We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Obermaier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Obermaier
Ranked #8 of 66 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent there only one night but it is a pleasant place. Nicely decorated, Bavarian athmosphere. Pretty big room, clean and unusual large bathroom. Good breakfast, wide selection. WI-FI available against a fee of 12 euro per day. I would like to suggest to add a mini-bar in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights while visiting friends in the area. Lovely hotel, only 10 minutes with the metro to Munich center. In the evening we had dinner in the beautiful bier garten next to the hotel. Nice and spacious rooms with sofa bed for the kids. Bathroom with both bath tub and shower. Breakfast was great, I can not think of anything I missed on the buffé.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThereseHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is nice, clean rooms and friendly staff. It is too far from center, and closest train station is about 700m (too close for taxi and too far for walking if you are with luggages). There is no refrigerator in the room (frigobar). Internet in the room is very expensive (EUR 12,00/24h no discount for week). Only at hotel lobby area the internet is free. Single rooms are very small. Double rooms are good. Excellent breakfast in a charming environment. In rooms, there are very few plugs to recharge your mobile or connect notebook. The restaurant (accessible only through the street - bad when the weather is cold or rainy) - is good in food quality and service, but does not accept to include the bill in your hotel bill, nor accept credit cards for less than EUR 50,00 (bad when you are alone - for a lunch etc).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LT-Br47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a start to a European holiday, a hotel that is so traditionally Bavarian even the staff wear the traditional cloths. After checking we looked for food and drink and it was just next door. The food was to die for and cold beer. The railway is nearby if you don't have transport and the village it's self is a delight to walk around. Air conditioning would have been good as we were in the middle of summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justus2Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice hotel, rooms and bathrooms clean and spacious. Breakfast was good enough.
The only thing is that their cable TV is mostly in Germany, no International channels for entertainment.
A small 8 minute walk from underground station. There are several buses right on the corner though.
Highly recommendable if you don't mind walking and doing some travelling in the underground. Takes 15 minutes more or less to get to central Munich.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limatraveller1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friendly stuff, nice rooms (although the single rooms are a bit small) for a good price
15 minutes by car to Munich center (park at garage Am Oberanger, very close to Marienplatz)
Great breakfast (try the home made cerial)
wifi at lobby for free, rooms at charge
Attached to a restaurant with own butcher; great German/ Bavarian food!
Free parking

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Obermaier had very nice rooms. The rooms were very big and our room included a couch and tables. There was an elevator, which was very convenient. The breakfast buffet had a good assortment of cheese, meat, eggs, cereal, breads and jams. There were also free chocolates, gummy bear snacks and free beverages when we arrived. The only downfall was, the hotel was a long way from the Munich city center. You have to take the subway to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
7.6 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 389 in Munich
580 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bayers
Hotel Bayers
#2 of 66 in Munich
270 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 66 in Munich
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obermaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obermaier

Address: Truderinger Str. 306, 81825 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $133 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Obermaier 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Obermaier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing