We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #47 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not too far from the main train station this is a great modern, clean hotel with everything you could need.

The rooms are big enough and despite the proximity to the busy road it is extremely quiet inside. The swimming pool is excellent and the small gym is a nice addition.

The breakfast buffet is excellent with lots to choose from.

Highly recommended all round.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siambient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    662
    130
    37
    17
See reviews for
254
537
64
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I found this to be a modern and clean hotel. It's designed more for business people though. Oktoberfest is walking distance, but Marienplatz is a bit of a walk. I found the staff at the front desk not very helpful. I asked numerous times for maps and local attractions with not much luck. I ended up going into city centre for all that. I've been in a lot of hotels, but this was the worst for that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietroV746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Grand Central. The hotel is well located for Oktoberfest, approx. 10min walk. The nearest S Bahn station (Hackerbrucke) is just around the corner so you can easily get around the city. The hotel is approx. 20mins walk from the city centre.
The hotel is the most quiet hotel that I have ever stayed in. We heard no noise from outside or the room cleaners at any time which was great as I am a light sleeper.
The bar is OK but we were there for Oktoberfest so didn't spend long in the hotel bar.
The staff were very efficient & helpful. On arrival we asked for a couple of extra pillows as there were only two in the room. Extra pillows were brought to the room within an hour.
The bed is massive with loads of room for stretching out.
The only downside for us was that the hotel room & corridor smelled of smoke so it may have been used previously by smokers.
The swimming pool is small but we were the only people in at the time so this wasn't a problem for us
If you travel to the hotel via train then get off at the Hackerbrucke station & not the Hauptbanhof as we did. Hackerbrucke is 5 mins from the hotel. The Hauptbanhof station is over 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzydazzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My two grown up sons and I decided to visit the Munich Oktoberfest and after reading the reviews, decided to stay at the Eurostars Grand Hotel.

Firstly it was easy to travel by train from the airport (S8 or S1) and cost Euro 10.40 each for a single (July 13). Bear in mind the automated ticket machines at Munich airport pay change out in 2 Euro pieces (well it did for us), so try to put just the right amount of notes in!

Exit at the Hackerbrucke station. Go up the stairs from the platform and follow the signs to Finanzamt/ Circus Krone and then turn to the left into Arnulfstrabe just 20 or so yards after the end of the metal bridge. On the left hand side you will see the hotel. 5 - 10 mins easy walk.

The hotel is in spotless condition and the suite we used just right for 3 of us. The service is great too. Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The breakfast looked a little pricy (although I'd guess it would be very nice quality), so next morning we retraced our steps towards the station and you will see a shopping complex on your left near the station with Lidl as the anchor shop. There were several places to have breakfast there.

As for the Ocktoberfest, simply follow the walking crowd - it's an easy 15 min walk and the hotel is just far enough away not to be part of the (erm) madness of the festival! Far too many tourists drinking far too much, but a great atmosphere and we went back several times to enjoy the fun but not to drink in the big beer halls which seemed difficult to get into as they were so crowed - but it was the start of the festival. Keep your wallet safe as my son, who on one occasion was walking behind me, saw a character (did not appear to be a local!) check my jacket packet so fast you could hardly see his hand move - there was nothing in that pocket! Better to be forewarned!

Get a free city map from the hotel reception and walk to Marienplatz and the Victuals Market - the sights are fascinating and the street food in the market area was superb! We also spent our Sunday in the Englischer Garten with the German families - many in traditional dress, enjoying the day. Whilst there, we also enjoyed a beer in the beer garden by the Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower) - much more pleasant and authentic than the beer festival itself. When you buy a beer they give you a blue token which represents the deposit on the glass (a common approach) and when you have finished your drink you take the empty back with your token to get your deposit back.

A great few days and a great hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surrey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed one night and found staff very friendly. The hotel is located a stones throw from Hackerbrucke station which is great if you intend to visit the Oktoberfest as well.

I stayed on the 5th floor and whilst I didn't get time to use the pool but the bedroom was excellent, clean with a floor to ceiling window providing a nice view over Munich. Wifi was free (as it should be) and had aircon that actually worked, so no stuffy room!

After a fitful nights sleep with no outside noise I felt ready for my meetings.

A good well priced hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S3dgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location, pool was so refreshing, modern and clean rooms , the bed was really comfy and had ac and a decent view, sound proof windows so we slept with no problem, the bath tube was cool a d very died rent design , us as a couple loved it but I don't know if I would recommend it to other since it is very visible what's going on thru the glass, no complaints it was a pleasant stay , just the parking was over priced

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princesssoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

While location seems a bit away from the main tourist areas, it's also right beside one of the best beer gardens in the city, which is good. Also near to the train station and the Munich beer fest grounds. There's a good bike rental in the central train station-bike rental really is the best way to get around the city in the summer. Once you have a bike, the hotel is a perfect location, as everywhere is a short bike ride away.
Breakfast is fantastic-great coffee, great selection of fruit and juices, (which are particularly good after an afternoon/evening/morning of Steins) as well as meats/breads etc.
Rooms are modern, quite stylish and beds very comfortable. free wifi.
Nice pool/jacuzzi combo on top floor. Nice sauna. Gym is a bit pathetic-no weights-just an exercise bike and a treadmill-you'd be better off renting a bike!
Very nice staff, particularly in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher probably better-busy-ish street outside, but I didn't notice any traffic noise. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barl0w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#34 of 383 in Munich
1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 383 in Munich
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing