We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #249 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 5, 2013

For a one night stay i was trying to keep the cost down for my client, so avoided the major chains. Glad I did as this was a little gem. Great room, friendly staff and extensive breakfast. In walking distance of town centre and major attractions. Little reception bar is open all night and nothing seems too much trouble. Only niggle, is that there is not a good size desk in the room. So computer work wa done on the coach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013
Google Translation

Vielen lieben Dank!

Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Mnich und Nürnberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 469 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

I travel to Munich twice a year, this time we decided to stay in the university area as we prefer the selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Nice modern hotel. I made a mistake with the booking and although it was my fault they immediately did their best to sort out the situation for us. Very please and will definitely book again :-)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you! Very motivation for our employees to continue as they do! :)

Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Mnich und Nürnberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here at the end of nov/ beg dec for about 6 days and I have no complaints whatsoever. I had read alot of the reviews previously so I was quite concerned actually and sort of dreading it. I had emailed the hotel prior to my stay to explain it was a special occassion and to my surprise I had a bottle of wine and a fruit basket in our room for our arrival. Our room was lovely, it was on the top floor and something like room 625 at the end of the corridoor. It wasn't the biggest room in the world and it had some flaws e.g paint flaking off a bit of the wall, some minor marks on the carpet etc- but it was more than adequate for a couple and we had dressing gowns in the bathroom too and a heated towel rail, toothbrushes, shampoo, shower gel etc which you don't always get in hotels so these were nice touches. The room was warm, cosy and the maid tended to it every day. The hotel is also staffed 24hrs a day which was brilliant and the girls on the reception desk were extremely helpful. The hotel is very central and there is a fantastic bakery and deli/cafe opposite it which was busy from morning to evening and served delicious food. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be central and am very grateful to the staff for making our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 625 or something similar. It was at the end of a corridoor and I thought it was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband stayed at this hotel for about a month for business and I visited for a week while he was there. The staff was really friendly and the hotel had a nice style. Our room was pretty small but it was modern, clean and everything functioned well (heat, shower, toilet, tv, etc.) The breakfast spread in the morning was great with a big time slot and lots of delicious options. When my husband had first arrived he had some problems with his room (I think it was a smell) and they were really happy that he had brought them to their attention and switch his room right away. The walls were really thin and you could hear your neighbors but that's to be expected in an older building.

Overall, the place was nice. It was in a nice location in Munich and there were restaurants and stores nearby. One thing to note is that the doors to the bathroom don't allow for much privacy (just a sliding piece of frosted glass with no latch). This was manageable in our situation because we are a couple, but if you were sharing a room with a colleague or something, this could be really awkward.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_Shamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Dear all,
I spent only one night in this hotel.
The welcome was awful, the employees there do not know how to behave with customers. The hotel itself has been redecorated with particular attention to the budget, quick hand of paint on the wall and most of the other areas in common areas have been overlooked giving a feeling of cheapness and dirt.
The room was ok, but again with a constant impression of dirt, especially carpet-mouquette.
The breakfast was the only good thing in this hotel, but the 12 € paid give plenty of other choises outside the hotel.
Keeping in mind the price paid for the night, it is a NO GO PLACE. In Germany cleaner, better places can be found for that money or less.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fine specially if you are just looking for a place to sleep and plan to be out in the city most of the time. The staff was very nice and let us check in very early which goes a long way in my book. My husband forgot his Ipod in the room and they mailed back to us which also goes a long way. The rooms are small and very basic. The shower is also VERY small. But its a quick walk to the main square and close to public transportation so for Oktoberfest just fine. Also very close to English Gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there for a few days during Wiesn (Oktoberfest). The hotel is a few blocks from the Odeonsplatz U-Bahn station. The hotel looks like it had recent renovations, with new furnishings. . . The rooms were generally small, but adequate. Breakfast was included in my rate, which was a nice breakfast bar, no complaints there. . .

The staff were helpful and very nice. . .

My only real gripe is strangely enough, with the bathroom in the hotel room, which I can only describe as comically small. . . I'm 5'4" (meaning that I am short...), and found the bathroom very uncomfortable to use. . . It looks okay from a design standpoint, but its shoehorned into the room in a way that makes it very sloppy to use. The shower space was small, and water got everywhere. The enclosure to the bathroom is a sliding glass door, which left less than two feet of space to stand behind the sink. . . And the toilet is also shoehorned into the space, which makes it rough to even use the loo. More so, as they bolted a small garbage pail to the wall, which makes it practically impossible to sit on the loo without colliding with it. . . In fact, on my flight home (in SwissAir Economy Class), it occurred to me that I had more space in the toilet on the plane, than I did in the hotel room. . . Its one of the few instances where my height was an advantage. If I were taller, I would have been less than happy. . .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forwarddeployed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#286 of 389 in Munich
148 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#188 of 389 in Munich
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Boutique Hotel

Address: Amalienstr. 25, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $80 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A house full of history, revived by a sophisticated, modern design concept welcomes its guests in Munich's trendy district of Schwabing on Amalienstraße surrounded by many exceptional boutiques. Stylishly designed rooms with strong colors characterize the charming Leonardo Boutique Savoy Hotel Munich and give the historic building an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing