We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Affordable Hotel in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was a no-brainer for me to stay centrally in Munich for a budget of about 75EUR/100USD. The standard room I had was not large but there was some space around the bed, although I would have liked better storage (i.e. a closet(. Bed afforded me a couple of decent nights of sleep and was happy with the newer bathroom fixtures and lighting as well as the cleanliness of the room. Staff was efficient and very pleasant with check-in, at the restaurant, etc...the location is superb - I was just a couple of minutes away from the U-Bahn station and Marienplatz was only a ten-minute walk up, making key attractions like the Town Hall, amazing Residenz Palace, beer halls and the rest within walking distance. Breakfast was fairly-priced and worthwhile with a nice array of fresh pastries, eggs, fruit, juices, coffee and other items. I really could not find anything to beat it in the price range and close to the heart of Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
There are newer reviews for Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Since this was my first trip to Germany, I had never stayed in a Motel One before. I was afraid it might be "too budget-y" ... but I was so wrong! The front desk staff was friendly and efficient ... the check-in clerk even complimented my horribly-pronounced German. The room was small but efficiently designed, with large glass doors that could be opened for fresh air. Not a balcony, really ... just a security bar. There were shelves and a clothes rack for storing clothes and other items. Bathroom was adequate size. The room was called a "double" ... but it was two single beds pushed together as is so common in Europe, so much more space than an American-size double bed. Comfortable beds, too. I can see if you travel with large suitcases and a lot of stuff that you might think this space cramped ... but we are light packers so we found everything just fine. No bar soap or washcloth but I am in the habit of packing those items when I travel to Europe anyway. Breakfast was very good with a side selection of fresh breads, cold cuts, cheeses, warm hard-boiled eggs, fruit salad and TWO coffee machines. Even though the breakfast room was very busy, everything was kept well-stocked by 4 uniformed staff members busily scurrying around. The hotel is easy walking distance to Marienplatz and only a few steps to a U-Bahn station ... very convenient. We paid 99 euro/night for the two of us with breakfast ... I'd call that a deal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljr88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here almost a year ago. The location was amazing lots of public transportation nearby, not far from the train station and close to the center of town. The rooms were on the small side but clean and nice.

Thank Moses M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night stay. It reinforced my determined effort to only book small owner run or local b&b's in Europe. The staff were average, not overly helpful or friendly. It was what in Australia we would think of as an Ibis Budget. Cheap room, modern and clean. There was no warmth or character which was fine for us because we were never there as we were too busy in Munich. I booked it pretty much solely for its price ( still not cheap but semi reasonable for overpriced Munich) and for its location, which is its biggest draw card. Right near the U Bahn and within walking distance to the centre. Awkward that the friendliest response we received from the staff was during our check out. Next time would consider trying to find something more unique and with a personality.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Peta,
thank you for your response at Tripadvisor. We would like to apologize, for any inconvenience according to the lack of kindness of your staff. We will train our staff permanent to increase our service quality.
We would really like to welcome you as our guest again.
Kindly regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We loved staying here! The view from our room was beautiful. The room was always clean and staff always friendly. Parking is the only thing you might have an issue with. When we went, we got the last garage space. Great walk to the city center...excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear valued guest,
we are delighted of your positive record.
Our whole team would like to thank you.
We are looking forward to welcome you as our guest again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel provides very clean, modern-feeling rooms at a fairly low price. It is located just off the main drag, so there are no problems with noise or overcrowding. It is by no means luxurious, but does the job just fine. Prices are excellent for breakfast/bar, and the staff was all very nice. If you are looking for a great budget hotel in Munich, this is it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Jason,
we would like to thank you for your greatly positive comment. It is pleasant to hear that you
have enjoyed your stay at the Motel One München-Sendlinger Tor.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked this hotel based on previous reviews well in advanced. Must admit, did have my reservations after reading more recent reviews but decided to go ahead due to the price.
We had a room on the 7th floor facing the city-view was good and room was quiet.
The room is very small though...there is some space to walk around the bed, a desk and a chair..that's it!
If you are staying for a short period, this is adequate. There is no wardobe!

As with previous reviews...yes there is no handsoap and housekeeping was mediocre in standard.

Location was handy for visiting Marianplatz and other central areas for shopping. U-bahn was 2 min walk.
We stayed in the Schwabing district on our return to Munich and found it much more characterful then Sendling Tor but it depends what you're after

Good cafe nearby for breakfast...much cheaper than the hotel

Best thing was the pretend fish tank that came on with the tele everytime you entered the room!

Room Tip: High floor with City View
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SendlingerTor, Sales Manager at Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear valued guest,
sadly we have to read that we could not your expectations completely.
Despite we would like thank you for your constructive criticism.
Kindly regards from Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 385 in Munich
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#39 of 385 in Munich
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $111 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing