We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable and well designed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
Ranked #45 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

First, let's say it's a very comfortable hotel. Our room was reasonably spacious, and the bathroom was great, with a separated toilet. I did appreciate the comfortable beds. The breafast was great, in a nice restaurant room. During our stay, it seems the restaurant was not busy at all except for breakfast.
The hotel has a nice swimming pool on the 5th floor (but too small to swim sportively especially when it's packed) but it was good to swim a little bit every day. The sauna is both for men and women and it's quite good.
The hotel is near the Hackebrucke station so very convenient for the airport. Many S bahn stop at this station, and you have also very convenient trams on Arnulfstrasse, in front of the hotel.
The hotel has free internet access in all areas. It looks like a business hotel, but we enjoyed it for our three days vacation in Münich.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious. I liked the rooms because they are modern, nice wooden floors and a comfortable big bed.
The hotel is near the Hackebrucke station so very convenient for the airport.
Trams and buses are convenient too so it doesn’t matter that the hotel is not near the centre of the city.
The hotel has free internet access in all areas, provides towelling robes, and modern rooms, the staff are friendly and helpful at all times. There is a small salt water pool and a good sauna and steam room. This hotel provides good value for money in all areas

Room Tip: Floor five is good as it is nearer to the spa and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent value. Easy to get to. Take the S1 or S8 train from the airport to the Main Station - walk out the north door - grab a #16 or $17 trolly and get off 3 stops later at Deroy. The ticket is 11 Euros for 24 hours on any train or bus in the area. Don't expect the wi-fi to work - you can insist on a room with adequate signal but be sure to bring a cable for your laptop. Once you plug in it is very fast. It is free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twatripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and was very impressed. We got a good deal direct through the hotel website on sale.

Nice large rooms, very big bathroom with shower over bath.
very big and comfortable bed.

the hotel has a nice swimming pool with a jacuzzi that is not deep enough, overall very good though.

nice buffet breakfast with lots of choice and they replenish the stuff quite quickly (though there was a rather rotund woman stealing all the cheesecake one morning)

overall a very nice hotel and would stay again.

only downside is the shower's in the room and the pool area are not great. they dont keep the temperature and this needs amending.

Room Tip: ask for a high room if you intend to use the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammer_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is really an excellent hotel at a very good price: large and modern rooms, comfortable beds, flat tv, free wifi, minibar, armchair, long table at the wall, large wardrobe, nice toilet with bath tub and shower and all bath accessories you need, including bathrobe and slippers. Beds are comfortable and useful courtesy lights are provided so that you can read without disturbing your partner. Noise: zero (my room was on the back side, looking into a courtyard). Breakfast is simply outstanding, in a beautiful and spacious hall. What else? On Saturdays and Sundays you get also a nice live concert by a violin-guitar duo! The personnel is kind and helpful. You can park your car in the streets around the hotel premises free of charge. Free sauna and free swimming pool (though, this seemed a bit too small and crowded). The hotel is not close to the center (takes not less than 15 minutes walk to reach the Hautpbahnof and not less than 25 to reach Karlsplatz-Stachus), but it is conveniently served by two lines of tram (16 and 17) stopping in front of the hotel, so that you need just 5-7 minutes to reach the central station or Karlsplatz or Sendlinger Tor, where you can eventually get your connection to other tram lines or the U- and S-Bahn. Waiting times (shown by a display at the tram stops): from 1 to 5 minutes. A 3 days subscription to the efficient Munich transportation costs 13,80 and is advisable. However, there is one place you can easily reach with a 5 minutes walk from the hotel: the huge Augustiner Keller Biergarten.
Only a flaw to mention: the safe in in my room was not anchored to anything, so it could be easily put in a bag and taken away without problems. I noticed this only the last day and forgot to mention it at the reception when I checked out. So my advice is to check the safe in your room and ask for assistance if you notice it is not anchored.
Should I come back to Munich, would definitely look for a room here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Quite new, stylish hotel. Spacious rooms, bathroom with a separate toilet. Staff at the reception desk kind and professional, those in the restaurant are friendly but there is room for some organizational improvement - nice breakfast buffet though! Many things are only marked in Spanish, no English or even German version available for some brochures.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

i should have studied the map closer before choosing this hotel. it is only 6 blocks from central station. so i believed it would be a "central" location. it was not. there are no shops or cafes around the hotel and on the edge of anything the city has to offer.

the first day was after our overnight flight. so we took the mid-afternoon nap to get on the right clock. while sleeping, someone from room service opened the door and came in with a fruit basket without knocking. that was startling. then, we called for an iron and ironing board....also for bar soap, as none was in the room. two hours passed and it did not arrive. we had to call again.

the next morning, we left the "clean room" sign on the door. when we returned, the sign had been turned over to the "do not disturb" sign. this could have happened by passing guests, so we will give the benefit of doubt on this. the next day we did not leave the sign to ensure it would be cleaned at some point. we arrived back to our rooms at 4:00pm and they were just cleaning!

as for the cleaning, the maids need to sit on the toilet to see how they miss dusting the corners of the floor!

front desk staff were efficient, but definitely without personality!

wi-fi was free, but breakfast was not included so we chose to grab it elsewhere.

doubt we will return to munich. it was nice, but we saw it. but if we did, we'd look for a more central hotel. we'd look for something closer to marienplatz square. it's a charming area in the heart of the finer shops and nice restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtdiner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 389 in Munich
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
3 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#76 of 389 in Munich
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstr. 35, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Munich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $64 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing