We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Munich”
Review of Das Nikolai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Das Nikolai Hotel
Ranked #214 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a recent stay at Das Nikolai Hotel and loved it. The Leopold area it is located in is very nice with lots of restaurants and shops, beautiful architecture and right by the English Gardens. It was very easy to walk to many sights and as well the trains were a block away and very convenient. The hotel has been beautifully updated. The two rooms my family had were large by european standards and very charming with great furnishings and comfortable beds. There are also small balconies to sit on if the weather permits. The rooms were very quiet with one of them facing the courtyard. The breakfast room was very pretty with a great selection of foods available including eggs made to order. The staff were all very helpful and accomodating and there to answer all questions and make recommendations.
We would return to this small boutique style hotel with personal service in a very nice area and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donna572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Das Nikolai Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this week. Had previously stayed in one of H'Otellos a couple of times but very sterile. Pictures on line looked more appealing from Das Nikolai's website and so it turned out to be.
Reception was friendly and efficient. I actually arrived about midnight first evening and was greeted easily and given key with absolute minimum fuss.
Room (102) not huge, but a bit of individuality with lamps and chest of drawers. Will be interesting to see some other rooms over time. Free wifi. Room faced out onto street but was still pretty quiet in evening.
Breakfast room nice and really good selection with fresh cooked egg dishes available (and with smoked salmon was a real treat). Everyone there spoke English well (and friendly).
Easy walk to main drag and loads of bars / restaurants.
Only minor gripes were the usual German issue of offering 2 single duvets on a double bed. Also slightly odd that wc is behind only a partial door rather than fully shut off. OK for me as I was on my own, but might be slightly odd if together.
For me, a decent place and will look forward to another return as in Munich maybe 2-3 times a year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time at the Nikolai Hotel. It's situated around the corner of Leopold street, a nice street with a lot of shops. Also a very nice biergarten (Bachmaier Hofbräu) is located very close by.

The hotel is just great. Nice spacious rooms, good bathroom and comfortable beds. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They do their utmost to make the guest feel good. The breakfast is splendid.

We will be back.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pelagia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel. Great croissants (better than in France) and an unbelievable selection of fresh fruits. (only way to improve would be to have fresh squeezed juice). Otherwise the room was fine (a little bit small) and the location was convenient (25m by foot to center and 5-10 by metro). Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'd forgotten there are hotels like this.. where every detail down to the drinking glass in the bathroom has been chosen with care. I believe the owner of this hotel is on the premises - but even if not, it feels that way. Agree with another reviewer that the entry is off-putting- it is around the corner from the street, and the reception desk does double duty as a bar and a coffee making station. But the genuine warmth of the reception and the charm of the room( I had number 204) make up for that and much more. Breakfast is almost unbelievably sumptuous. Area is full of interesting boutiques and gorgeous Art Deco buildings. (See my report on them at maryaliciatravel.com)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over a small park and the double glazing makes them quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This small boutique hotel is a great find offering excellent value. Well trained, friendly and professional staff. Rooms are admittedly small, however, are very comfortable, well appointed and very cleverly designed to maximize use of space. Add in the surprisingly good breakfast (freshly cooked eggs if you so choose) and you have an excellent base for your stay in Munich.

Room Tip: If staying on weekend, request a room on the upper floors away from the street.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank complelledtoshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When we pulled up to the Das Nikolai, we were a bit startled: It doesn't look like much from the outside, and the lobby is essentially non-existent—just a work space in a pleasant but somewhat nondescript corridor. But our welcome was warm and our room was 'wow'—not large, but with high ceilings, classic tall windows, and many other lovely appointments. I'm not sure what the other rooms in the hotel look like, but if they're anything like this, you can't go wrong. Happily, the area was quiet and allowed for a good night's sleep. Staff were helpful and accommodating, breakfast was attractively served and fresh, and the location is excellent. And if you're tired of pigs knuckles and sauerkraut, try the Sushi Box or one of the other small but excellent restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetwood1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#218 of 385 in Munich
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#226 of 385 in Munich
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#200 of 385 in Munich
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.6 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Nikolai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Nikolai Hotel

Address: Nikolaistr. 9, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $189 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Nikolai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Nikolai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing