We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A change from some of bland corporates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Nikolai Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Das Nikolai Hotel
Ranked #191 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A change from some of bland corporates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this week. Had previously stayed in one of H'Otellos a couple of times but very sterile. Pictures on line looked more appealing from Das Nikolai's website and so it turned out to be.
Reception was friendly and efficient. I actually arrived about midnight first evening and was greeted easily and given key with absolute minimum fuss.
Room (102) not huge, but a bit of individuality with lamps and chest of drawers. Will be interesting to see some other rooms over time. Free wifi. Room faced out onto street but was still pretty quiet in evening.
Breakfast room nice and really good selection with fresh cooked egg dishes available (and with smoked salmon was a real treat). Everyone there spoke English well (and friendly).
Easy walk to main drag and loads of bars / restaurants.
Only minor gripes were the usual German issue of offering 2 single duvets on a double bed. Also slightly odd that wc is behind only a partial door rather than fully shut off. OK for me as I was on my own, but might be slightly odd if together.
For me, a decent place and will look forward to another return as in Munich maybe 2-3 times a year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    15
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
61
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time at the Nikolai Hotel. It's situated around the corner of Leopold street, a nice street with a lot of shops. Also a very nice biergarten (Bachmaier Hofbräu) is located very close by.

The hotel is just great. Nice spacious rooms, good bathroom and comfortable beds. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They do their utmost to make the guest feel good. The breakfast is splendid.

We will be back.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelagia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel. Great croissants (better than in France) and an unbelievable selection of fresh fruits. (only way to improve would be to have fresh squeezed juice). Otherwise the room was fine (a little bit small) and the location was convenient (25m by foot to center and 5-10 by metro). Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'd forgotten there are hotels like this.. where every detail down to the drinking glass in the bathroom has been chosen with care. I believe the owner of this hotel is on the premises - but even if not, it feels that way. Agree with another reviewer that the entry is off-putting- it is around the corner from the street, and the reception desk does double duty as a bar and a coffee making station. But the genuine warmth of the reception and the charm of the room( I had number 204) make up for that and much more. Breakfast is almost unbelievably sumptuous. Area is full of interesting boutiques and gorgeous Art Deco buildings. (See my report on them at maryaliciatravel.com)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over a small park and the double glazing makes them quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This small boutique hotel is a great find offering excellent value. Well trained, friendly and professional staff. Rooms are admittedly small, however, are very comfortable, well appointed and very cleverly designed to maximize use of space. Add in the surprisingly good breakfast (freshly cooked eggs if you so choose) and you have an excellent base for your stay in Munich.

Room Tip: If staying on weekend, request a room on the upper floors away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank complelledtoshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
215 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When we pulled up to the Das Nikolai, we were a bit startled: It doesn't look like much from the outside, and the lobby is essentially non-existent—just a work space in a pleasant but somewhat nondescript corridor. But our welcome was warm and our room was 'wow'—not large, but with high ceilings, classic tall windows, and many other lovely appointments. I'm not sure what the other rooms in the hotel look like, but if they're anything like this, you can't go wrong. Happily, the area was quiet and allowed for a good night's sleep. Staff were helpful and accommodating, breakfast was attractively served and fresh, and the location is excellent. And if you're tired of pigs knuckles and sauerkraut, try the Sushi Box or one of the other small but excellent restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jww1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

From the moment you step into Das Nikolai you feel like you're at home. The hotel just has that comfortable, family feeling and it has a lot to do with the warm, friendly staff. We stayed in Munich for a little over a week with an overnight trip to Austria in the middle. As such, we stayed in two rooms.

The first room was very large and comfortable. There was lots of storage for clothes and luggage. The bathroom was nice with good water pressure and temperature. And best of all was our large balcony overlooking a charming courtyard!

The second room, which we were in for only one night, was smaller but adequate. The only complaint about this room was that the bathtub had a window into the bedroom - a very large and unnecessary window that prevented any semblance of privacy.

The area where the hotel is located is very nice and trendy with lots of restaurants, bars, gelato shops and stores like Zara. There is a supermarket across the street for snacks and the underground station is a 3-minute walk. It's a quick 3 stops to Marianplatz, or you could walk for about 25 minutes.

Lastly, the breakfast is really good at the hotel and I recommend taking advantage of it. Everything is really tasty and fresh - all kinds of fruit, salads, meats, cheeses, bread and eggs on demand.

And once again, I'd like to highlight the staff, especially the gentlemen manning the front desk and the lady who runs the breakfast. They were so friendly and helpful, not to mention knowledgeable about their city. They gave us great tips on Oktoberfest and some restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#205 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#217 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#253 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.6 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
0.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#302 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Nikolai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Nikolai Hotel

Property: Das Nikolai Hotel
Address: Nikolaistr. 9, 80802, Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Nikolai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HRS, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Das Nikolai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing