We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveler rating
526
232
54
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
232
54
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationcourtyard deluxe roomboutique hotelyour doorstepmarienplatz stationseparate toiletshower curtainamazing hotelmunich hotelvisiting munichenglish gardens bahnyogurtviktualienmarktbelugaviktualienmarketren
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 829 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2017

In a house overlooking the Viktualienmarket, the nicest outdoor market in Munich. It is not possible to be more central. Everything within easy walking distance or by public transport. The rooms to the market have perfect views of the market - on a föhn day you can see the chain of the alps in the distance. Oiled wooden floors, carefully designed furniture. Comfortable and unpretentious. Add an excellent Japanese fusion restaurant which also contributes to the breakfast buffet and attentive staff. Over time it has become overpriced, but the unique location and the pleasant design make the pain bearable. Overperfumed in the corridors.

Room Tip: the courtyard rooms are quieter but for the best view select the market rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A7891WBflorians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kullund W, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear A7891WBflorians,

thank you very much for your good review.
I am glad to hear that you are always so happy when staying at our Hotel.
I noticed your comment about our the perfume in our corridors - it should just be a small note and therefore not too strong.

We are looking forward of welcoming you back soon - maybe you will be able to book a room for a special rate which we usually offer on our website.

Best regards

Nico Rasp
General Manager
Louis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

Waking up in front of the buzzing Viktualienmarkt is a joy; the openness of the square, the authentic atmosphere of locals trading seasonal produce, the proximity to so many sights, shops and restaurants, all contribute to this being an ideal location for Munich visitors.

The bedrooms are wonderful with a mix of solid wooden floors, bespoke furniture, colourful rugs, rattan screens and crisp bed linen (extra points for covering the headboards with removable cotton covers).

The bathrooms are bright and spacious, with just the right water pressure (although I am personally not a huge fan of Ren bath products).

There is a small issue with the service; reception staff are perfectly polished, but not quite committed to going the extra mile for the guests (we asked for a bar recommendation and were told that they were too busy/understaffed to deal with the request).

Housekeeping is slightly haphazard (our teapot was not cleared of the teabag during service).

Finally, the breakfast charged extra in most tariffs at 28 Euro is on the excessive side.

All in all, a very good luxury hotel at the very best Munich location.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the market view room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kullund W, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear KRL68,

thank you very much for detailed and positive review.
I am glad to read that the style and concept of our Hotel met your expectations.
I mentioned your comments about the service provided during your stay - we will take it as a chance for training & improvement.

We are looking forward of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Nico Rasp
General Manager
Louis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Our travel agent from Dimensions Travel booked this unique hotel for us just steps away from Marienplatz and the central market. It was surprisingly quiet given the location. The rooms were spotless and large and the staff efficient and friendly. It was a bit pricey but there is an excellent eclectic Croatian restaurant just out the front door. The hotel's entrance is one flight up from the Victualienmarkt but also has an entrance from a different street.

Room Tip: Don't use the Victualien entrance if you have a lot of luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kullund W, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Dear Drew K,

thank you very much for your positive review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Louis Hotel and we are looking forward of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Nico Rasp
General Manager
Louis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

My husband and I spent three nights at this wonderful hotel a few weeks ago. It was a delightful experience. The location is perfect, with the Viktualienmarkt across the street, and the Marienplatz and all of historic Munich very close by. The hotel combines great design and a modern vibe without sacrificing comfort, charm and warmth. Our room overlooked a courtyard and had a view of the steeple of St. Peter's Church. It was such an oasis with every detail carefully thought out. We can't say enough about the wonderfully helpful and friendly staff. Clearly the management prides itself on hiring the best people and providing excellent training. Every person we encountered from front desk, to bar, to housekeeping, went above and beyond.

With apologies to those we have inadvertently omitted, we have to single out a few people by name because they were especially responsible for making our stay such a great experience. Katrina, Janina, and Jonas (hope I have the names correct) were so welcoming and they provided us with restaurant suggestions and arranged for a private guide to take us to Dachau, which we strongly suggest doing. And Andreas, the mixologist extraordinaire, was absolutely the best! We had such fun with him as he created delicious cocktails for us each evening...one better than the next. So to everyone at the Louis, thank you. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We hope we'll have the chance to make a return visit. This one was truly memorable because of all of you. Lynn and Jack Donahue

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor overlooking a courtyard. It was perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lynnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

The location of this hotel couldn’t be better!! Right in the center of the city and a few steps away from Marienplatz and anything you would want to go to... very cost, pleasant, helpful staff... had issues with WiFi so they moved us rooms... still wasn’t great:(

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Laila29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kullund W, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Dear Laila29,

thank you very much for your review.
I do apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the issues with our WiFi.
Regulary it works pretty well but we will have our focus on it.

We are looking forward of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Nico Rasp
General Manager
Louis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews