We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service”
Review of Hotel Obermaier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Obermaier
Ranked #7 of 68 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Realy great service and excellent breakfast.
We had a great stay and the staff was realy nice most helpful with all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashvilleforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Obermaier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel was well located within 4 minutes walk of Trudering S bahn with very easy access to central Munich. It was clean and well run with very friendly staff, the room was small (single) but more than adequate and included breakfast which was plentiful and reasonably varied. The restaurant next door is well worth a visit, plenty of locals in there, always a good sign! A 'proper' Bavarian hotel and one I would definitely recommend, excellent value for money and add to that I saw Chelsea win the Champions league and it really could not have been a better few days!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arif X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our Family stayed here the first week of May, 2012. What a delightful place. The staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were perfect and very comfortable. We found the bathroom had a heated floor, quite by accident, but that was really fun. Speaking of the bathroom, it was really modern and fabulous. The restaurant was very wonderful, too. We sat one evening in the garden and one evening inside. Both a great experience. The subway access is very close, so nothing is far away. The prices were reasonable, too.

Room Tip: Had rooms for singles, two people and three people> We had someone if the family in all three and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvstotravelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hotel Obermaier is a charming family hotel decorated in Bavarian style. The breakfast is marvellous, especially the homemade bakery. Though it seems to be far from the city center at first, the U-bahn is close and takes only 10 min. to Marienplatz. The rooms are large enough and very clean. We had a very pleasant stay that I could advise to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me6ke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family of four stayed here in December before the holiday rush and we could not have been treated better by the staff. The room was spacious, the bath was 4 star (heated floor!) and it was all impeccably clean and well appointed. The breakfast was fabulous. Very convenient to the Munich S/U-bahn so we could take a quick and easy trip to the city center. Perfect in every way. The associated restaurant was pretty good, but we really enjoyed the walk to the Truderinger Wirtshaus and the local/traditional meal and drink we had there. Awesome!

Room Tip: Higher floors face the courtyard which might be louder than the other side.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64paulie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My wife, 5-year old son and I stayed for four nights in early March 2010 to attend a family function (I grew up about a mile away). The Hotel Obermaier is an excellent place to stay in the east of Munich, and a great opportunity to experience rather genuine Bavarian culture in comfort.

The location is right in the center of the suburb of Trudering. Trudering used to be a small agricultural village outside of Munich until its annexation in 1932, and the Hotel Obermaier used to be a farmhouse and inn in that village for hundreds of years. In fact, the hotel has apparently been in possession of the Obermaier family since 1863.
Several shops are within walking distance, e.g. two bakeries, a toy store, a grocery store etc.

Right next to the hotel is the restaurant "Gasthof Obermaier" that lets you taste authentic and deliciously done Bavarian cuisine for a very reasonable price, and in a great ambiente - including a real "Stammtisch" where the locals congregate in the evening for beer and playing cards. If you feel adventurous, try the "Saure Lunge" - a Bavarian specialty that I particularly like. But all the other items we tried were fantastic, too, both on the regular and the kids' menu.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished in a mixture of modern and traditional style that's functional and not cheesy at all. The bathrooms are just gorgeous - our room had floor heating, a bathtub and a shower.
Breakfast is included (which seems to be unusual these days!) and was plentiful and very tasty. Try the homemade "muesli" and the "leberkaes". We loved it.
The hotel is a bit out of the way, but fast public transportation to the city center is within walking distance.

We paid a very competitive price for our room, but be aware that during popular trade shows at the nearby "Messe", prices are more than triple the rate we paid.

The only issue (a big one for me unfortunately) was the abysmal service from the hotel's only Internet Service Provider, GANAG. The service is very expensive (an extra 12 Euros per day), and worked only very intermittently for me. I'm fairly technically savvy, and think that there are big problems with GANAGs WLAN setup. It worked ok when I relocated to the hotel lobby, but not in my room, and it was very slow even when it worked. I contacted GANAG during my stay, and while their technician was friendly and quick to respond, he could not fix my problem.
I hope GANAG fixes the problem, or the hotel contracts a different ISP.

Apart from this, I think Hotel Obermaier is a real hidden gem, and definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GirglKrautbichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
1.4 mi away
Hotel Prinzregent
Hotel Prinzregent
#23 of 385 in Munich
328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Am Moosfeld
Hotel Am Moosfeld
#122 of 385 in Munich
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
4.6 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 68 in Munich
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obermaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obermaier

Address: Truderinger Str. 306, 81825 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $133 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Obermaier 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Obermaier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing