We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect for a Christmas market weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #25 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Christmas market weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Went for a weekend Christmas shopping and sightseeing as a warm up for Christmas. With a wife that likes 5***** hotels it was a bit of a battle for us 3 others to get her to go potentially downmarket to a motel.......from walking through the front door I'm pleased to report that it exceeded all her expectations, the welcome was friendly, the reception and bar were full of atmosphere and the roaring fire on the huge tv screen created the winter wonderland we were all hoping for.
The rooms whilst compact were plenty large enough to walk round and with desk and small sofa chair was perfect for a weekend trip. The bathroom was spotless...her biggest fear... And English news on the tv.
Didn't bother with wifi so cannot comment but think it's available, but not much wifi anywhere so be prepared for roaming charges if you need the Internet.
Location was great with a small Xmas market less than 50mtrs away, and a 10mins walk to marianplatz, 7euro taxis back from most places in town so not expensive for 4 after a night out.
Breakfast at 7.5€ is well worth the money ( pay on the morning) so that you can choose to stay in or go out. Fruit, bread, eggs, cheese, ham , jams etc etc, proper German continental breakfast with unlimited coffee, juices and hot chocolate.

Can't recommend this place high enough for a weekend break, exceptionally clean, great location, friendly staff, good rooms and great prices.

Get a cheap flight this week book yourself in here and enjoy this fantastic city whilst the Christmas markets are in full swing.we spent about £150pp for return flights and 2 nights from Manchester, absolute bargain, don't miss it as its made our Christmas already.



Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    669
    139
    15
    12
See reviews for
180
701
119
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loved this place! Motel One is my new hotel of choice in Europe! It's funky, modern, clean, always in a good and central location for a good price. Highly recommended for simple, affordable travel. I

don't have expectations for luxury for a more budget hotel chain like this one but a fluffy comforter would definitely add to the sleep experience and enhance the overall experience that is already great.

Room Tip: High floor with a view of the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swedejetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Took a chance on staying in Motel One without a word of mouth referral and happily it paid off.

The hotels gives you the same vibe you get flipping through the Ikea catalogue - clean lines, neatly styled, bright colours, everything multipurpose. And dogs were welcome all over the hotel which was actually very nice.

The staff were friendly and spoke English which was helpful as I hadn't been to Germany in 15 years so my basic German was very rusty.

My only complaint is a complaint I had for all the hotels I stayed in in Germany regarding the pillows. Not used to these large oversize pillows with little filling. Made for a few restless nights.

Location wise the hotel is perfectly situated sitting on a small square lined with restaurants and shops at the Sendlinger Tor Ubahn stop. My only complaint which was no fault of the hotel was getting lost after coming off the subway because it was a little dark but I eventually got my bearings. In the morning, I realized the hotel sits at the top of the Sendlinger Strasse which is a long shopping street that eventually gets you to the centre of Munich at the Marienplatz.

I ended up booking a room at the Motel One in Stuttgart and would happily return to either.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mccorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is just a few minutes away from the Sendlinger Tor underground station and is fairly central to most attractions by foot. It was a good price for its location.
A stylish, modern and comfortable hotel with small but practical rooms. Breakfast was an extra cost which we didn't get but in hindsight it would have been a good idea as you get free wifi with it. However we found a nice cafe close by which was cheap and tasty.
We plan to return to Munich as we enjoyed it so much and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annlou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my second stay at a Motel One and as expected everything was just perfect.

The room offered a decent size and a comfortable mattress for a good night sleep as well the breakfast offering plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggelsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Found this hotel to be absolutely excellent. It was uber convenient - a short half min walk from the Sendlingor Station (One stop away from Munich Central station) and 5 mins away from where the main shopping streets are, Marianplatz, bar areas and St Peter's Church. The room is small but still liveable, spotlessly clean and comes with WiFi! - and for the amount you pay for this place is really value for your money. For our Europe trip we were able to save money by going to this place and still get an excellent and convenient place to stay, so that we could splurge for nicer places in other cities. This has got to be the best motel I think I will ever stay in - and in the condition it is in - its either quite new or they've refurbished it really well. The only minor thing was that the walls are a little thin - so you can hear people in the morning as they leave their rooms around 8 - 9am but that wasn't a problem for us as we were up early also to explore the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Although my single room was a little on the small side, it was more than fine given the convenience and location of the hotel. It's right next to a U-bahn stop, a short walk to Oktoberfest and right next to Munich Old Town and all the attractions.

The price, especially during Oktoberfest, was very reasonable considering the location. Breakfast spread was reasonably priced and had an ok selection, but if you purchase it, it comes with the added bonus of in-room wireless.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who's traveling to Munich and looking for a decent hotel in a prime location for a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 380 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.4 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#10 of 380 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 380 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller 5 Hotel
Schiller 5 Hotel
#11 of 380 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 380 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing