We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #44 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good choice in Munich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Eurostars Grand Central is a good choice for travelers who don't mind being a bit away from the touristic heart of Munich - around a half hour walk to Marienplatz, for instance. Rooms are nice, although the semi-transparent glass wall separating the shower from the bedroom may not be to all tastes, except the most liberal. Housekeeping was erratic, at best, and requests often had to be made to replenish basic amenities, such as soap, facial tissues, etc. The hotel follows a strange policy with regard to laundry, namely, that the guest is required to physically bring it down to reception rather than simply leaving it on the bed as is the case almost everywhere. Breakfast was fine, although uneven from day-to-day, and the breakfast room staff seemed more interested in chatting among themselves than doing anything useful. On the positive side, the hotel is new, and so rooms are clean and in good order physically.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    649
    127
    35
    17
See reviews for
253
522
64
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pros:
Nice, modern place. Spacious rooms, well equipped, including complementary coffee set. Nice indoor pool. Small, but well equipped gym.
Very good breakfast, with wide selection of food to choose from (bit disordered however, during 'rush hours', including lack of cutlery…).
Location OK, right on a Tram stop (lines 16 & 17) and "S" train station (Hackerbrücke stop). 3 stops from Munich central train station (Hauptbahnhof) and only 5-6 stops from city center and main attractions (Karlsplatz Stachus & Marienplatz). Very convenient. We stayed 3 nights, for Football match and used public transportation day in-day out all around the city, not being worried about parking issues.
Housekeeping and cleaning above average. We got all we asked for in short time. Also, asked for, and got high floor, in order to avoid street noise.
Cons:
Area is boring, business like, with no nearby places to dine or shop after dark (LIDL Supermarket, bakery and coffee shop opens daily in Hackerbrücke train station).
Bathroom's glass partition (between bathroom and bedroom) is annoying, not to say distorted! When bathroom lights are on, this transparent partition is nothing but a distraction for both, the person who uses the bathroom, and the person in the room.
We finally covered part of the glass with bed sheet.
Staff's attitude could be better. I've asked few question, looking for information but felt like being impatiently served.

Transportation Tip, for two persons or more that are traveling together: City Tour Card - 3 Day Partner Ticket for the entire network.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 5th floor (top) so got both, nice view and no street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location, clean, good breakfast. Booked the room for two twin beds, and got one bed. Reception managed to change the room. The bathroom is enclosed by glass, so my son and I had to look the other way while showering.

Room Tip: See if you can get one not facing the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

A group of eight from the United States and Italy met at the Eurostars Grand Central in September for Oktoberfest. We booked the hotel months in advance and were thrilled with the location, cleanliness, delicious buffet breakfast (18 euros each) and friendliness of the staff. One of the four rooms that we booked was for 3 persons. We expected little more than a roll away added to a standard room to accommodate 3 persons. We were delighted with our 3 person room # 118- a suite with a separate bedroom, a pull out sofa and 2 bathrooms!
The Eurostars Grand Central is easy walking distance to Oktoberfest and the downtown attractions and added significantly to enjoying Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoDaker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during Oktoberfest. It is close to both the train station and the Oktoberfest grounds. Check in was simple however they only have garage parking at 18 euros a night. If you don't want to pay for parking you have to find the very rare parking spot around the hotel. We booked a room for three people and it seemed a bit small considering it was a king size bed with a cot at the foot of the bed. As long as the third person doesn't mind sleeping by the feet of others the sleeping arrangements are ok. The only problems with the bathroom is that the towels were very coarse considering the amount you're paying for the room. The breakfast is mediocre if you're able to wake up for it. The biggest problem is when checking out you just want to hand in your room cards and leave but they throw you a surprise. According to the hotel you still have to pay 10% of the total cost of the hotel stay. They only charge you the initial 90%, so they don't make checkout easy and if you're on a budget this little surprise might affect the rest of your trip. Overall the hotel seemed a bit overprice for the quality you get but the location helps. Although our stay was mostly trouble free, next time I wouldn't stay here and spend it at a place where the price reflects its quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel over the beginning of the "Oktoberfest" period. I was impressed with the promptness of the staff and their professional approach. We had booked a suite for four people, but initially it was set up for only two. This was quickly rectified. HOWEVER......We were misinformed upon booking this hotel that we would have four separate beds in our room given that we were four gents staying in the room - what we were given and what we had to put up with was one king bed and one "small" double size sofa bed (which was broken and provided rather sore backs in the lumbar area each morning).

Hence, if you are looking for a hotel where you need to have three or more individual beds in a large room (which apparently can house four people), don't stay here.

Hotel felt very businesslike and a bit soul-less, however, it remained clean, professional and overall I was satisfied with the business, but not satisfied with having to share a bed with my buddy each night after paying 300-400 Euro per night for this room for four nights.

Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friend and I arrived early, 9 AM on Friday morning the day before Oktoberfest started, and I was worried that they wouldn't let us check in early. I was surprised and happy that they had a room for us and were more than happy to check us in early.

We had the suite so I was only expecting to have a bedroom and a living room area. I was blown away at the room they gave us. We were given room 317. This is a corner room on the street side. The room was huge. There was an extra space for a large table that seats 8 and an extra powder room. I checked the fire escape plans and confirmed that this room is the largest on that floor.

Some things I should point out based on other reviews:

1. Even though this was on the street side, noise was not really an issue. You would have to be a very light sleeper for it to be a problem.

2. Europeans are very conservative with water so they will not give you a fresh towels everyday. If you want that you will need to leave your towels on the floor or ask the front desk for new ones.

3. I can't speak to the food at the restaurant as I never ate there. There are cheaper places off of Hackerbrüke in the Bus station.

I don't have any complaints about this hotel as I am very easy to please. Overall I enjoyed my week here and would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose room 317 if you reserved a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaerf235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#39 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Property: Eurostars Grand Central
Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing