We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel at convenient site”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #7 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at convenient site”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The rooms are very tidy and breakfast is great. Very good value at a very convenient location. Breakfast starts early at 6:30 am, which is important for me. The internet was fast. I will come back soon as I have some business to do here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermannLuyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    361
    62
    7
    6
See reviews for
131
439
80
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the weekend and were really happy with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. When arriving at our rooms we had chocolates on the pillows which we thought was a lovey touch. The room was very modern and spotless too. Breakfast was perfect, with a huge selection to choose from. Very near the town centre, yet had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I would definitely say that this hotel is higher than three star! It is only a five minute walk from the main station, so we saved quite a bit of money in taxi fares. The room is reasonable size and include a couch. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have slept in, in a long time!! Breakfast was good too - huge range of meat, cheeses, breads, fruits, and it even includes scrambled eggs!! Would defiantly stay here next time we are in munich!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Metropol last May for 4 days while on a family trip through Germany to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday. Great location, very easy walk to train station and the main square in Munich. Rooms were clean and got the job done. No frills but when on vacation you spend so little time in the room. Complimentary breakfast every morning was great with a lot of selection. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Great value in Munich!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I am a returning guest and have used this hotel each year for the last 10 years, each time for about a week. Great location on a quiet street, within walking distance from central railway station. Easy parking available most of the time on the road and they have a private parking as well. Breakfast variety is more than one could wish. A very friendly team will assist with all you need. If you come back they will great you with a smile and make you feel like home. In the evenings Mr Gunther will serve your favorite drinks at the Hotel bar. The rooms are modern and clean. What more can one wish?

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank uribeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed one night in a double room. Hotel is modern looking and has obviously been recently refurbished. Rooms are decent sized with a good bathroom with separate shower. There is free wifi available throughout the hotel. Breakfast was included and was very nice including an assortment of hot and cold foods as well as various cakes! Location is very close to main train station, but a little out of the way of the main attractions. Would stay here again and the price was very reasonable considering the included breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting friends and the Christmas markets.

This independently-owned hotel is ideally located in a quiet side-street just five minutes' walk from the main railway station (a half hour train journey from the airport). It is a fifteen minute walk to the main centre of the City so very convenient and accessible.

The room was clean, warm and the bed was comfortable. Only one pillow per person was provided, but we were able to get another one from reception. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and very clean, but there is no bath. There were no fancy toiletries (although there was a wall-mounted cheap liquid soap and a shower gel) but a shower cap would have been useful! We slept very well which is unusual for us in a hotel. This is because the communal corridors are carpeted (so no click-clack of heels) and the room has an internal door which separates the bathroom area and outside door from the main sleeping area - I wish every hotel had this! We were also unaware of other guests in adjoining or overhead rooms, so I assume that the hotel has noise insulation as the hotel did appear to be full at breakfast time.

There were tea and instant coffee making facilities, although no espresso machine as mentioned in some other reviews.

Breakfast was very good. Being English we opted for the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs from the buffet - delicious! Also on offer were bacon, sausages, meatballs, pastries, breads, cereal, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruits etc ... and all the usual breakfast drinks. There was also wonderful honey straight from the hive complete with the honeycomb - delicious!

The reception staff were helpful and efficient. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowtonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing