We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, front desk could be friendlier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #23 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Like most reviewers, I can assert that the location of this hotel is excellent: Right next to the Old Town and a subway station. The main train station is only a 10 minute walk away (by subway just one stop).

The hotel is clean with a modern feel. Unfortunately the rooms are tiny, and there is very little space for your luggage. There is no safe in the room. Also, the walls are quite thin and it's possible to hear what your neighbors are talking about. Bring ear plugs if sleep quality is important to you. Otherwise the beds are comfortable.

We had some problems with the temperature in the room. It was constantly too warm and there was no fan of any sorts on during the winter (seems the whole system was switched off). Fortunately, one can open the windows. Curiously, also the lobby area is extremely warm - almost to the point of it being uncomfortably hot.

The breakfast buffet is basic but adequate. We'd recommend to have breakfast as early as possible. At 9 am you might have to wait in line for a table.

It can be a little tricky to find the hotel at first. If coming from the airport, you can e.g. take the S1 train to the main station (Hauptbahnhof), change to subway U1 or U2, get off at Sendlinger Tor, locate the Herzog-Wilhelm Strasse exit and once you get up to the street level turn left. The hotel is just 100 meters away.

For affordable restaurants close to the hotel, we'd recommend e.g. Cafe Cord (turn left when exiting the hotel and walk 100 meters) or Cafe Mozart on Pettenkofferstrasse (about a 5 minute walk in the other direction). Opposite of the hotel on the other side of the street is a little cafe with scrumptious cakes. If visiting Munich during the Christmas market season, the Glühwein is tasty and the atmosphere cozy at the Sendlinger Tor market.

This hotel could be even better, if the hotel staff were a bit friendlier. Especially the staff at the front desk could develop a friendlier attitude towards the guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

I really enjoyed the approach chosen by this chain. There are few essential facilities in this hotel, but what is there is of very good quality. The lounge, which doubles as restaurant for breakfast, is furnished with designer chairs and lamps (I'd live without the fake fire, though). There is not a huge choice of food for breakfast, but croissants and bread are always fresh. The rooms are small and without amenities, but incredibly quiet, clean, and practical with rails for hanging coats both near the door and hidden behind the bed. The free wifi connection worked without a hiccup. The location of this Motel One is excellent, less than 10 minutes walk from the main square, and just beside a major underground station. I also like the no-checkout policy (pay when you arrive, just drop the key when you leave - however they can keep your luggage for the day for free if you need it).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilbert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed in a few of this chain in Germany and there are never any irons available at reception when I need one. As a business traveller this and wifi are probably the only things I need from a hotel. Wifi was slow, breakfast was a Greta buffet but no irons makes me nowt as impressed as I should be. Good value, though the tv screen upon entering the room with flickering fire feature seems to make me even more aware I am not at home!

Room Tip: Get an iron when you check in, don't leave it until the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AisCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of my favorite motel ones. It is much the same as other motel ones - clean and well maintained, stylish and functional, relatively small rooms, new and modern appliances, nice showers. What makes this one of my favorite motel ones is the separate bar on the lobby level. It is unpretentious and cool at the same time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakoba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed there for a week, great hotel, amazing breakfast, clean, beautifully designed, proffessional service. Since then anyway Im going Im checking if there is this Motel one chain available. Great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here in October and honestly could not fault it from start to finish. Could not be handier location wise, beside tube stop and 5 minute walk to Marianplatz. Room spotless. Bathroom small but the nicer shower ever. Staff were lovely. Plenty of choice for breakfast and residents bar at night. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and for one night exactly what we needed. We were right in the centre 5 minute walk from Marienplatz. Rates were reasonable. Staff friendly. Shower fantastic and bathroom had great hair dryer. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lottaluv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 389 in Munich
986 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#52 of 389 in Munich
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $108 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing