We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Motel One is one of a chain of similar hotels and as such is not the place for an individual experience. Having said that, the quality is excellent throughout and is very good value for the price. We stayed for four days and found all of the staff that we encountered to be pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate and generally well equipped. Best of all is the location, a fifteen minute walk to Marienplatz in the centre of Munich and with tram and metro located immediately behind the hotel.
I would certainly recommend Motel One at Sendlinger Tor as a decent base for a few days in Munich

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick101215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

I didn’t really enjoy my stay at this hotel. I found that some small things were missing and it put me off on my stay. The room was very basic and didn’t have a fridge or phone ( I found this to be very odd). we were only given one pillow each and when we asked for another the staff were quite rude, though the man that brought the items to the room was friendly. While we were there we my partner was ill and we needed to find a chemist and laundry. The staff were not very helpful with this and it made the stay quiet poor for us. Positives, the breakfast was nice and extended on the weekends and the location was wonderful! I fell in love with Munich and I will be traveling back there again and again.

Other negative with this hotel is there are a lot and I mean ALOT of elderly visiting this hotel. I think they were on a road trip together. This often mean a lot more waiting around at breakfast and for the lifts as people in their 80's are never in a rush! :D

Would only recommend this hotel for short stays where location is a priority.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We arrived in the morning, we were able to check in right away. Parking at Hotel is very expensive like 15 Euro per day, we used a Parking Garage about 5 mins away for 6 Euro per day. Hotel is very modern, our room was nice, our view was of a Office bldg., who can see the employees working at their desks. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was modern, we had trouble keeping the water from the showerhead inside, the water kept running along the glass and tile onto the bathroom floor. Plenty of towels to soak it up. The Hotel is right by the Sendlinger Hotel, and u-bahn station. Marienplatz is 5-10 mins walking, plenty to see there. Shopping, Restaurant, Hof brau Haus, lots of Tourist, haha. Breakfast was really good at the Hotel, its the usual german food, rolls, meats, jams, egg, coffee, tea, juice. In the evening we sat outside in the court yard and had a drink and played a game. It was a really nice courtyard, its pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

VERY close to the old town square, restaurants, and public transportation. Very helpful staff. Small room but what I would expect at this price and location. No problems with street noice. I would definitely choose this location again if I returned to Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room though it is not really in a noisy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear valued guest,

thank your for your comment at Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kindly regards from Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent location - 10 min walking from City Hall
Very small rooms but clean, modern and cozy
Free wifi, pets allowed, parking
Good breakfast and nice service
What else could anyone want? Very good value hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mig317RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear valued guest,

we would like to thank your for taken the time to give our hotel this positive review at Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you have been enjoyed your stay at our house.

Best regards from Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

For the Americans, don't let the name fool you. It is a hotel and a nice one. We used this hotel as our base during our 3 week trip through Germany, Austria and Italy. You can take the train from the Munich airport to Munich center train station. The hotel is about a mile from the train station and there is a TI next to the train station. We flew into Munich, stayed at the hotel and then left the next day for Vienna. We returned to this hotel to tour Munich, visit Dachau and take the train to Fussen to see the castles (highly recommend). We did our own tour of the Fussen castles following Rick Steves' plan and it was super easy and we were able to see both castles which I recommend as well. We then took the train to Venice for 3 days and returned to stay one more night here before heading to Rothenburg. All 3 rooms we were in were super clean, beds were comfortable and towels were thick. Flat screen tvs and yes rooms are small but no smaller than the other places we stayed in Europe. The breakfast buffet was really good with a lot of choices and as much as you could eat and at 7.50 euros it was a deal. The staff was friendly and helpful. The city center was walkable from this hotel. Also the Munich train station has everything you could want from bakeries to groceries, etc. There is also an underground walking area near the train station that crosses underneath the main street (sorry don't remember the name) where there are restaurants, bakeries, grocery store and pharmacy available. I think there is an ATM machine as well although there is a bank across from the train station with inside ATM machines.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank irishlass2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear valued guests,

thank your very much for your positive feedback about our hotel.
We would like to welcome you again for your next trip to europe.

Kindly regards from Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The first of 4 hotel stays within Europe on our 2 week vacation. My decision to stay at Motel One came from previous reviews on Trip Advisor, so glad I made the decision to stay at Motel One. As soon as we came out of the subway station, the hotel was within a block or two and within the city's center, this was awesome! The hotel's staff was kind and accommodating with our needs, directions and restaurant recommendations. Although the room is on the small size, it is modern/trendy, windows opened for fresh air in the early mornings, had a good view and it meet our needs. Hotel lobby, breakfast area, outdoor court yard and bar area is modern and accommodating. Breakfast was good, it consisted of cold cuts (turkey, ham, salami and cheese), croissants and other assorted breads, tomatoes, lettuce, cucumbers, cereals, soft boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices, milk and coffee. We enjoyed our stay, hotel fee reasonable, it was within walking distance of the train, shopping, restaurants, the market, and Marienplatz.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Comesanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear valued guest,

thank your very much for your review at Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our guest again.

Kindly regards from Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 385 in Munich
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#40 of 385 in Munich
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $108 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing