We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem Just Off Leopoldestrasse”
Review of Das Nikolai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Das Nikolai Hotel
Ranked #233 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for five days. The owners and staff were wonderfully lovely. We had a few requests, had to do some flight arrangements, had questions about transportation and directions, etc. All of it was done with impeccable courtesy and helpfulness. Jasha and Alexandra were particularly great. The owner even popped out for tobasco sauce one night just to make bloody marys for us. In fact, he returned with two kinds of sauce! The room was small but clean and had a balcony. It's well worth a try. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 152 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a recent stay at Das Nikolai Hotel and loved it. The Leopold area it is located in is very nice with lots of restaurants and shops, beautiful architecture and right by the English Gardens. It was very easy to walk to many sights and as well the trains were a block away and very convenient. The hotel has been beautifully updated. The two rooms my family had were large by european standards and very charming with great furnishings and comfortable beds. There are also small balconies to sit on if the weather permits. The rooms were very quiet with one of them facing the courtyard. The breakfast room was very pretty with a great selection of foods available including eggs made to order. The staff were all very helpful and accomodating and there to answer all questions and make recommendations.
We would return to this small boutique style hotel with personal service in a very nice area and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donna572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this week. Had previously stayed in one of H'Otellos a couple of times but very sterile. Pictures on line looked more appealing from Das Nikolai's website and so it turned out to be.
Reception was friendly and efficient. I actually arrived about midnight first evening and was greeted easily and given key with absolute minimum fuss.
Room (102) not huge, but a bit of individuality with lamps and chest of drawers. Will be interesting to see some other rooms over time. Free wifi. Room faced out onto street but was still pretty quiet in evening.
Breakfast room nice and really good selection with fresh cooked egg dishes available (and with smoked salmon was a real treat). Everyone there spoke English well (and friendly).
Easy walk to main drag and loads of bars / restaurants.
Only minor gripes were the usual German issue of offering 2 single duvets on a double bed. Also slightly odd that wc is behind only a partial door rather than fully shut off. OK for me as I was on my own, but might be slightly odd if together.
For me, a decent place and will look forward to another return as in Munich maybe 2-3 times a year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time at the Nikolai Hotel. It's situated around the corner of Leopold street, a nice street with a lot of shops. Also a very nice biergarten (Bachmaier Hofbräu) is located very close by.

The hotel is just great. Nice spacious rooms, good bathroom and comfortable beds. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They do their utmost to make the guest feel good. The breakfast is splendid.

We will be back.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pelagia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel. Great croissants (better than in France) and an unbelievable selection of fresh fruits. (only way to improve would be to have fresh squeezed juice). Otherwise the room was fine (a little bit small) and the location was convenient (25m by foot to center and 5-10 by metro). Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'd forgotten there are hotels like this.. where every detail down to the drinking glass in the bathroom has been chosen with care. I believe the owner of this hotel is on the premises - but even if not, it feels that way. Agree with another reviewer that the entry is off-putting- it is around the corner from the street, and the reception desk does double duty as a bar and a coffee making station. But the genuine warmth of the reception and the charm of the room( I had number 204) make up for that and much more. Breakfast is almost unbelievably sumptuous. Area is full of interesting boutiques and gorgeous Art Deco buildings. (See my report on them at maryaliciatravel.com)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over a small park and the double glazing makes them quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This small boutique hotel is a great find offering excellent value. Well trained, friendly and professional staff. Rooms are admittedly small, however, are very comfortable, well appointed and very cleverly designed to maximize use of space. Add in the surprisingly good breakfast (freshly cooked eggs if you so choose) and you have an excellent base for your stay in Munich.

Room Tip: If staying on weekend, request a room on the upper floors away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank complelledtoshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#218 of 390 in Munich
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#238 of 390 in Munich
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#221 of 390 in Munich
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Nikolai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Nikolai Hotel

Address: Nikolaistr. 9, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $189 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Nikolai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Nikolai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing