We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service let them down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #45 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service let them down”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location of this hotel is great. It is a two minute walk to the Huckerbrucke S-Bahn station and from here it is a quick few stops into the centre of Munich. This hotel is very new and rooms are spacious, modern, clean and well appointed. There is a nice (but very small) swimming pool on the 5th floor. However, we found the service to be lacking. For example, when I phoned reception to get a room-service menu sent up to our room, I was told repeatedly that there should be one in our room already, inferring that I wasn't looking hard enough. I was then told to hang-up and phone room service to get the problem sorted. Room service turned out to be very busy and it took me three tries to get through to someone. Reception could have been a little more solution focussed and used their initiative. We had drinks in the bar on 2 occasions and both times service was very slow due to there not being enough staff on. A good hotel if you are looking for a nice room to sleep in but not if you are going to make use of any services. Staff need to be a little more proactive and friendly - a smile costs nothing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    666
    132
    38
    17
See reviews for
260
543
64
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night in May. The hotel is stylish and modern and has a pool and gym. I was impressed with the room. It was modern, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I did not have any complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stylish design hotel. Great large rooms with wooden floors and big, classy bathrooms. Not quite as central as some booking sites suggest, but one stop (Hackenbrucke) from Hbf by SBahn and 2 by tram. Liddl supermarket by Hackenbrucke S Bahn good for water and nibbles to avoid hotel minibar and room service very high charges. High class restaurant in hotel - amazing food, wine and value given excellent quality and local prices - note it is closed on Saturday and Sunday - other options 10 minute walk or quick tram ride away though. The staff are amazing - welcoming and the right balance of friendly and professional. As I only do espresso and nicotine in the morning didn't opt for breakfast so can't comment on that. They have some smoking rooms too but good door seals and ventilation make sure that does not impact on other guests. I was on the 1st floor overlooking main road with regular trams (handy stop 2 mins away) but found it quiet. Wonderful huge comfy bed. Look for offers - regular on Last Minute secret hotels where I secured a 48% discount... hint - it opened in 2009....If I am back in Munich this would be a very strong contender.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Eurostars is well situated right near an S-bahn station in the middle Munich, which makes it easy to get to just about anywhere in the city. The hotel is not "blow your mind" special, but it's solid and everything is good. The room and bathroom was huge by European standards, and everything looked like it had recently been refreshed. I liked that the rooms had wood (or faux wood) floors -- preferable to carpet and who knows what that gets trapped there from other guests. Another plus was that the sound proofing was good, so I didn't hear hallway noise or noise from other rooms.

Breakfast in the morning was good not great. I think the quality was at best average compared to other places at the same price point or even lower, but you certainly wouldn't go away hungry.

I was only at the hotel one night for a business trip, so I can't comment on any of the amenities outside the room and breakfast. Overall it served its purpose -- I got a good night's sleep, and I was in the middle of town so it was easy to reach my favorite Bavarian restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Room comfortable with a very large bed and huge bathroom. Ate in bar one night, food wasn't great and very over priced. Nice pool, gym and sauna area. Close to train station and 30 minute walk to city centre and shops.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank middleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Modern hotel, nice bright rooms. Nice to find a European hotel with a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel was a bit further from the Hauptbahnhof (central station) than I'd expected - a good 15 minutes walk out of the city. You can get there easily by tram 16 or 17, either from the front of the Hauptbahnhof or there is a stop just outside the North (Nord) exit. A single ticket is €1.30 (Kurzstrecke or K on the machines in the trams) or you can get a day ticket for the whole of central Munich for €5.80. The stop for the hotel is Deroystrasse (out of the hotel and turn left, walk for a minute).

What lets the hotel down is the poor attention to detail. Twice (on a four night stay) I returned to my room to find that I had not been left any replacement shower gel in the bathroom and once the coffee sachets I used had not been replaced. Once I came back to my room at 4:45 pm to find it was being cleaned having left at 9:30 am). The guy cleaning it didn't speak German or English; he said he was from Portugal.

Checking out was quite slow (and not because there was anyone in front of me). Paying €18 for the one time I had breakfast seemed to take a long time.

The staff lacked any real warmth. For example, when I was standing at the reception desk waiting for the young Spanish lady to finish her phone call, she said "What do you want?"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Eurostars Grand Central. We had booked a double and a single room and upon check-inn we felt very welcome and comfortable in this modern hotel.
Check-inn went smoothly and without any delays we could move to our rooms. If you're fluent in Spanish this will for sure help in communicating with all personal, since their German or English is not the best.
The rooms are very spacious, modern and comfortable. The downside if you have your rooms towards the main street at the front of the hotel, is the noise caused by the tramway. So if you have a light sleep, you may want to ask for a room at the backside of the hotels or bring your earplugs. Housekeeping does a great job and there was nothing to complain about. Our son went to the swimming pool a few times and reported it to be clean as well but a bit too small.
Breakfast offers a large variety of fresh and tasty food. And since Eurostars is Spanish hotel chain you can find a number of Spanish specialties. During weekends, there is live-music for breakfast which we felt to be annoying and disturbing.
We also had a drink at the bar on 2 nights but you may want to avoid that, since it is really overpriced and service is not always focused on their job but more on chatting with some lost soul customers....
The hotel is very well located, 2 tramway stations are just outside the front door and the S-Bahn station "Hackerbrücke" is a 5 minutes walk away. From there you get direct connections to all stations in town, the main-station as well as the airport.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but ask for a room at the backside of the hotel and have my drink at a cheaper place.

In case you stay at this hotel do't miss to go to the Augustinerkeller for dinner. It's only a short walk to get there and well worth it. But make sure to book your table in advance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside to avoid the noise on the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weimera63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing