We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in greater Munich area”
Review of Hotel Obermaier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Obermaier
Ranked #8 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in greater Munich area”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My 3 children stayed there for 2 nights. The lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Booking was easy and done in short time. My children loved the stay in this hotel, the room was nicely decorated in a traditonal, bavarian style, clean and completely furnished. The staff was very friendly and contributed to a very good atmosphere.The breakfast was great and left nothing to desire. Checkout was easy, fast and correct. This hotel is really an insider tipp. We already look now forward to visit Obermaier again in spring and summer time in their large beer garden.

Room Tip: Try to get a room the the court area, the streetview rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
37
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here two nights. Lovely room, great bathroom and everything was spotlessly clean. Friendly staff and nice breakfast buffet.

Easy to get to Munich via the S-Bahn and free parking, so good for us drivers.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

After looking, and looking, and looking, for a place to stay in Munich that was not too expensive and had a parking, I found this hotel and I am so glad I did!

This place has an atmosphere, far away from the big hotel chains.

Our room (standard but not the small one) was perfect, with everything you need. Located on the upperfloor, it was really quiet at night.

Breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel, especially for the quality of the products available.

Don't hesitate to eat in the hotel's restaurant, located in the building nextdoor, the food is really good, but don't forget to book a table! You can also bring back home some meat from their own butchery, yummy!

Last, but not least, parking is free! S & U-bahn station is 5 minutes away, and drive you to Marienplatz in nothing more than 15 min.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit living in Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night during Oktoberfest. It was great to escape the city centre and arrive here. Twenty minutes on the underground and a ten minute walk was well worth it. Hotels in Munich double or treble their prices for Oktoberfest, so staying here makes financial sense even at €190 for a double room. We were welcomed with a glass of sekt. The rooms are very well appointed, I loved the decor. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was of a much superiour quality to a lot of other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was not the first time I stayed in Hotel Obermaier. Why do I keep coming back?
Simple. This hotel has personality; not one of those big chain hotels which are identical all over the globe. Here you get a Bavarian atmosphere and interior. Last but not least, the staff (in the charming Bavarian dresses) is extremely friendly. The rooms are very clean and who wants to miss a Bavarian breakfast with freshly made sausage and "Broetchen".
Easy [free, off the road] parking, while using public transport is simple. Bus stops in front of the hotel and 2 stops to the S-Bahn station.
I will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adro
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent there only one night but it is a pleasant place. Nicely decorated, Bavarian athmosphere. Pretty big room, clean and unusual large bathroom. Good breakfast, wide selection. WI-FI available against a fee of 12 euro per day. I would like to suggest to add a mini-bar in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights while visiting friends in the area. Lovely hotel, only 10 minutes with the metro to Munich center. In the evening we had dinner in the beautiful bier garten next to the hotel. Nice and spacious rooms with sofa bed for the kids. Bathroom with both bath tub and shower. Breakfast was great, I can not think of anything I missed on the buffé.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereseHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Prinzregent
Hotel Prinzregent
#21 of 383 in Munich
301 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
2,156 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bayers
Hotel Bayers
#2 of 65 in Munich
243 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 65 in Munich
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obermaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obermaier

Property: Hotel Obermaier
Address: Truderinger Str. 306, 81825 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Obermaier 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Obermaier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing