We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided to stay in this hotel after reading reviews from trip advisor. I would say that we made the right choice of staying here for 3 nights in mid August last year. The hotel is located 5-10 minutes away from the main train station (by foot) and 1--15 mins from the city centre (Marienplatz) but since it was not on the main road you would have a quiet, peaceful sleep.

They have new, clean rooms and huge beds. The room is painted apple green and brown a bit odd but after a long day we just wanted to rest and the color scheme did not matter at all. We did not feel the lack of AC as it was a bit cold in August. Free WiFi and friendly and helpful staff as well.

Breakfast buffest is awesome - lots of choices and will fill you up and energize you for the day's ahead. The spread consisted of ham, bacon, sausages, eggs, potatoes, cereals, yoghurt, pancakes, waffles, assorted pastries, fresh juices, tea, coffee. Breakfast is included in your room rate.

We hope to come back to Munich and will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The only problem we had was that we stayed in July and there was no air conditioning in the room. The corridors were air conditioned and we were supplied with a fan but had to leave the door open for coolness from the corridor. The room was clean and nicely furnished and the staff were very friendly. Close to Railway Station and city centre within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maralyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This very nice hotel is in a great location near the main train station and within walking distance to many sights (if you enjoy walking, which we do). The front desk service and maid service were just excellent. The breakfasts were outstanding with varied foods and delicious options. Beds were comfortable. The room frig was stocked with various drinks for very reasonable prices. The decor colors are a bit odd, but I soon got used to the decor! The hotel would be uncomfortable in a heat wave - there's only a fan for cooling - but the weather was very pleasant for our visit in late August so the fan was fine for us. There's a desk for work, and the internet worked fairly well. Great hotel overall, and we recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mggs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is very convenient. But be careful, you have to go through the exit on your right hand side. Otherwise, you need to turn to the right and then right again and walk for 4 street corners. The room is spacious and nice. The only problem is there is no air conditioner. If the temperature goes up to 30 something degree to almost 40, then you may find it hot, especially for those come from cooler areas. Breakfast is ok. The staffs are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaymondInGermay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

1. place : 5min walking from Munchen Mian station. very in the center.

2. sevice: free water and very kind fronter, free WIFI very good.

3. beakfast : nice to eat with many kinds of fruit.

4. parking : parking lot is not enough for many visitors..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our recent trip to Munich. We arrived into town early in the day and were pleasantly surprised they had a room ready for us, which was great after a long night of traveling. The location of the hotel was great. It was about a 10 minute walk from the Marienplatz and just off the main drag so it was more quiet at night. The HBF train station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was very convenient. The room itself was a good size by European standards and had everything you needed. The hotel has free wi-fi available in each room and the speed was great. The staff was so friendly, everyone spoke English, and they were overall just extremely helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. They had a huge selection to fit any taste and culture.

Our gripes with the hotel were that the shower was a bit tight and the water seemed to just rain out onto the floor. The bed was also on the hard side but we got used to it. We also didn't realize that this hotel did not have air conditioning. There was very little ventilation from the windows and we spent a good part of our night tossing and turning because we were too warm to sleep. If you were planning to stay in a colder month this likely wouldn't be an issue; however, my husband gets rather hot at night and the room temperature proved to be problematic during our stay. If it weren't for this, we would have enjoyed our stay here much more.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just excellent hotell, in the middle of the town, on the quite street, near the central trainstation. Reccomend to all kind of visitors - young copples with children, elderly, middleaged copples at their best age. The breakfast was just delicious, we did not understa nd why the hotell have just 3 stars, it is a real pearl. Thanks all persona l for the excellent work. Hardly recomend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uggla2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 391 in Munich
1,819 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 391 in Munich
2,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 391 in Munich
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#13 of 391 in Munich
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#16 of 391 in Munich
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 391 in Munich
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $97 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing