We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good , cheap good transport links”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ranked #80 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights end of may 2013 . Hotel generally very good and inexpensive we were charged €267 for 3 nights with breakfast. Best thing about hotel , for me , was its brilliant position about 100m from Westendstrasse underground station about 4 stops on the U5 or U4 to central Munich , trains run every 10 or 15 mins so you've never long to wait . If you have a car it has a good car park . Breakfast was ok , selection of cold meats and cheeses , breads etc also hot sausages and scrambled eggs . One minor niggle was the wifi . Tried several times to get on even with a printout instructions from reception but to no avail . Overall a very good experience would recommend .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank hunkrtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here 3 years ago and found it ideal for parking the car and using public transport. This time we stayed 4 nights and used the U-bahn to travel into Munich or we took the car out on trips in the surrounding countryside. Very helpful staff member told us about the group ticket we could buy on the railways, which allowed 4 of us to travel into the central station on the U-bahn and then onto Salzburg by the regional train and return for only 34 euros. That's about £7.50 each! Remarkable value. Why can't we get these sorts of fares in the UK? Ate in the restaurant most evenings and found the food excellent in quality, and reasonably priced. Our room was at the front and we had to have the window closed to reduce the noise level. If I return to Munich I will definitely stay here again.
Thank you Ibis.
Frances & Philip Mitchell

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SuffolkPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I'm sorry, but 160 euros a night for a Travelodge-equivalent in the outskirts of Munich just is an outrage. Basic rooms, basic service, no free wifi in the room, nothing standing out to justify the price. Rooms have no plugs next to the bed - yes, if you want to use your mobile as your alarm whilst charging it, good luck with that. The sink stinks as soon as the tap opens. Not much water power. Entry card temperamental - sometimes it works, sometimes it goes on strike. Room cleanliness is questionable - a long piece of string dropped from my coat on sunday night; today it's thursday and it's still where it fell. So no one has vacuumed. They just tidy up, make the bed and change the towels. And for the priviledge of that, 160 euros. Breakfast is pretty basic and not frequently renewed - empty bottles of water, empty cheese boards, empty fruit bowls for 30-odd minutes. And the staff keep charging me in GBP without asking me if I want to not be charged in Euros. And they get annoyed when asked to cancel the transaction and do it again in Euros.

Really, seriously. Go to a MotelOne instead. Same basic service, but the price reflects it perfectly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank her000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

From check in to check out a lovely stay clean rooms comfy beds great showers friendly staff the only slight issue the room cards kept losing the entry info but not enough to put us off from staying again

Room Tip: Book well in advance for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Relatively good value hotel for Munich. Not in the center of town, but near to all public transport for a quick connection to downtown.

Clean rooms, friendly staff.

Would stay again if with the prepaid discount.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank schuffiatyahoocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is very good, is modern, clean and very close to the Westend stop of the underground that in few minute brings you at the center of the city. Only the rooms are a little bit small.
If I'll return in Munich, I'll return in this hotel certainly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a good location outside of the Munich city centre, and a good hotel for the business traveller.
Normal Ibis quality and value for money.
I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-M4F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
1.4 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#37 of 389 in Munich
870 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
1.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#89 of 389 in Munich
1,940 reviews
5.8 mi away
ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City West

Address: Westendstr. 181, 80686 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#66 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $70 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City West 2*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City West Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing