We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value, great location, great service, what more do you need?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #17 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, great service, what more do you need?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We needed to stay in Munich at the end of August 2012, at relatively short notice and have easy access to both the centre and further afield. Booking the Hotel was painless over the internet as was finding it after arriving at Munich Hb from the airport. Our first visit to Munich was made easy by the location of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff, happy to help and advise us. The rooms (about ready for refurbishment not because they are poor, just a bit dated, we understand this has already begun) are clean, pleasant and of adequate size although we thought the bathroom a little bit small but as we spent most of the time out this was not a major issue. I would think in summer the lack of air-con could be an issue tho' as it was too warm to sleep even with the window and door open and it was not the height of summer. Also no fridge in the room - this was really missed as the weather got warmer! Breakfast was excellent with good attention by the staff. Overall this is a friendly, superbly appointed hotel to base yourself and even better that it is not situated directly on the main roads of Munich (as are other much more expensive hotels amongst the hustle and bustle and noise). There was no suggestion of feeling unsafe in the area at night and we are already planning to return to do some sight seeing in Munich this time. We would recommend this hotel especially to budget conscious visitors to Munich. Great value, great location, great service, what more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    280
    59
    6
    5
See reviews for
82
299
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marinha Grande
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Staff very friendly, polite and Professional.
breakfast better than normal four-star hotels.
Very Close to hauptmanof - central station.
when we return to Munich I will repeat unquestionably the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis Filipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight on our way to Austria. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The room was spacious and nicely decorated in modern style. Breakfast was excellent. A really nice start to our trip. The location is good. Less than 5 minutes walk from the main railway station and close to the old town and the shopping. A great hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Metropol is central to everything in the heart of Munich. Only 1 block from the train station, so convenient to get to. Great staff - extremely friendly and helpful. Very clean, modern, well kept, up to date. Good amenities like a fantastic breakfast buffet, wi-fi, hot towel racks in the bathroom, lemon ice water and chocolates at the front desk. Very reasonable rates. I would stay here again any time I return to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night over Easter. The location is great, close to the train station, and about a 10 minute walk to the Marienplatz. We've stayed by the train station in the past, and it's a really good location if you're planning on doing day trips to Neuschwanstein or Dachau.

The wi-fi was great, and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was a standard buffet, nothing to rave about, but good to get you started for the day.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and were happy to hold our bags after checking out which is aways appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Both the room and the staff. :)

We stayed 8 nights in this hotel and we had a great time!
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was great
and breakfast was good quality food and very varied.

The hotel sells public transport cards and tickets for
the "Deutsche Museum". Especially buying the museum
tickets in advance saved us a lot of queuing.
The staff gave us lots of advice about places to
visit (sights and biergartens/restaurants).

We'd love to come back some time and in the meantime
we'll recommend this hotel to everyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCE_NRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was very good. The room was well furnished, including a safe, and the bed was very comfortable. There was no air conditioning which didn't bother us (we are from a hot place) but may not work for other people. Free wifi was available which my husband used without any complaints of it not working or being too slow.

The hotel is in a good location just a few minutes from the central train station and about 10-15 minutes easy walk to Marienplaz. During our stay the hotel seemed busy, but at night it was very quiet.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was delicious. It was the same every day but there was a great variety available so it didn't get boring.

The cost of the hotel was reasonable compared to other hotels in Munich. We booked a package which included a free 3 day travel pass. We also made use of the bikes available at the hotel.

The only drawback was the shower, because the water changed temperature frequently.

I would stay at this hotel again if I return to Munich.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#23 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#24 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller 5 Hotel
Schiller 5 Hotel
#14 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Mittererstr. 7, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Munich - ideal, central, dynamic! The family-run hotel in the city center of Munich is the ideal starting point for any kind of leisure or business activity: stroll around the Frauenkirche, savor some local delicacies at the Viktualienmarkt or attend a convention at the trade fair center 'Neue Messe Riem'. Our convenient location in the center of Munich and close to the central station offers you direct access via underground trains or S-Bahn (light rail net-work) to Munich Airport and all other destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing