We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, simple hotel. As advertised.”
Review of Am Sendlinger Tor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Am Sendlinger Tor
Ranked #366 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 26, 2014

You can't beat the location.

I came specifically for a Strasse fest and the hotel was perfectly located for that and to get around the city in general.

Just do not expect any special furnishing and you will be ok.

I found the staff to be as pleasant as to be expected at such a hotel. In fact, several times they assisted me with getting around and hosting my luggage.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 388 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked this place as I was looking for a budget hotel. I was aware of the reviews on TA but decided to go ahead anyway. What's important to remember is that regardless of the price there should be a certain minimum standard from a hotel. You can book a budget Travelodge or Premier Inn in the UK for as little as £30 a night and it's value for money. Unfortunately you cannot say the same of Am Sendlinger Tor.

When we arrived we were met by a lady receptionist who provided us with our room and wi-fi passwords. There was no information provided with regards to the reception being unmanned of an evening, which we had luckily read on here but it was probably an important piece of information that should have been provided to us. I asked how we would get back into the hotel when the reception was empty and was told to use the key after midnight. I tried the front door with the key I was provided which didn't work so asked again. I was given a completely different reason (the front door is unlocked and any Tom, Dick or Harry can walk in without a problem or being observed by an employee), and was felt to feel a little stupid by the receptionist with a surly response.

The room was adequate in size, however poor in presentation. The lock on the bathroom door was broken with the door frame cracked, the laminate floor was lifting with water damage it seemed (water from the shower in the bathroom?) and the bathroom itself in a need for a regrout. We were provided with a shower gel but this seemed to have been left by a previous occupant. Either that or the hotel keeps the same shower gels for guests as it was half empty and a bottle bought from a supermarket.

We were also provided with a television which was a 15 inch screen based on top of a 7ft wardrobe, so that would have been difficult to watch, especially as there was no remote control to be found so switching channels would have been a tiresome experience. If you have children you may want to use the wi-fi to watch videos on a tablet or access the internet, but this was lacking in performance, regularly cutting out or working at a snails pace.

I really wanted to be positive about this hotel as I know how difficult it is to compete with larger, more expensive establishments, but in the same breath I wanted to give an honest opinion so guests further down the line know what to expect. The problems I found can be easily fixed or improved for a small outgoing which I hope the hotel look at, because the location is perfect for families, groups or single travellers. The only concern is that value for money is lacking despite the low/competitive pricing.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the reception as possible noting anybody can walk into the hotel when the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Furmedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great hotel cause it's close to everywhere, you can walk from here to museums and cafe's. Nice small rooms. I think it is good for a city hotel. It has a small reception but you dont need anything except room :) I was glad to be stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stkapucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After changing plans I had to find a reasonably priced and central hotel over New Year's Eve. No easy feat and this hotel was the cheapest I could get - and it is for a reason.

To be fair all staff members were efficient (check in/out), extremely friendly (late night bottle of beer at reception) and helpful (storing luggage).

Other than that: avoid, unless you cannot find any other place. My room was small (no worries), the heating was either on or off, the chair was wobbly with one leg fixed with gaffa tape, walls are paper thin and the shower / bath room was awful.

The last night I stayed a chinese couple had a shouting match entertaining the 3rd floor until 1.30 a.m. and banging on the door only shut them up for 5 minutes.

It's moments like these that a 24/7 reception comes in handy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hello-Ms-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good location for those, like us, visiting the Christmas market (and within a reasonable walk of the centre of Munich and what seemed to be the main restaurant area).but otherwise fairly average. Good sized single room but with a small bathroom and very small shower cubicle. Clean. My room was at the front which meant some early morning traffic noise - no problem in December when traffic light and windows closed, but could be a problem in high summer. Absolutely no catering facilities - one of the few hotels I (if not the only hotel) I have ever come across that didn't even have a breakfast room. A number of nearby cafe/bakeries though one of which they apparently have an arrangement with - although we did't use it

Room Tip: At the back may be quieter in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel Am Sendlinger Tor is located a short 10 minute walk from Marienplatz in Central Munich, and is within 100 yards of the Sendlinger Tor U Bahn station.

In reviewing this hotel, one must first set expectations that are consistent with the price point of the room provided.

Arrival and check in were quick and efficient; staff were knowledgeable of the area and were helpful in finding local attractions.

The room was small, however, was cleaned to good standards and had been recently painted. The complimentary wifi worked reasonably well. There was only one english speaking news channel on the television; this channel was only available late at night.

No breakfast was advertised or offered, however, there was a coffee shop less than a block away, straight out the front of the Hotel door.

Of concern is that the front desk is not staffed 24/7, and the hotel entry was not secured when the front desk is not staffed.

The high point of this hotel is its location. As mentioned, Marienplatz is a 10 minute walk or one stop on the U Bahn; the Sendlinger Tor U Bahn station is served by lines 1,2,3, and 6.

All told, this hotel represents a good value for the traveler, and is a reasonable alternative to consider when selecting lodging in Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillLawrenceKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Bad points:
Small rooms
Thin walls which is ok if your neighbours are considerate.
Very small shower with a shower curtain that loves to snuggle up !

Good points:
Very friendly and helpful staff
Rooms are modern and very clean
Room is warm and comfortable
Good sleep on bed
Free map of Munich on arrival
Free bottle of sparkling water each day
Great prices
Best of all - LOCATION only 10 minutes walk from just about everything in central Munich and transport systems almost right outside the door.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonDC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#218 of 391 in Munich
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#46 of 391 in Munich
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#308 of 391 in Munich
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#176 of 391 in Munich
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#287 of 391 in Munich
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#201 of 391 in Munich
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Sendlinger Tor

Address: Oberanger 47, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $64 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Am Sendlinger Tor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityhotel-munich Hotel Am Sendlinger Tor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Am Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Sendlinger Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing