We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Ranked #30 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here during Oktoberfest.....The hotel is comfortable, clean, trendy and welcoming and the staff is friendly and accomodating. The rooms are just big enough, and definitely ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel! (The parade festivities line up right outside). We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking to visit Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel...and remember the beds are ajoining. So make sure you are comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    686
    143
    15
    12
See reviews for
186
718
123
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Went there for Okotberfest. Was booked by our tour guides and I must say it was an excellent choice. Part of the Oktoberfest parade starts outside the Motel and can be seen from the rooms. It's really special.

The staff are really great and were a great help especially when it started raining.

They have a garage if you're travelling by car.

Free wifi is available.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g26130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Motel One Sendlinger Tor is a solid and great value for money property.
The room is nice and modern and the bathroom is nice.
Although the rooms arent spacious they give a comfortable feeling.
There is a slight problem with the noise throughout the property, i.e. you hear every move of your neighbour from talking to using water to even touching the hangers. Also talking on the corridor can be heard whether guests coming back late at night or the housekeeping early morning. The hotel is very centrally located and for the price a great deal.

Room Tip: away from elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Small rooms, but well furnished. Nice, clean bathroom, great breakfast! Very convenient to all downtown attractions. Helpful, accommodating, English speaking staff. Nice comfortable bar scene in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianneanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during the 2011 Oktoberfest time and I must say what a great deal this place was for us. The hotel is one of the older Motel Ones in Munich and is spotless...very clean compared to the best of our American chains first and for most. The staff were professional looking, multi lingual, super friendly, helpful and on top of every detail, request and guided us in the right direction each time I needed their assistance...a trait we have lost in our service industry..
The rooms are small, but super clean, modern and efficient. We do not spend much time on our rooms; even on a rainy day in Munich...there is just so much to do, so room size was good enough for us.
Breakfast was plentiful and very fresh..love those fresh breads and meats. Coffee and tea selection was excellent as well..
Location is prime, you just walk out the front door, take a right and 50 yards later you’re at the subway station…excellent city transportation service...always right on time...and all of the trains were clean....heck, the whole city was clean…and not a power line to be seen...
Great place, highly recommend it and we will be back next year..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Motel One is a German hotel chain that bills itself as offering stylish yet affordable accommodations. We stayed at their Sendlinger Tor location on both the first and last night of our trip.

This Motel One did live up to its claim of stylish and affordable. It had modern furnishings and its price compared favorably with those of other hotels in central Munich. However, the small rooms keep it from being a good choice for families with young children. There was barely enough space to set up a crib in our room.

We also had some miscommunication with the hotel about our reservation. For both nights, we had requested a crib. When we arrived for the first night, the request had been noted in the reservation and they set up a crib in the room right away. However, they did not have a note about a crib on the reservation the second time we stayed there. Even worse, they said that all of their cribs were already in use. We ended up having them set up a cot in the room instead and hoping for the best (surprisingly, my daughter did pretty well there, but that wouldn't have been an option for a younger child).
The best feature of this hotel is its location. It is in the center of everything. You can walk to the Marienplatz in about 10 minutes. The nearest U-Bahn subway station (Sendlinger Tor) is less than 2 minutes away. The S-Bahn suburban train to the airport can be caught at Marienplatz (if you don't want to walk that far with your bags, you can take the U-Bahn 1 stop from Sendlinger Tor to Marienplatz).
Air conditioning: yes, though we had trouble getting it to work the first night we stayed there (maybe it was the jetlag)
Bathroom: shower with detachable head and handle, no tub
Blow dryer: yes! (I was happy about this because I decided to leave mine at home)
Breakfast: this was the only place we stayed where breakfast was not included. Instead, it could be purchased for 7.50 Euro per person. We didn't eat their breakfast because we thought we could buy our own at a bakery for less (and we were right).
Crib: yes, pack'n'play type
Elevator: yes
Internet: in-room access is free if you buy their breakfast, 5 Euro otherwise.
Nearest playground: across the street
Recommend to childless friends: if they plan to spend lots of time in the city and don't need a big room, definitely
Recommend to friends with young kids: only if they really want a central Munich location, in which case the price and nearby playground make it worth a look

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddlerTravelsAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

You can't beat the location and price of this hotel. Rooms are small with no real storage space, but clean, cute and quiet nonetheless. Friendly, professional staff and good breakfast -- all at a very reasonable rate. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Property: Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing