We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, not overcrowded, gemütlich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus am Bavariapark

Wirtshaus am Bavariapark
Theresienhoehe 15 | 80339 Munich, 80339, Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Gasthaus Alte Messe)
+49 89 45211691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,024 of 3,220 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: German, European, Pub, Diner, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Wirtshaus am Bavariapark is situated just above the ,,Theresienwiese" - Octoberfest venue - in the shadow of the famous Bavaria statue. It's a meeting point for young and old with a joyful atmosphere, an ideal place to experience Bavarian lifestyle-a real insider's tip.
Germany & Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, not overcrowded, gemütlich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Well, I've been debating for a long while now whether to write a review about this beer garden or not since it's one of our favourites. While we love to spread the word about great places, we don't ever want this place to become too popular and hence overcrowded!

Prices are pretty much standard and while we haven't dined inside the restaurant, the food from the self-serve kitchen is unfortunately sub-standard. Roasted chicken is dry (gave it 2-3 chances), fries are just as dry...if we had to get something from there, then it would be the Obatzda with a Brezn.

It doesn't bother us so much though because the fun part about beer gardens is that you can bring your own food! Besides which, when in season, we prefer ordering "Steckerlfisch" from Fischer Vroni anyway.

There's plenty of space in the playground and surrounding area for the kiddies to run around and there's occasionally live music.

It's a stone's throw away from Bavariapark...order your Maß and set yourself up on a picnic mat/blanket and enjoy the sunshine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kippfenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Komen, Slovenia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Bavarian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfect location - near are parking garage and Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum. Great food and staff! You must try traditional weisswurst (served with sweet mustard and a pretzel) apfelstrudel mit vanilla sauce and weissbeer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“cute biergarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We did some serious research on Bavarian beer and biergartens before coming to Munich.
This one was one of the ones with good grades and not too far from our hotel.

It really was a great visit. We were in the selfservice area.
A maß (beers will look so small again back home) of nice beer (Augustiner) and nice food. For dinner we split a burger with fries between the two of us, and that kept us going till the next day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TCE_NRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Perfect Beer, Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Yet another fabulous Bavarian biergarten -- you really cant go wrong at these places. Here it was a great evening and we sat outside right along the building -- here there's table service. In the Garten itself you go to a counter and pick up your food/drink. I had a duck-pork-onions dish cooked in a skilled that was exquisite. The waitress was just great and spoke great english.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Munich beer gardens can be crowded and ghastly. But the GAM is a relaxed and spacious place where you can enjoy genuine Bavarian cuisine without the angst. On Sunday, the brunch buffet is great value, and good trad Bavarian food.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus am Bavariapark also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus am Bavariapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#