We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Location, the market is literally right out the door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Louis Hotel
Ranked #7 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Location, the market is literally right out the door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday evening and had a lovely visit. The hotel is very nice and the location couldn't be better, The Viktualien Market is right outside the hotel and you can find all kinds of fruits, pastries it was just beautiful. Right around the corner was the Glockenspiel, which I believe goes off daily at noon and 5pm. We caught the 5pm chimes and it was so fun to see. Do not miss the Hofbrauhaus!! Walking distance and such a fun place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    182
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
106
270
43
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
289 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I simply run out of superlatives in considering this small hotel just a half street from the Marienplatz. Don't be fooled by an unassuming exterior. The hotel interior is a first rate design with strong asian influences. Service is friendly and extremely efficient. The rooms are not huge but adequate and the furnishings are somewhat unique and attractive.
The breakfast buffet is quite good and includes eggs made to order and asian as well as European buffet items and good coffee. Servers were cheerful and helpful. The restaurant is very good for dinner or snacks.
There is a nice full bar serving speciality cocktails and some well chosen wines by the glass.
Most of the guests during our stay were not speaking English and there were a number of business people, both of which I consider as positive.
The a/c system is modern, beds are wonderful and the location is very quiet at night as the Viktuallenmarkt closes at the end of the business day and does not get going until reasonable hours and, even then, the building is so well constructed that noise was never an issue. We also find that the many Munich church bells which begin to ring hourly at 7am to be a dreamy welcome to the morning.
The only problem is that it can be very difficult to make a reservation as the hotel is small and in demand. I tried and failed to make a reservation here on my last 3 or 4 trips to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joesChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at this hotel! It's location is perfect--right outside the Viktualien Market and very close to the City Hall, subway/tram lines,etc. The staff went out of there way to make sure the room met our expectations (we had asked for a handicapped-accessible room). They were all, to a person, extraordinarily friendly and helpful. My favorite thing was actually the hotel's buffet breakfast: a full range of vegan (!) dishes (as well as tasty meat treats), lots of small, delicious treats (like polenta squares with plum compote, mini-mozzarella balls and cherry tomatoes, mango lassi shots). The spread came as a delightful surprise after many, many hotel buffets of very standard and unremarkable continental breakfasts.

Room Tip: Parking was a bit tricky to find. There is a spot reserved for the hotel on Oberanger St. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillF316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My three friends and I stayed at the Louis Hotel in early August. It is a very nice hotel with very nice and clean rooms. The hotel is in a great location, right in the market and very close to the main city sights and shopping district. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debw1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Expensive but.... probably one of the best design and location I have seen in a Hotel.
The location first, just on Viktualienmarket place, and when I say just... it means that the elavator takes you from your room to the Viktualienmarket place sidewalk, and this is really Munich's heart!
The design a mixture of 30's and contemporary, very descrete, very delicate very classy.
I stayed for 3 nights with my wife and young daughter in August 2013, it was perfect. The concierge service was great (except for indicating good restaurants, but maybe this doesn't exist in Munich!). If you wanna make yourself a treat Louis Hotel is the place.
See attached pictures of the room (eventhough they added a bed for my daughter the room was still big).

Room Tip: We had a back side room totally silent even with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Picking a hotel in Munich was very challenging. It doesn't seem to be a "hotel" city like Paris, Chicago, London, etc. such that there were a limited number of luxury hotel options. The most high end option in Munich seems to be the Mandarin Oriental. However, when reviewing the rooms available at the Mandarin Oriental during our stay, the rooms seemed extremely dated and boring for a $900/night lowest room category. The other luxury option is the Charles Hotel which has an odd location near the train station. My husband also said the rooms looked like a generic Marriott business hotel.

Given these challenges, we decided upon the boutique Louis Hotel which we were ultimately happy with, particularly since our rate was nearly 1/3 of the Mandarin Oriental and it included breakfast.

We reserved a Market Deluxe room which overlooked the Viktualienmarket. It was on the highest floor and had a balcony. The room was exceptionally clean, modern, and well laid out. I would have liked to have had another chair, though. The mattress was comfortable and I liked the all white decor look.

The breakfast was good, but I would have liked to have seen some more traditional offerings available. The Asian and vegan items were interesting, but maybe a little obscure for breakfast everyday since the buffet didn't change.

The service was good at the hotel. We especially liked the bar and the rooftop area.

The location is the best in Munich. The back entrance puts you on the Marienplatz within a minute. Through the front entrance, you're on the fabulous food market. You're about a 10-15 minute walk to the central train station. The Sofitel at the train station looked nice but I would never want to stay in the area around the train station as it looked a bit dodgy. If you're traveling to Munich to visit beer gardens, enjoy the Old Town etc., you'll want to stay in Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgirlLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here twice. At the beginning of our trip where we got to check in at noon which was a relief after the long flight from the States. Also 4 days later after a brief weekend flight to Prague. Both times the staff was great, our rooms had balconies, large bathrooms and showers, and good size rooms (by European standards). It met all usual expectations like plenty of towels, good beds, mini bar, and very clean. It was extremely hot while we were there and while the AC worked much better than at most of our stays, it could have been a little cooler.

Breakfast was good and the coffee plentiful (a must for me).
There are 2 reasons this place is better than good. 1- the location is excellent. Just a very short block to Marienplatz (the main tourist attraction) and right at the Viktualienmarkt and some popular Beer Gardens. We got up early one morning and walked down to Marienplatz before all the hordes of tourists showed up. Got a coffee and explored in the peace and quiet. That alone makes the cost worth it to me.
2- After our brief flight to Prague and back I picked up a rental car at Sixt which was a newer BMW. Then we headed into downtown Munich back to the hotel in the rain. The BMW has a feature I was unaware of where the engine turns off whenever you come to a stop. It is supposed to be a fuel saving system. It just freaked me out since I was driving an unfamiliar car in an unfamiliar city in the rain while my GPS (who we named Greta) seemed to not know where we were and the engine stalled at every traffic light! I called Sixt that night & found out that was a normal feature but there was a way to disable it but the guy didn't know how. He said to look in the manual which he assured me was in English - but it wasn't! So we go up to one of the girls at the reception desk and explained and asked her to translate a few of the pages of the manual for us. She said her mother-in-law has a BMW and she thought she could remember where the shut off was. So she walked across the street down into the parking garage and showed us a button which was right above the button that starts the car. Very simple but a huge relief for us. That was great service! Meaning the young woman at the Louis NOT Sixt.
I would recommend this place to anyone- even those used to 5 star places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flajann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Hotel

Property: Louis Hotel
Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing