We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Das Nikolai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Das Nikolai Hotel
Ranked #204 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Nikolia several days in early October 2011. It is just a very nice place. Good service, tasty breakfast and an outstanding location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    45
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
64
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I loved my stay in little NIkolai. In Munich very regularly for business, I usually stay around the train station in Flemings, I decided to try the Nikolai for the location near restaurants, bars and down the street from a morning meeting. The owners (I guess they were the owners) were on hand to offer a warm smile and a very genuine welcome. The building seems to be sort of a converted old house with cozy rooms on a quiet square off Leopoldstrasse. Wifi is free and works, breakfast is always included and is fresh. This sort of place makes you forget you're on a work trip. Excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We chose Das Nikolai Hotel because of its location near the English Park and center of Munich. We were happily surprised by how nice it was and the excellent breakfast that was included. The service was top notch and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was impressive. It had a full king sized bed (rare to find!), a nice balcony, and a rain shower with a seat in it. This was a five star hotel for a three star price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia85258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I can highly recommend this hotel. It is a small and cozy hotel and traditionally decorated in an older bavarian style. The breakfast was very, very good due to freshness and large variety. The fact that you can even sit outside on the side street, like a side walk cafe, made it even better. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every regard.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebastianzinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Compared to other hotels in the neighborhood this is a good choice.
Great personal service and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaaaJaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

It was actually a mixture of business and leisure trip to Munich. The hotel is very conveniently located in a very quiet neighborhood, within a few subway stations from the city centre and very close to English Garden. Since my airplane was arriving very early I showed up in the hotel at around 7:00 am. Staff was very helpful in arranging an early check-in without additional fee and serving delicious breakfast.

On the negative sides I must add that wifi quality was not very good, but it might be because I use MacBook and I experience the same problem with some other public wifi spots as well. Although recently renovated and very clean, the room size was also a little too small. It did not bother me, but I can imagine that it could be a problem for other people.

Overall great hotel and I am sure it is not my last stay there. Danke Frau Schlemmer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Being a first time traveler to Europe we were so lucky to end up at this hotel and location. Hammas and his wife were more than accomodating and he spoke perfect english. After our stay he helped us make our next reservation to Innsbruck, Austria. Great recommendation there too. We landed at the Wilder Mann. I could not have been happier anywhere in Germany than the Das Nikolai. Thank you so much Hammas...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgumbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Occam
#338 of 382 in Munich
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#247 of 382 in Munich
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#215 of 382 in Munich
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#213 of 382 in Munich
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.6 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Nikolai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Nikolai Hotel

Property: Das Nikolai Hotel
Address: Nikolaistr. 9, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Nikolai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Das Nikolai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing