We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and trendy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #25 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and trendy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent location, walking distance from Hauptbahnhof and right next door to the U-Bahn.

10 minute walk through very interesting area to Marienplatz and all that central Munich has to offer.

Hotel rooms are on the small side but you have not come to Munich to stay inside the hotel Staff are excellent, particularly in the bar.

Excellent value for money and I can't think of any reason to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    659
    139
    15
    12
See reviews for
176
693
118
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel second time. It was nearly three years ago when I stayed first time and the hotel was brand new at that time. The hotel has been well maintained so rooms were still fresh and new. Employees were extremely friendly and helpful. In particular, a receptionist Elizabeth was extremely helpful. I would have no reservation in recommending this hotel to anyone needing an economical and clean hotel in downtown Munich.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 143b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Tiny room with no closet or dresser, only a rail with 3 hangers. No hand soap in the bath, just a shower gel. I asked for a extra pillow and was told they didn't have any. The double-room only had two pillows. The room was very hot and turning the thermostat all the way down didn't help, so we slept with the window open and the bar downstairs was very noisy. There's no phone in the room, so contacting the front desk wasn't an option.

I met a couple who said they'd been told there were no rooms available even though they had a reservation. The front-desk clerk told me they were "double-booked" (thus the reason for no extra pillows; apparently they don't keep any extras at all).

It was clean and had a decent location, but the service was very poor and the room was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrismmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a quality place to stay for a good price. It is located walking distance to tons of great attractions and sights and was very well maintained. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 rating is because it is middle of the road hotel (rated three stars I believe). But as three star locations go, it was excellent. The room was small (but not tiny), clean, and comfortable. They do charge for internet, but will provide it free of charge if you order breakfast from them (yeah, odd combination). This is well worth doing though. The breakfast was well laid out and had plenty of options. As three star locations go, this was one of the best breakfasts we've had. Plenty of meats, cheeses, cereal, eggs, breads, etc. The price for breakfast was also very fair, especially in the center of Munich. In short, we'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for the combination of affordability and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for 2nights , were there for the Christmas markets this hotel is a great location for the markets. All the staff are very friendly and helpful in every way. By the way they do a great breakfast here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beaten, 1 minute from the Sendlinger Tor U-Bahn station, which is on Line 1, 2 & 7 to the Main Train Station and lines 3 & 6 to Marienplatz, Odeonsplatz and the Englischergarten. It's also less than 15 minutes walk to Marienplatz.

The hotel is very new looking, with nice modern decor. The lobby and bar are very comfortable, this is also where breakfast is served.

The rooms are not very large (but not tiny as suggested by some reviewers). Very clean, very modern, comfortable bed. The bathroom was nice, excellent "rain" showers.

The only slight problem we had was that check-in took ages. They seem to have a very long, very complicated check-in process, plus only 1 or 2 people working behind the desk, which meant there was a very long, slow-moving queue to check-in.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look into a small courtyard, rooms at the front may experience noise from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank braystoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Located very close to Marianplatz (it is a very easy 7-10 minute walk). Located on a grass square, with coffee shops etc at your doorstep. The Sendinger Tor tube station is right out the front - a 30 second walk. Breakfast was 7.50€ and included fruit, cereal, toast, croissants, eggs, bread rolls (no toaster), ham and salad, coffee, tea, and juice. Rooms were on the small side, but immaculate and modern. Bathrooms were brand new. Staff at desk were helpful and spoke English. We arrived at 8am in the morning from a long flight and they gave us (very) early check in. Context - we are a couple in our early 30s from Australia. Overall we had an excellent experience! Thank you!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Harks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.4 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing