We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in a good location”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice room in a good location”
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Stayed over a weekend during Octoberfest. Hotel is newly renovated. Family run. Bathroom was small but sufficient. The included breakfast in the morning was well done with a nice selection of food. The room was clean and basic with a good flat screen TV. No frills but excellent if all you need is a place to rest. The hotel is only a block from the train station so from the airport I just took the train and walked over to the hotel from the station with my roller bag. Arrived early and was able to check in. Only blocks from Octoberfest, which is good and bad. With the windows open for ventilation at night you could hear the drunks yelling in the nearby streets, but not as bad as if you were on a main street. Munich is a beautiful city and the hotel is nearby to the major attractions so I was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go. Not the Ritz, but if you want a clean room at a good price in a good location it will get the job done.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    325
    61
    7
    6
See reviews for
107
385
64
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NH USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I have been to Munich previously though 20 years ago. I knew that I wanted a reasonably priced hotel near the train station and close enough to the old city to be able to walk to Marienplatz, Hofbraeuhaus and Aldstadt. Hotel Metropol definitely met my needs. It is one block further away than the pricey Sofitel and midway down a side street. We were assigned a room towards the rear and it was very quiet. My daughter and I love lime green so the decor was a hit. Bathroom a little dated and tiny, yet functional. Beds comfortable, breakfast varied offerings in pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, rolls, juice, etc. Quite extensive. Desk personnel very helpful.
Would definitely book here again! Choices/options with room ex: includes welcome drink and one 24 hr pass on Uand S bahn. Very clean, no small fridge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaBnhUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

It was my first time at the Hotel Metropol in Munich and I have to say that I really love it.
The rooms are completely new renovated and do look very modern.
The beds are very comfortable to sleep in. I was very suprised, that the Hotel was so quiet (small side street near Central Station)
The staff is overall very charming and helpful.
The breakfast and the breakfast service are very good. You will find everything on the buffet what you need for a good start into the new day.
I will definately come back the next time together with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Small hotel you stay in, because you have to or because you'd like to be close to the train station... or some kind of red light district (according to the locals, the surrounding area is like London's Earls Court with its hotels, casinos and brothels). Don't expect any luxury, but the rooms are adequate size. There's a wardrobe, desk, telly, safe, mini bar and average bathroom. My room had a patio which was bigger then the room itself.
Don't leave the window open at night as even though you're on the back street, weekends can be very noisy. Schwanthalerstrasse on the left can be bit dodgy (and very loud) late at night, but in general Munich is much safer than any other inner city area in Europe.
Reception area downstairs is very small, with the tiny bar right next to the desk - so you'll feel like an intruder if you decide to have a pint of beer there (we joked, that the micro sofa opposite the bar is for desperate exhibitionists only). Don't be fooled by the pictures on their website, as they all were taken with an ultra wide lens. If you want a drink or something to eat, go down town or make sure, you've got a rich friend who's staying in the Sofitel round the corner. Apollo's staff is relaxed, friendly and efficient.
Breakfast are quite nice - fresh rolls, sliced ham and salami, jam, cheeses, coffee, tea and juices.
If you want to see a bit of real Munich you have to take your right when you leave the hotel and walk past the train station for about 20 mins. There are all the tourist attractions awaiting (stunning architecture) you as well as great beer gardens and of course the Hofbrauhaus with its jars of lager and weiss bier, lovely greasy food and a polka band.
The bottom line is - decent hotel near to the main train and metro station, just a walking distance from the old town.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGuyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Munich - ideal, central, dynamic! The family-run hotel in the city center of Munich is the ideal starting point for any kind of leisure or business activity: stroll around the Frauenkirche, savor some local delicacies at the Viktualienmarkt or attend a convention at the trade fair center 'Neue Messe Riem'. Our convenient location in the center of Munich and close to the central station offers you direct access via underground trains or S-Bahn (light rail net-work) to Munich Airport and all other destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing