We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congeniality”
Review of L'Osteria

L'Osteria
Ranked #95 of 3,725 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Congeniality”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Walking from our hotel led to this restaurant with outdoor seating; perfect for late August. All the Italian food was excellent. Both Pizza and ravioli were yummy and delivered promptly. Local beer on tap added to our delight.
What truly set this spot apart was the exuberance of the youthful service team.Everyone seemed happy to be working here. We [SC residents] were serendipitously served by a young man who had recently completed a graduate program at Clemson. He and all others on the team were attentive to our needs.
The one downside was the presence of smokers. This is just a reality of Europe we have to live[or die] with.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillGabrielson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    355
    131
    61
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian food with good sized portions!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Kulsternhaus or L'Osteria near Karlstor is one of my favourites for Italian food in Munich. It has a lot of people any time of the day specially in evenings or in weekends. The ambience is really good with great decor and very friendly staff. The portions of pizza and pastas are quite good and unless you have a big appetite don't order one pizza for one person! With pizzas from 7-13€, they are good for 2 people with a normal appetite and they taste really good. It's crowded but has a cosy feel in the evenings and the pasta with different types of Chardonnay (5,5€ for 500ml) is really good combination. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who likes Italian food!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sourabhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good and lots of it”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Was in town on business and walked from hotel. Restaurant was very busy and we received great service. Order a calzone and it was the biggest one I have ever eaten. And German beer is awesome. Can't wait to go back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Como, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“normal pizza”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

the food and drink was OK and normal, and annoying crowded !!!
I had a normal pizza for 10.5 euros, the sizes are much larger than Italy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sajjad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Where the pretty people eat...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This place has a young vibe, but the food was really good and service pretty good. The host is the weak link as they do not acknowledge non- locals for seating. Once you do get seated, the service is very good.
Had the mixed salad and split a spicy salami, basil, cherry tomato pizza. Very good food. Visa accepted, not Amex. 30€ for lunch for 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to L'Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing