We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent central Munich hotel and affordable too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #26 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent central Munich hotel and affordable too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had never stayed in a Motel One before but was rather impressed by this place in Munich.

Very clean and well presented reception and bar area (like a German version of Premier Inn but a bit smarter).

The hotel is on a side-road so no real through-traffic and there is a central park area outside, surrounded by cafes, shops and bars (far enough away to not be a nuisance).

Rooms were small but fairly luxurious with an ensuite bathroom. Really nicely finished bathroom with awesome shower.

Our worst experience in a 2 night stay was someone had set the alarm on the TV for 6am which went off with brutal volume when we were recovering from a night out a Hofbrau Haus!

Less than 10 minute walk to Alexander Platz where all the fun happens and lots of shops on the walk into the centre.

Very good location and reasonably priced for the levels of presentation.

Room Tip: Speak German to the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new_jay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    673
    141
    15
    12
See reviews for
182
704
121
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a great hotel. I stayed for my second time at the end of June. Simple, excellent price, great location. The only thing that would make this hotel even more AWESOME would be a fridge in the room to store some of the yummy food I pick up from the shops around the hotel.

This hotel is just 100ft or so from Sendlinger Tor U-Bahn station and just a 5 minute walk from Marienplatz. There are lots of great restaurants around and the market at the station is a great place to pick up a crepe or some fresh fruit. There is a little park in the front of the hotel that made for a lovely view from my window.

The One Lounge in the lobby is a nice place to sit and use the free wi-fi and get a drink. They also have a lovely area in which to sit outside. I sat in the lounge with about 30 or so other folks and watched the ITA v. GER EuroCup football match and had a great time.

I love this hotel and the chain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whovian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've stayed in several Motel Ones throughout Germany and appreciate the fact that I know exactly what I'm getting, since every hotel is exactly the same! The rooms, though a little on the small size, are spotlessly clean and well appointed. Ditto the bathrooms. The breakfast is more than ample. The location of this Motel One is 10-15 minutes from Marienplatz, and the subway and tram stop are literally at the corner. All this for @$100/night - I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicknack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

For a chain hotel this was one of my better experiences. We looked long and hard to find a suitable location for my family in Munich. This place is in a great location --- safe and only 10 minute walk to the U-Bahn Station. They have parking garage. The hotel was brand new. The rooms very clean and spacious. Even though we were on a busy street the windows are so thick we didn't hear a thing. They have air conditioning which is hard to find in Germany. The breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarahipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Motel One Muenchen-Sendi Tor in Munich. It was perfect. Good location, nice room, clean, very pleasant and helpful staff, air conditioned, wifi, great breakfast with outdoor seating, convenient reasonably priced hotel parking. What more could one ask for. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped here for one night during our 2 week trip around Europe. We arrived early in the morning and the room wasn't ready but they held our bags for us without a problem. It was very modern on the inside and very clean and new. It was close to "downtown" munich and the sites (about a 10 minute walk). It is only a few steps away from the metro if you prefer to ride instead. I thought the room was big for Europe standards and the A/C worked great. There were large windows that opened to the front of the plaza as well. It was very quite in the room and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and clean. The breakfast was 7 Euros per person so we didn't eat it but it looked good. The staff wasn't overly friendly but they weren't rude either. I would highly reccomend and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ames635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

During our trip through Europe we stayed in several Motel One and were happy with the service they provided. Would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.6 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#15 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing