We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Am Sendlinger Tor
Nearby Hotels
$237
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
$321
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$421
$394
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$464
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marc Munchen(Munich)
$144
$125
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Muenchen Palace(Munich)
$242
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
42
137
115
52
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
137
115
52
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkexcellent locationlocked luggage roomwould stay here againnice neighborhoodu bahn stationvending machinetown centreinternet accessbooked this hotelcentral locationcomfy bedpasswordoktoberfestlampaltstadttram
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 395 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good location for those, like us, visiting the Christmas market (and within a reasonable walk of the centre of Munich and what seemed to be the main restaurant area).but otherwise fairly average. Good sized single room but with a small bathroom and very small shower cubicle. Clean. My room was at the front which meant some early morning traffic noise - no problem in December when traffic light and windows closed, but could be a problem in high summer. Absolutely no catering facilities - one of the few hotels I (if not the only hotel) I have ever come across that didn't even have a breakfast room. A number of nearby cafe/bakeries though one of which they apparently have an arrangement with - although we did't use it

Room Tip: At the back may be quieter in summer months
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel Am Sendlinger Tor is located a short 10 minute walk from Marienplatz in Central Munich, and is within 100 yards of the Sendlinger Tor U Bahn station.

In reviewing this hotel, one must first set expectations that are consistent with the price point of the room provided.

Arrival and check in were quick and efficient; staff were knowledgeable of the area and were helpful in finding local attractions.

The room was small, however, was cleaned to good standards and had been recently painted. The complimentary wifi worked reasonably well. There was only one english speaking news channel on the television; this channel was only available late at night.

No breakfast was advertised or offered, however, there was a coffee shop less than a block away, straight out the front of the Hotel door.

Of concern is that the front desk is not staffed 24/7, and the hotel entry was not secured when the front desk is not staffed.

The high point of this hotel is its location. As mentioned, Marienplatz is a 10 minute walk or one stop on the U Bahn; the Sendlinger Tor U Bahn station is served by lines 1,2,3, and 6.

All told, this hotel represents a good value for the traveler, and is a reasonable alternative to consider when selecting lodging in Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillLawrenceKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Bad points:
Small rooms
Thin walls which is ok if your neighbours are considerate.
Very small shower with a shower curtain that loves to snuggle up !

Good points:
Very friendly and helpful staff
Rooms are modern and very clean
Room is warm and comfortable
Good sleep on bed
Free map of Munich on arrival
Free bottle of sparkling water each day
Great prices
Best of all - LOCATION only 10 minutes walk from just about everything in central Munich and transport systems almost right outside the door.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonDC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

the expectations not met.

Waste from its predecessor not all disposed of.
no closet, only sideboards, partly covered with linen
no TV reception
no room service 3 nights
Dishwasher with dishes not cleared from the predecessor.

Apartment very spacious, with great views, beautiful light
and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I only stayed here for one night, since we extended the Munich portion of our trip by an additional day. Compared to our other hotel's location (within walking distance to Oktoberfest), I would prefer to stay at Hotel Sendlinger Tor because the accommodations were nicer and the bed was so much more comfortable (although there was no breakfast included).

The room is nothing to write home about but met our needs...just know that the shower is tiny and the shower curtain will stick to you. The staff was very friendly and they have a room where you can store your luggage if you arrive early or leave late.

The location is why I rated it a 4 instead of a 3. When we arrived, the parade of tent patrons heading to Oktoberfest was passing right outside the hotel, which instantly got us excited to head to the festivities. It was so convenient to get to Oktoberfest and Hauptbahnof (Central Station) and was a very safe area.

There was a great bakery/cafe right across the street and we indulged in a meat & cheese plate with fresh bread in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews