It took us a few hours to realize that the "passcode" given to us is limited to one device at a time - attempting to use more than one device or having a second guest who also wants to use the internet becomes a battle of devices. That all sounds minor, but after staying in far less modern hotels throughout our trip with free and superior connectivity, getting to a well-appointed modern hotel like the ACHAT with terrible internet is a huge letdown for me personally, and feels like a slap in the face to guests - especially when you ask them to pay this much for a room.

Also, no included breakfast. A couple of free small bottles of liquor in the fridge are A-OK by me, but wish they had told me upon arrival so I could take advantage.

And a last note - make sure you've planned your flight appropriately around the transit system or are willing to foot the bill for an expensive 100 euro cab ride if you are flying in/out from this hotel. The U3 stops running between 1:00 and 4:00 (2:00 and 4:00 on weekends) which can be a problem for international flights leaving/landing early in the morning. We wound up catching the last subway (1:50) on a Saturday so that we could be at the airport in time, even though our plane left at 6:30. That's our own fault, but something worth knowing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetruewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had chosen this hotel as it was one of the few still available for the last weekend of the Oktoberfest. Prices in hotels in Munich at this time tend to be dearer than at other times and I guess the Achat was no different. However, our room was absolutely fine and the bathroom was great. The reception staff were very courteous and professional. We particularly liked the staff in attendance at breakfast - again very professional and smart, always looking around to make sure their guests were not lacking anything and also always ready to replenish what was on the breakfast buffet. The proximity to the underground station was another bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a clean, small room. Very contemporary. The staff was friendly and helpful.
It is a very short walk to the U-Bahn. Very easy to get to the city center. It is in the business center of town. So most things are closed on the weekends. There is a grocery store right around the corner.
We were never there when the restaurant in the hotel was open. We were able to order a pizza at the bar one night at 8:30pm when we came back from touring.

Check in was very efficient and the room was clean.
The bathroom is very modern. There is low water pressure and a no door on the shower so water sprays on the floor. Very strong fragrance in the soap so bring your own.

The breakfast was reasonable with a nice selection of choices. We were able to even take a tray back to our room so we could eat and dress.
Overall clean and efficient but not the most comfortable beds. No clock in the room so pack on of those as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is not in central, downtown Munich, but it is on the U3 U-Bahn line which connects directly to the main train station in approximately 15 - 20 minutes. It is ideal if business is in Munich South. Although the rooms are on the small side, they are clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet has a wide selection of fresh and tasty items. The bar and dinner are also quite good. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful. This hotel is a great option when the downtown hotels are full.

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citychick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palladium Munich
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City South
1.0 mi away
GS Hotel
GS Hotel
#203 of 382 in Munich
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#176 of 382 in Munich
675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Strobl
Hotel Strobl
#302 of 382 in Munich
12 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Solln
Villa Solln
#229 of 382 in Munich
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Premium Munchen-Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Premium Munchen-Sud

Property: ACHAT Premium Munchen-Sud
Address: Perchtinger Str. 3, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its quiet location in southern Munich-Obersendling, the ACHAT Premium Munchen-Sud offers easy access to the A95, A96 and A99. And it"s just a few minutes on the metro to the city centre and central station. The hotel offers 147 guest rooms, the restaurant "N°30" with terrace, a modern lobby bar, a wellness area with gym, sauna and steam bath, an underground parking (chargeable) and four seminar rooms for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACHAT Premium Munchen-Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing